I can't see customized column info

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

steviegt
Posts: 311
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 8:39 am

I can't see customized column info

Post by steviegt » Tue Mar 17, 2009 9:06 am

I just started using MediaMonkey Gold. I love it but I have a few questions. I tried searching the forums for the answers but these were the one's I could not find.

I added Publisher to my columns. The new column appears but it does not show the Publisher that is embedded in the file(s). I can see the info when using mP3tag and Winamp. Why not in MM?
MMW Gold Lifetime v4.1.21.11875
MM Pro Android v1.3.2.0824
Windows Home 10.0.17134.228 64-bit Build 1803
MS Edge


Next to MediaMonkey, the best program available: Total Commander http://www.ghisler.com/

"Being mean to someone takes more effort than being nice to them"

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: I can't see customized column info

Post by nohitter151 » Tue Mar 17, 2009 9:11 am

Maybe those programs use a different tag for that information? Does the information appear in the tracks properties under the details tab?
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

steviegt
Posts: 311
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 8:39 am

Re: I can't see customized column info

Post by steviegt » Tue Mar 17, 2009 9:24 am

It appears in the details tab on every file.
MMW Gold Lifetime v4.1.21.11875
MM Pro Android v1.3.2.0824
Windows Home 10.0.17134.228 64-bit Build 1803
MS Edge


Next to MediaMonkey, the best program available: Total Commander http://www.ghisler.com/

"Being mean to someone takes more effort than being nice to them"

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: I can't see customized column info

Post by nohitter151 » Tue Mar 17, 2009 9:29 am

Can you show a screenshot?
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

steviegt
Posts: 311
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 8:39 am

Re: I can't see customized column info

Post by steviegt » Tue Mar 17, 2009 9:49 am

okay, I stupid. How do I do this? I tried copy/paste. I have a snipping tool andI saved to a file. How do I save the jpg file to this post?
MMW Gold Lifetime v4.1.21.11875
MM Pro Android v1.3.2.0824
Windows Home 10.0.17134.228 64-bit Build 1803
MS Edge


Next to MediaMonkey, the best program available: Total Commander http://www.ghisler.com/

"Being mean to someone takes more effort than being nice to them"

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: I can't see customized column info

Post by nohitter151 » Tue Mar 17, 2009 9:50 am

Post it to http://imageshack.us/ and then post the code here.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

steviegt
Posts: 311
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 8:39 am

Re: I can't see customized column info

Post by steviegt » Tue Mar 17, 2009 9:56 am

MMW Gold Lifetime v4.1.21.11875
MM Pro Android v1.3.2.0824
Windows Home 10.0.17134.228 64-bit Build 1803
MS Edge


Next to MediaMonkey, the best program available: Total Commander http://www.ghisler.com/

"Being mean to someone takes more effort than being nice to them"

steviegt
Posts: 311
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 8:39 am

Re: I can't see customized column info

Post by steviegt » Tue Mar 17, 2009 11:40 am

MMW Gold Lifetime v4.1.21.11875
MM Pro Android v1.3.2.0824
Windows Home 10.0.17134.228 64-bit Build 1803
MS Edge


Next to MediaMonkey, the best program available: Total Commander http://www.ghisler.com/

"Being mean to someone takes more effort than being nice to them"

MMan
Posts: 233
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 7:20 pm
Location: Montclair, NJ

Re: I can't see customized column info

Post by MMan » Tue Mar 17, 2009 12:09 pm

It's not entirely clear what your problem is from the screenshots. You seemed to have renamed one of the Monkey custom field as "Publisher". However, Monkey already has a standard field called "Publisher" which gets mapped to the Publisher field in ID3v2 tags. (see help > Reference Info> Track Properties & Tag Format) The one screen shot shows the Publisher field blank and the other shows it populated. Are you showing one with the renamed custom filed and one with the standard field? Can you show two other screen shots ofthe same track which you believe has the Publisher info. Select the track, then Edit > Properties. The first screen shot show the "Details" tab and the other, show the "Classification" tab.

steviegt
Posts: 311
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 8:39 am

Re: I can't see customized column info

Post by steviegt » Tue Mar 17, 2009 12:23 pm

The screenshot that shows the Publisher info/column to the far right was from Mp3tag just to show that the info existed in the tag. Another screenshot showed the Library in MM with the last column being Publisher and there is no info populated. The screenshot for Options shows I created a "Column" for Publisher because Publisher is not an available item to select when customizing (adding or removing) columns.

