Some tracks don't scan into library

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

FloppySpatula
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 5:39 pm

Some tracks don't scan into library

Post by FloppySpatula » Fri Mar 06, 2009 10:52 pm

FAQ page on the subject.

I have a related issue that this FAQ section doesn't address.

I go to add a folder to my media library, and it adds the songs, but some of the tracks in the folder don't add to the library. This has happened a few times.

I know MM has the capability of playing the tracks, since I can play these songs if I access them in Explorer, not with the media library. What's odd, though, is if I try to add the tracks to the Now Playing playlist through MM (File -> play, or some equivalent option), the songs don't play then, either. They just grey out as if they're dead.

Does anybody have a solution?

EDIT: In case it matters, all of my music collection is in mp3 format. This only happens to some songs, and the same songs at that, not all.

Lowlander
Posts: 45912
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Some tracks don't scan into library

Post by Lowlander » Fri Mar 06, 2009 11:03 pm

What version of MediaMonkey are you using?

It probably is a case of corrupted files that causes MediaMonkey to not add them. You could try using Tools > Advanced Tag Management > Clear ID3v1 & v2 tags on those files, but beware that the tags will be lost and you don't have them in the library either. You might need to use the My Computer node to navigate to them in MediaMonkey.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Post Reply