Disable splash screen?

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

ddk
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 10:52 pm

Re: Disable splash screen?

Post by ddk » Sat Sep 04, 2010 2:37 pm

Great idea nohitter but its not enough.
Doubleclick on a .mp3 file and it launches MM, bypassing your shortcut.
You can mod the registry etc to add /nosplash to file handling but when MM resets files handling, its gone again.

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Disable splash screen?

Post by nohitter151 » Sat Sep 04, 2010 8:54 pm

ddk wrote:Great idea nohitter but its not enough.
Doubleclick on a .mp3 file and it launches MM, bypassing your shortcut.
You can mod the registry etc to add /nosplash to file handling but when MM resets files handling, its gone again.
So instead drag the mp3 you want to open to the MM desktop shortcut.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

Dreadlau
Posts: 1967
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 6:49 am

Re: Disable splash screen?

Post by Dreadlau » Sun Sep 05, 2010 11:15 am

Or even better. The Dev team add an option to disable splash screen.
This way we don't have to rely on workarounds.
Seven Ultimate X64 SP1 / Sansa Clip 2go (with RockBox)

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Disable splash screen?

Post by nohitter151 » Sun Sep 05, 2010 1:14 pm

Dreadlau wrote:Or even better. The Dev team add an option to disable splash screen.
This way we don't have to rely on workarounds.
Well, the fact is that you do need to rely on workarounds for now. Since this solution is really quite easy, you might try it.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

chrisjj
Posts: 4933
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 5:14 pm
Location: UK

Re: Disable splash screen?

Post by chrisjj » Tue Sep 07, 2010 6:49 am

nohitter151 wrote:Well, the fact is that you do need to rely on workarounds for now. Since this solution is really quite easy
This solution is easy but nevertheless a workaround.
Chris

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Disable splash screen?

Post by nohitter151 » Tue Sep 07, 2010 7:16 pm

MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

chrisjj
Posts: 4933
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 5:14 pm
Location: UK

Re: Disable splash screen?

Post by chrisjj » Tue Sep 07, 2010 7:40 pm

Thanks NH.
Chris

Dreadlau
Posts: 1967
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 6:49 am

Re: Disable splash screen?

Post by Dreadlau » Fri Oct 08, 2010 10:12 am

Hello
A user complained in the french forum that he it's not possible to disable splash screen for the action:
rip a cd with mediamonkey from the autorun option.
He got an error message behind the splash screen and had to kill Mediamonkey in task Manager.
link to the thread: http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 36#p272130

According to: http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=679
2. Don't show the splash screen when it isn't an ordinary MM start, e.g. when user starts playback of some files? Sounds like an interesting idea.
Would this apply to all non-ordinary starts? E.g the autorun induced starts?

Also see this related ticket: http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=6526

Thank you.
Seven Ultimate X64 SP1 / Sansa Clip 2go (with RockBox)

Lowlander
Posts: 47285
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Disable splash screen?

Post by Lowlander » Fri Oct 08, 2010 10:20 am

I've added to the ticket to indicate other scenarios where command line is ineffective.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Dreadlau
Posts: 1967
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 6:49 am

Re: Disable splash screen?

Post by Dreadlau » Fri Oct 08, 2010 10:30 am

Lowlander wrote:I've added to the ticket to indicate other scenarios where command line is ineffective.
Thank you :]

Btw: There is also the opening of mmip files.
Seven Ultimate X64 SP1 / Sansa Clip 2go (with RockBox)

Dreadlau
Posts: 1967
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 6:49 am

Re: Disable splash screen?

Post by Dreadlau » Fri Oct 08, 2010 6:00 pm

I'm disappointed that the priority has been set to low. :(

I checked the applications I'm using the most at the moment.
firefox,
media player classic
speccy
bittorrent
cdisplay
soulseek
ccleaner
None of them force me to have a splash screen.
MM is the only one that does!
Seven Ultimate X64 SP1 / Sansa Clip 2go (with RockBox)

Peke
Posts: 13154
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Disable splash screen?

Post by Peke » Fri Oct 08, 2010 7:01 pm

also photoshop, SoundForge, Acrobat reader, CorelDraw, Office 2010, ...

We are looking into that. I raised issue to Jiri.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14162
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Re: Disable splash screen?

Post by rovingcowboy » Sat Oct 09, 2010 5:07 am

work around.


put no splash in the command line of the shortcut to start monkey.

start monkey shrink to tray.
or micro player.

go on about your day to day stuff if you want to install mmip file or start song from in the folders by right clickin on it
then go ahead.
the splash screen won't show now cause monkey was already open.

8)
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

Dreadlau
Posts: 1967
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 6:49 am

Re: Disable splash screen?

Post by Dreadlau » Wed Oct 13, 2010 10:11 am

Seven Ultimate X64 SP1 / Sansa Clip 2go (with RockBox)

Peke
Posts: 13154
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Disable splash screen?

Post by Peke » Wed Oct 13, 2010 5:14 pm

Thank you for pointing out.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

Post Reply