First name of artist tag displays in the Track # column

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

petroskazie
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 12:56 am
Location: Greece

First name of artist tag displays in the Track # column

Post by petroskazie » Mon Feb 11, 2008 1:21 am

Hi,

Intermittently MediaMonkey displays the first artist's name in the Track column, if there is a digit there (being the track number) the artist name takes precedence and displays.

MediaMonkey does not write this name to the file, you can edit other tags and still MM will not write it to the file.

Below is an example, where I have removed all the track data.
Image

Using MediaMonkey 3.0.2.1134, I think in version 3.0.x.1127 it did not have this issue (sorry cant remember if 'x' it was 1 or 2 as I deleted the install).

Any ideas as to what causes this, btw I dont use the library at all.

Thanks

drjboulder
Posts: 1119
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 12:03 am
Location: Boulder, Colorado, USA

Post by drjboulder » Mon Feb 11, 2008 2:08 am

Tools > Options > Library
Un-check "Infer Track Properties".
D Rock
Image
MediaMonkeyGoldv3.0.3.1183
Vista Home Basic|4thGen 20GPod
Zune Small Player Skin w/ Aqua 4 Player Mod
Backup | Last FM Node | Scrobbler DJ | TopTracks | StayInSameStyleDJ
RadioDJ | RadioFreeMonkey | PrettyPictures | MiniLyricsEmbedder
LyricsViewer | Lyricator | LyricsPlugin | VisualizationEmbedder | MonkeyRok
RightClickForWeb | WebSearchPanels | WebNodes | MagicNodes | FavoritesNodes
NowPlayingArtNode |AutoRateAccurate | TaggingInconsistencies
AdvancedDuplicateFind&Fix | CaseModify | PlayHistory&Stats | Etc...

petroskazie
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 12:56 am
Location: Greece

Post by petroskazie » Mon Feb 11, 2008 3:11 am

I have done as suggested, cleared the Library and restarted. Still having the same issue.

Even if it were to get data to fill the tags up, why would it put them in the TRACK # column?

Thing is that MM did not used to do this up until a few minor revisions ago.

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Post by nohitter151 » Mon Feb 11, 2008 7:36 am

This has been fixed in the latest alpha release.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

JLDunn
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 6:42 pm

Post by JLDunn » Mon Feb 11, 2008 2:32 pm

petroskazie wrote:I have done as suggested, cleared the Library and restarted. Still having the same issue.

Even if it were to get data to fill the tags up, why would it put them in the TRACK # column?

Thing is that MM did not used to do this up until a few minor revisions ago.
I had the same problem. After unchecking "Infer Track Properties" and deleting the database and rescanning, it took care of most of the tags. For some reason I still had dozens of tags that were permanently tagged with artist in the track number. I used a tag editor outside of MM to fix them. I think MM needs more work on the new database before it can be trusted to handle file tagging. Maybe it has something to do with the new database they have chosen, it used to be Access.

gggirlgeek
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 4:24 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Will try Alpha

Post by gggirlgeek » Mon Feb 11, 2008 4:38 pm

This was driving me nuts!! I have 5000 tunes I need to clean up and sync to a new device. Those track numbers would freak it out, I'm sure. I will try the Alpha because I am an Apple-phobe so ipod Touch problems will never be an issue for me.

By the way I'm new here and think this program is the closest thing to perfect I have ever had the pleasure to use.

Thanks! 8)
My current favorite software: MediaMonkey Gold!

Ludek
Posts: 3148
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:00 am

Post by Ludek » Tue Feb 12, 2008 4:53 am

petroskazie,
the issue you mentioned was a kind of regression that was fixed in build 1135.

Try to use v3.0.3.1137, it is fixed.

http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... ostorder=1

4275 Fixed track number can be inferred as Artist in format <Track#>-<Title>

petroskazie
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 12:56 am
Location: Greece

Post by petroskazie » Tue Feb 12, 2008 7:06 am

Ludek,
Using v3.0.3.1137 from link, issue is still apparent.

Furthermore Track# data does not display even the digits its supposed to.

eg; the tracks that do not have the issue and should be normal dont even display the Track# (again, in some cases).

If I change the track data to a digit MM does not show this, but it writes it the the mp3 as check via another mp3 tag app.

Lowlander
Posts: 46404
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Post by Lowlander » Tue Feb 12, 2008 10:48 pm

I assume that the issue isn't resolved until you rescan (maybe you have to delete tracks from library first) your tracks.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

petroskazie
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 12:56 am
Location: Greece

Post by petroskazie » Wed Feb 13, 2008 9:47 am

Lowlander wrote:I assume that the issue isn't resolved until you rescan (maybe you have to delete tracks from library first) your tracks.
A few others are having the same issue:

6th line:
http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=26185

1st question:
http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... ts+library

hal7
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 10:26 pm

Post by hal7 » Wed Feb 13, 2008 5:48 pm

petroskazie wrote:Ludek,
Using v3.0.3.1137 from link, issue is still apparent.

Furthermore Track# data does not display even the digits its supposed to.

eg; the tracks that do not have the issue and should be normal dont even display the Track# (again, in some cases).

If I change the track data to a digit MM does not show this, but it writes it the the mp3 as check via another mp3 tag app.
The problem still is in 1137, After I reinstalled and rescanned, there are still names in the TRACK # column, but the name was not erased from the ARTIST column, however it is not nearly as as bad, with my older tracks.

On 2/11 I added 51 new tracks, 34 of those have a name in the TRACK # column. I did the new scan yesterday. I don't think there are 34 of my older tracks that have this problem, now.

I haven't had time to check the actual track # digit for errors. This is not important to me.

PetrCBR
Posts: 1644
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 5:31 pm
Location: Czech
Contact:

Post by PetrCBR » Thu Feb 14, 2008 5:14 am

hal7,

mail me one of the tracks you mentioned (petr < att > mediamonkey < dott > com).

gggirlgeek
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 4:24 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Post by gggirlgeek » Fri Feb 15, 2008 1:42 am

Still had the issue too. I just got around it by cleaning up my filenames and rescanning my tracks (I replaced my underscores with dashes.) I came up with only 15 names in the track # as apposed to hundreds previously. A few did not have the same Artist in the artist column but most did.

I couldn't find a consistent field which it seemed to be pulling from, sorry.

But I will say that this only happened with "infer" turned on. My original tags seemed to be fine.
My current favorite software: MediaMonkey Gold!

Post Reply