Does your sound card make a difference in the quality of Rip

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

Peabody67gto
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2007 12:52 pm

Does your sound card make a difference in the quality of Rip

Post by Peabody67gto » Wed Apr 22, 2009 6:11 pm

OK,
Don't laugh, I am going to take on the project of ripping my 1500 CD's to FLAC. My new PC has a sound card built on the MB & I plan to upgrade in soon. I do not think the sound card matters with the quality of the RIP. I know the playback will be better with a quality SC but I did not want to start ripping and then when my new Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi ExtremeMusic card comes in I will have to start over.

THANKS

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Does your sound card make a difference in the quality of Rip

Post by nohitter151 » Wed Apr 22, 2009 10:23 pm

No, the soundcard makes no difference in the rip. Your CD drive on the other hand... that makes a difference.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

Peabody67gto
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2007 12:52 pm

Re: Does your sound card make a difference in the quality of Rip

Post by Peabody67gto » Thu Apr 23, 2009 12:04 am

Can the drive make the sound different? Or just how it reads the CD?

I have a 1 year old Quad4 2.4 processor with great components so I think I am OK.

I just noticed if I am ripping and listening to a track I ripped on another CD it sounds like it has a fed pops and then it goes away. Maybe it might be a good idea to just rip and do nothing else.

THANKS

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14153
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Re: Does your sound card make a difference in the quality of Rip

Post by rovingcowboy » Thu Apr 23, 2009 12:26 am

i would just rip to wav and convert to flac later, because i found it easier since the cdrom has to use a cache to put the ripped songs in and some cdrom drivers use small caches which means they either compress the song's sound as it is ripped and converted.
or clear the cache to the swap file while the song is being ripped. either way you take a chance on getting clicks and pops in the songs.
i stopped getting them when i started ripping to wav and converting later. :lol:
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. Proscan tablet Android 4.3 ) 7. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

Peabody67gto
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2007 12:52 pm

Re: Does your sound card make a difference in the quality of Rip

Post by Peabody67gto » Thu Apr 23, 2009 12:38 am

Hey how do you cache to the swap file?

Thanks

Benn
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 11:59 am
Location: Cornwall, United Kingdom

Re: Does your sound card make a difference in the quality of Rip

Post by Benn » Thu Apr 23, 2009 5:56 am

Use EAC, with this guide http://blowfish.be/eac/ to make perfect rips.

MMan
Posts: 233
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 7:20 pm
Location: Montclair, NJ

Re: Does your sound card make a difference in the quality of Rip

Post by MMan » Thu Apr 23, 2009 6:56 am

Here is another post with some things to thinak about. Using EAC will usually eliminate any issues related to the quality of your CD drive. However, the trade off is time. The better the condition of the CD itself and the drive that reads it will have a meaningful diffference (sometimes 100-200%+ difference) in the time EAC takes to read, error check and rip. Good luck, I only did about 860 CDs, 1500 is a pile. One other thing, you should know is that EAC allows multiple instance running simutaneously so it might be worth the investment in an external CD derive so you can rip two discs at the same time. Good luck.

http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 08#p178197

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14153
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Re: Does your sound card make a difference in the quality of Rip

Post by rovingcowboy » Fri Apr 24, 2009 12:26 am

Peabody67gto wrote:Hey how do you cache to the swap file?

Thanks
the swap file is cached by default in win xp.
you have to use a tweaking program to tell xp to clear the page file on reboot.

but i was not talking about doing that i was saying the small size of memory on the cdrom drives does not allow for lots of stuff to be cached at once. and when you rip and convert that is what the cd drive is trying to do. rip it to its memory cache and then convert it to the hd's location.

if it can not hold all the songs on the cd while converting them. it will send them to the page file/swap file/virt memory.
when it does that you might get the clicks and pops. sometimes the cache in the cdrom drive will just dump in to empty space the info when it gets too much to hold. so you loose the ripped songs.
you can hear the dump it sounds like running water when it does it.
when you hear it you'll more likely say what did that just do? the answer is dump the data cause it was too full.
in some other help forums you will sometimes see people say their drive just took a dump. :lol:

that is what it means.
:D
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. Proscan tablet Android 4.3 ) 7. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

Post Reply