Based on your last reply, I verified that the Publisher info is populated in the Details tab but it is not populated in the Classification tab. How do I get MM to automatically place that data into the Classification Publisher field based on the embedded tag info?
MMW Gold Lifetime v4.1.21.11875
MM Pro Android v1.3.2.0824
Windows Home 10.0.17134.228 64-bit Build 1803
MS Edge


Next to MediaMonkey, the best program available: Total Commander http://www.ghisler.com/

"Being mean to someone takes more effort than being nice to them"

Lowlander
Posts: 47064
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: I can't see customized column info

Post by Lowlander » Tue Mar 17, 2009 12:31 pm

The custom fields don't map to existing tags, they're additional fields that MediaMonkey can use. Why not use the MediaMonkey Publisher field instead of creating a custom one?

The only way to get the Publisher data in the custom field would be to use a script to copy the data.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

MMan
Posts: 233
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 7:20 pm
Location: Montclair, NJ

Re: I can't see customized column info

Post by MMan » Tue Mar 17, 2009 12:45 pm

First, you could probably use a script to make that switch. Reg Exp Find & Replace would probably do it (your can search the script forum). If you do that, I would copy the info to the Custom field, not move it. If you move it, then the info won't be there for use of the file outside Monkey.

However, to me it seems that this is more a bug in Monkey. I can't see any reason that you wouldn't or shouldn't be able to display the Publisher field. Interestingly, it is one of only four fields in the Porperties details that you can't display - the four being ISRC, Publisher, Encoder and Copyright. IMO, none should be excluded from being able to be displayed. Maybe one of the Moderators can chim in as to whether this is a Bug or should just be a request for a new feature. My guess is that it only requires updating a table or two.

In the mean time, you could use the script to copy from the standard Publisher field to the custom. Btw, I would probably rename the custom field something else to avoid confusion.

MMan
Posts: 233
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 7:20 pm
Location: Montclair, NJ

Re: I can't see customized column info

Post by MMan » Tue Mar 17, 2009 12:47 pm

BTW, you probably are getting curious responses because I'm guessing that eveyone like me though that the standard Publisher field could be selected to be displayed.

steviegt
Posts: 311
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 8:39 am

Re: I can't see customized column info

Post by steviegt » Tue Mar 17, 2009 12:49 pm

Why not use the MediaMonkey Publisher field instead of creating a custom one?

Are you referring to the Classification Publisher field? I will do this from here on out. How do I get my library view to have a column thae header that says Publisher and for it to display the embedded Publisher data that already exists in each tag? That's why I created the custom field. I just didn't know if you could somehow map MM to retrieve the info and populate it there automatically.
MMW Gold Lifetime v4.1.21.11875
MM Pro Android v1.3.2.0824
Windows Home 10.0.17134.228 64-bit Build 1803
MS Edge


Next to MediaMonkey, the best program available: Total Commander http://www.ghisler.com/

"Being mean to someone takes more effort than being nice to them"

MMan
Posts: 233
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 7:20 pm
Location: Montclair, NJ

Re: I can't see customized column info

Post by MMan » Tue Mar 17, 2009 12:52 pm

Again, I think that this is a bug and you shouldn't have to use a custom field. You should be able to have the standard Publisher field displayed by right clicking the column headers. It makes no sense that it is excluded. That's why I think it was an ovesight and therefore a Bug.

Post Reply