Newbie question about export/import playlists

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

mjremijan
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 3:45 pm

Newbie question about export/import playlists

Post by mjremijan » Wed Dec 12, 2007 3:51 pm

when a playlist is exported, what kind of file format is used? is it a txt based file? I ask because I want to know if my library moves to a different location is it possible to open an exported playlist, do a search & replace on a directory path, and then import the playlist back into MM?

ashishg
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 12:19 am
Location: India

Post by ashishg » Wed Dec 12, 2007 11:12 pm

I think that playlists are m3u files which are text files eventually. You can always try opening playlist in text editor and see if you can read it.

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Post by nohitter151 » Wed Dec 12, 2007 11:32 pm

ashishg wrote:I think that playlists are m3u files which are text files eventually. You can always try opening playlist in text editor and see if you can read it.
Yes, they're m3u's when exported, which can be edited in notepad or something similar.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14162
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Post by rovingcowboy » Thu Dec 13, 2007 3:52 am

never move your songs outside of media monkey.
you will end up with tons of grayed out songs.

go to the menu bar, and click on tools then on the drop down menu click on auto orginzer.
to use that to move your songs to a new location.
that way media monkey can keep the database corrected and
avoid the tons of grayed out songs.

first you have to select the songs you want to move,
then you go to auto organizer and run it to move the songs.
8)
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

Post Reply