Play Random Album

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

Acrophobia13

Play Random Album

Post by Acrophobia13 » Wed Dec 02, 2009 8:33 pm

Hello all, new MediaMonkey Gold member here!

I'm used to listening to my music collection (~5000 tracks) on a Creative Zen music player. Now, the Creative Zens always had a great feature that I loved: Album of the Day. It would queue a random album from anywhere in the library. Every day, I'd select a different album and that would be the album I'd listen to for the day.

Basically, what I'm looking for, is a way to start up mediamonkey and have MM select me a random album to listen to.

Is there a script somewhere that can do this? I'm fairly tech-savvy so installing and using probably wouldn't be a problem, but I have searched a bit and couldn't really find something that would work in this way. If any one can help I'd appreciate it!!

Eyal
Posts: 3110
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2005 9:27 am
Location: Québec

Re: Play Random Album

Post by Eyal » Wed Dec 02, 2009 8:59 pm

Yes, there's an old script named "Selection Of The Day" by Octopod.
It was written in 2004 but it's working fine with latest MM 3.x.
Link: http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... f=2&t=2393

You may be also interested in "Play Album" script by Oneonymous.
Link: http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =2&t=39582
Skins for MediaMonkey: Cafe, Carbon, Helium, Spotify, Zekton. [ Wiki Zone ].

onenonymous
Posts: 374
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 1:09 pm
Location: Texas

Re: Play Random Album

Post by onenonymous » Thu Dec 03, 2009 9:56 am

You could also use MagicNodes to create a node with a Random Album. I've got one I use I'll post this weekend.

Acrophobia13

Re: Play Random Album

Post by Acrophobia13 » Thu Dec 03, 2009 11:22 am

Eyal wrote:Yes, there's an old script named "Selection Of The Day" by Octopod.
It was written in 2004 but it's working fine with latest MM 3.x.
Link: http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... f=2&t=2393
Thanks, exactly what I was looking for!!

onenonymous
Posts: 374
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 1:09 pm
Location: Texas

Re: Play Random Album

Post by onenonymous » Sat Dec 05, 2009 9:16 am

Here's my code for a MagicNode to show a random album:

Code: Select all

One random album|Icon:Top level|Child of:Now Playing|Filter:Songs.IDAlbum IN (SELECT IDAlbum FROM Songs GROUP  BY IDAlbum HAVING Count(TrackNumber) = Max(Cast(TrackNumber As integer)) AND Count(TrackNumber) > 3)\<Album|Sort order:Random|Top:1|Unknown:No|Show nodes:No>

Post Reply