When to Download MM3

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

Scooter
Posts: 327
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 8:52 pm
Location: Los Angeles, California

When to Download MM3

Post by Scooter » Sat Jan 12, 2008 12:30 am

I hate being a Beta user, and like to the third or fourth guy on the block to try something new. Is MM3 now "safe" to download? I see it is no longer Beta.

Do I just download and install right over MM 2.5.3?

Any issues I should be aware of?
Regards,

Scooter
Registered Lifetime Gold Licensee
Since 2006

Custom RAID Workstation > Focusrite I/O > 1g Cat6 Network > Adcom Preamp > Vandersteen Crossover > Adcom Power Amp > Vandersteen 3 Speakers > Vandersteen 2wq Subwoofer

ashishg
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 12:19 am
Location: India

Post by ashishg » Sat Jan 12, 2008 1:49 am

I have related question. Since MM3 is now released on the main website, do I just install it over existing MM2? Will it carry over my settings and playcounts or will it be like starting over?

Also, can there be a sticky post to relate MM2 scripts and corresponding MM3 scripts, because Script forum is very messy now with both versions mixed. Thanks.

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Post by nohitter151 » Sat Jan 12, 2008 1:53 am

MM3 is safe to use (hence official release) but it is always advisable to keep a backup of your MM database (found in \My Music\Mediamonkey\ folder - Mediamonkey.mdb for MM2)

See the FAQ regarding install instructions: http://www.mediamonkey.com/faq/index.ph ... artlang=en
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14162
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Post by rovingcowboy » Sat Jan 12, 2008 3:43 am

do what most testers are still doing. run both on the computer.

until you feel it is okay to get rid of your mm 2 version.

they have started with mm 3.0. 1 beta testing as you can see in the beta test forum. they are still trying to fix the errors that were found last year and any new ones. but go a head and get it, just becareful with install as you should with any program.
8)

i'm playing mm 3 online right now and have been for several hours and no troubles. but i use ogg files. not mp3's.
8)
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

MusicBringer
Posts: 622
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 12:53 pm

Post by MusicBringer » Sat Jan 12, 2008 5:26 am

rovingcowboy wrote: i'm playing mm 3 ...right now and have been for several hours and no troubles
Me too. :lol:
I am using mp3s. Been using mm3 since well before Christmas - without any playing problems. I just love it :P

Bex
Posts: 6316
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 5:44 am
Location: Sweden

Re: When to Download MM3

Post by Bex » Sat Jan 12, 2008 12:19 pm

Scooter wrote: Do I just download and install right over MM 2.5.3?
2.5.3?
I'm not sure. But I think you need the latest MM2 version 2.5.5, to be able to convert your old library to MM3.
Advanced Duplicate Find & Fix Find More From Same - Custom Search. | Transfer PlayStat & Copy-Paste Tags/AlbumArt between any tracks.
Tagging Inconsistencies Do you think you have your tags in order? Think again...
Play History & Stats Node Like having your Last-FM account stored locally, but more advanced.
Case & Leading Zero Fixer Works on filenames too!

All My Scripts

Post Reply