Help using Auto Organise

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

tigertales
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2008 2:02 am

Help using Auto Organise

Post by tigertales » Sat Feb 21, 2009 3:03 am

I tried this many moons ago and ended up losing a heap of files.

I'd like to Auto-organise files so that they are sorted thus:

F: \ Artist first letter \ Artist \ Year \ Album \ track no. \ Title.flac

So, Firstly I need the correct formatting of that string/code?? - thx.

Then, how do I get it to move all folders and associated files accordingly (a step-by step would be muchly appreciated).

Should I select 'copy' rather than 'move'.

Any other advice before I proceed??

Thx in advance

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Help using Auto Organise

Post by nohitter151 » Sat Feb 21, 2009 9:30 am

F:\<Artist:1>\<Artist>\<Year>\<Album>\<Track#>\<Title>
tigertales wrote:Then, how do I get it to move all folders and associated files accordingly (a step-by step would be muchly appreciated).
1. Select all files
2. Tools | Auto organize
3. Enter F:\<Artist:1>\<Artist>\<Year>\<Album>\<Track#>\<Title> into destination field
4. Check for any duplicate filenames (in red). If any appear, don't auto organize as the duped files will be replaced
5. If everything's ok, hit auto-organize
tigertales wrote:Should I select 'copy' rather than 'move'.
I guess that's your preference.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

Lowlander
Posts: 46392
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Help using Auto Organise

Post by Lowlander » Sat Feb 21, 2009 9:37 am

Also see: http://www.mediamonkey.com/sw/webhelp/n ... ormats.htm which is for MM 2.5. The build in help (F1) will be more accurate.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

MMan
Posts: 233
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 7:20 pm
Location: Montclair, NJ

Re: Help using Auto Organise

Post by MMan » Sat Feb 21, 2009 11:05 am

Just want to make sure that you want an individual folder for every <track #>, ie if 15 tracks on an album, 15 different folders? That's what you asked for and that is what nohitter's mask will do. I would recommend that you use the track number in the filename, then all the tracks for an album will be in one folder. This mask will do it that way.

F:\<Artist:1>\<Artist>\<Year>\<Album>\<Track#:2><Title>

The ":2" in the Track # forces two digits which will make sorting by track number work as expected. Track 1 will be 01. This will cause a sort to be 01,02,03,04 vs. 1,11,12,13,14,15,2,3,.

tigertales
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2008 2:02 am

Re: Help using Auto Organise

Post by tigertales » Sun Feb 22, 2009 2:21 am

Thanks a bundle guys.

Yes, MMan, your right - no single folder per track.

Nervining up to give this a go on monday or tuesday....

MMan
Posts: 233
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 7:20 pm
Location: Montclair, NJ

Re: Help using Auto Organise

Post by MMan » Sun Feb 22, 2009 8:25 am

Btw, you might want to consider this mask:

F:\<Artist:1>\<Artist>\<Year>\<Album>\<Track#:2> <Artist> - <Title>

If you use this, then the file name will have the Ttrack Number, Artisit and Title which might be useful outside of monkey or if the tags get messed up in the future. Also, If you have a spare drive or room on your current drive you may want to back up your music files and the monkey files before you start. See:

http://www.mediamonkey.com/support/inde ... 65&nav=0,3

Huckleberry
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 12:04 pm

Re: Help using Auto Organise

Post by Huckleberry » Sun Mar 01, 2009 12:32 pm

Sorry if I've missed this in a previous post. I had an external hard drive that too small to hold all of my music files. I purchased a 1T external drive and moved all of the music files I could find to it. It currently has about 500G of music on it. In addition the computers C drive has music files on it as well. The auto organize feature in MM is grayed out. This could be because I haven't imported any music into it yet. Is there an easy way to search and move all of the music files to the 1T external drive?
My wife uses iTunes as her default player. Now when she trys to play most of her music iTunes can't find it because it was moved.

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Help using Auto Organise

Post by nohitter151 » Sun Mar 01, 2009 6:57 pm

Huckleberry wrote:Sorry if I've missed this in a previous post. I had an external hard drive that too small to hold all of my music files. I purchased a 1T external drive and moved all of the music files I could find to it. It currently has about 500G of music on it. In addition the computers C drive has music files on it as well. The auto organize feature in MM is grayed out. This could be because I haven't imported any music into it yet. Is there an easy way to search and move all of the music files to the 1T external drive?
My wife uses iTunes as her default player. Now when she trys to play most of her music iTunes can't find it because it was moved.
Auto organize is greyed out when you don't have any tracks selected.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

tigertales
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2008 2:02 am

Re: Help using Auto Organise

Post by tigertales » Thu Apr 02, 2009 11:01 pm

Back to this problem again... the last effort didn't work out as hoped.

I'm now thinking of altering the structure to something like this

- MUSIC (main directory)
- ARTIST (capitals)
- Artist-Year-Album

How would this work?? Can it be done using 'auto-organise'?, and if so, how??

Thx.

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Help using Auto Organise

Post by nohitter151 » Fri Apr 03, 2009 6:12 am

What do you mean by "ARTIST (capitals)"?
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

tigertales
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2008 2:02 am

Re: Help using Auto Organise

Post by tigertales » Fri Apr 03, 2009 7:46 am

For example:

- BARENAKED LADIES / Barenaked Ladies - 2001 - Disc One All Their Greatest Hits 1991-2001 /

Lowlander
Posts: 46392
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Help using Auto Organise

Post by Lowlander » Fri Apr 03, 2009 8:47 am

There is no option to change the case of fields in the Auto-Organize Files feature so this isn't possible (as you also want to use sentence case for the same field).
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

XmasB

Re: Help using Auto Organise

Post by XmasB » Mon Apr 06, 2009 9:05 am

Any suggestion on how I can manage multiple cds for albums?

So far I've tried the following:
X:\mp3\<Album Artist:1>\<Album Artist>\<Year> - <Album>$If(<Disc#>,\cd<Disc#>,)\<Track#:2> - <Artist> - <Title>

But of course, this also requires the Disc# to be empty in whatever files I don't want in a "cd1" folder.

What I want is (where more than 1 cd):
x:\mp3\a\abba\1975 - Greatest Hits\cd1\01 - Abba - SomeAbbasong.mp3

And (when only one cd):
x:\mp3\a\abba\1980 - SomeAlbum\01 - Abba - SomOtherAbbaSong.mp3

Any ideas?

Mizery_Made
Posts: 2283
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 1:09 pm
Location: Kansas City, Missouri, United States

Re: Help using Auto Organise

Post by Mizery_Made » Mon Apr 06, 2009 5:21 pm

I believe the Disc # field will accept a value like "01/02" which would indicate Disc 1 of 2. You could then use some of the scripting features like $left() to grab the disc number for those that don't equal "01/01". Though I haven't tested this myself (as I don't even use the Disc # field)

Post Reply