MM messed my albums up

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

boristhemoggy
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 6:50 am

MM messed my albums up

Post by boristhemoggy » Sat Feb 08, 2020 7:29 pm

I recently copied all albums of one artist to a card so I downloaded a new copy of media monkey and set about tagging the albums. Now I have 2 albums both called unknown with no tracks in them, 24 tracks all named as though they were individual albums, and 4 script alerts when I try to use Discogz.
I'm not sure where to start to look for what went wrong so I'd love some ideas?

Peke
Posts: 12707
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: MM messed my albums up

Post by Peke » Wed Feb 12, 2020 10:37 am

Hi,
If your files are in same folder you should navigate MMW Library using Location node -> Select all tracks and in multiple tracks edit properties Correct Album and Album Artist.

After tagging it will be shown as one album.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

boristhemoggy
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 6:50 am

Re: MM messed my albums up

Post by boristhemoggy » Thu Feb 13, 2020 5:58 am

Sorry there's loads going wrong with media monkey lately. Too much to list.
For the last few months I've been unable to add new tracks. I rescan over and over but it refuses to add tracks that I put in the folder, and I can find no real reason why it would not.
Also there are over 30,000 tracks, yet MM reports only 22,000?
It's just nuts at the moment and even though I deleted the database and downloaded a fresh new copy of MM I get the same results.

Peke
Posts: 12707
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: MM messed my albums up

Post by Peke » Thu Feb 13, 2020 8:11 am

Hi,
It is normal behavior as your Album Artist is not set correctly, especially for Compilation albums. There was no need to delete/reinstall MMW.

Can you supply screenshoot of what you are seeing and find wrong so that I can give you more detailed answer?
For tracks numbers are you sure that rest of tracks are not in other collections?
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

boristhemoggy
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 6:50 am

Re: MM messed my albums up

Post by boristhemoggy » Fri Feb 14, 2020 7:22 am

yeah some of my compilation albums are deffo messed up. I can't find a way to fix that though.
I am having a rest from it for a few days but when I get back to it I shall take screenshots of when it goes wrong.

Peke
Posts: 12707
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: MM messed my albums up

Post by Peke » Fri Feb 14, 2020 8:32 pm

Hi,
Try to use MMW search for an Album name it should list all the tracks from Compilation. afte rtaht you can select them all and correct Album artist (I use "Various Artists" for compilations).
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

Post Reply