Just curious

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

raharris
Posts: 86
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:02 am

Just curious

Post by raharris » Fri May 01, 2009 10:49 am

I needed to reformat a network associated storage device (NAS). I did so.
I loaded Mediamonkey and the files (previously playable) were "grayed out".
I expected this.

I then put back all of the exact same data in the exact same directory structure on the reformatted drive.
Drive label and name and data remained exactly the same.

Mediamonkey was reloaded
Mediamonkey still "grayed out" all of the files.

I deleted the files in the library on this drive and rescanned and all is well.

Was this expected behavior? Is this the "Drive ID" issue

Thanks

Bex
Posts: 6316
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 5:44 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Just curious

Post by Bex » Fri May 01, 2009 1:00 pm

raharris wrote: Was this expected behavior? Is this the "Drive ID" issue
Yes, MM uses the serial number of the HDD to identify it and not the drive letter.
http://www.mediamonkey.com/wiki/index.p ... w_computer
Advanced Duplicate Find & Fix Find More From Same - Custom Search. | Transfer PlayStat & Copy-Paste Tags/AlbumArt between any tracks.
Tagging Inconsistencies Do you think you have your tags in order? Think again...
Play History & Stats Node Like having your Last-FM account stored locally, but more advanced.
Case & Leading Zero Fixer Works on filenames too!

All My Scripts

raharris
Posts: 86
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:02 am

Re: Just curious

Post by raharris » Mon May 04, 2009 7:07 pm

Thanks and a possibly related question

I am trying to set up MM for friend on a laptop with a single, large USB drive for music storage.

Should this scenario work or is there going to be some issue with every time the USB drive gets unplugged from the computer?

Thanks

Robert Harris

Mizery_Made
Posts: 2283
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 1:09 pm
Location: Kansas City, Missouri, United States

Re: Just curious

Post by Mizery_Made » Mon May 04, 2009 7:15 pm

Seeing as it uses a serial number of the HD to identify it, I don't think it would be an issue. I know that when plugging in USB devices, they can sometimes get a different Drive Letter, which would be an issue if it used the Drive Letter to identify, but I don't think the Drive's Serial Number would change between plug-ins. However, I don't use a USB Drive, thus this is just an educated guess/speculation on my part.

MMan
Posts: 233
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 7:20 pm
Location: Montclair, NJ

Re: Just curious

Post by MMan » Mon May 04, 2009 7:27 pm


Post Reply