For best possible sound

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

raharris

For best possible sound

Post by raharris » Wed Jun 17, 2009 11:24 am

There has been discussion on various web sites regarding how to get the best possible sound out of one's music player.

I am not technical enough to do more than parrot some of what I have read.

There is a "bad thing" in Windows called a "K mixer" to be avoided. I have read of other "bad things" but I can not actually remember them by name now.
Various drivers are recommended for best sound but I am unclear if this has impact on all methods of delivering signal for one's stereo

Could a technically adept/sophisticated person please clarify some of these issues?

Specifically
1) What are the settings for best possible sound in XP and Vista for MediaMonkey? This would presume a sound card is the output device.
2) If one uses USB hookup to a DAC, do these issues still exist? What are best settings in this scenario?
3) If one uses streaming technology (as in Remote Speaker Output) - do these issues still exist? What are the best settings in this scenario?

Thanks in advance

rovingcowboy

Re: For best possible sound

Post by rovingcowboy » Wed Jun 17, 2009 11:35 am

depends on your system.

use the direct sound output plugin that monkey has you can adjust its settings to change the
crossfade time and some other things.

use mad input plugin to help with some song files not being played, also use mp3Pro plugin if your
mp3 files don't all play some times that will fix it.

use a dsp plugin. the old one i use wide dynimic is working again so i'm using it for some reason
more likely a microsoft update must have busted it some time ago but now its working so that can be a good thing to use on 16 bit sound.

also if you have a good sound card like santa cruz turtle or better, use it and not the onboard sound.