Auto-tag from Amazon error

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

Auto-tag from Amazon error

Postby slapdash » Mon Dec 21, 2009 11:58 pm

Hey!

When I try to autolabel my albums this error always comes up:
Couldn't show results: HTTP/1.1 400 Bad Request


What can I do about this?

Kind regards.
slapdash
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 7:07 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium

Re: Auto-label error

Postby Lowlander » Tue Dec 22, 2009 12:02 am

Make sure you're using version 3.2 of MediaMonkey. Do you get this error with version 3.2?
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Lowlander
 
Posts: 44082
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Auto-label error

Postby slapdash » Tue Dec 22, 2009 12:05 am

No I have version 3.0, I will update as soon as possible and check if I still get the error.

Thanks!
slapdash
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 7:07 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium

Re: Auto-label error

Postby Lowlander » Tue Dec 22, 2009 12:18 am

Version 3.1 and older all have this issue due to a change made by Amazon.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Lowlander
 
Posts: 44082
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Auto-label error

Postby slapdash » Tue Dec 22, 2009 12:26 am

Ok it works now! Some info not on Amazon though.. :P

Thanks for the help
slapdash
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 7:07 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium

Re: Auto-label error

Postby movizion » Sun Dec 31, 2017 5:59 am

I am using version 4.1 and the auto label does not work, except the japan version.
This was suddenly, because it worked earlier.
Who has an solution?
movizion
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2017 5:21 am

Re: Auto-label error

Postby bobwhitley3 » Sun Dec 31, 2017 7:51 am

Are the developers working on new sources of information for Auto-Tag in MM4? The information page re: this error seems to indicate that MM4 users should use existing addons and not expect Auto-Tag to be updated.

I work exclusively with video files and found that all MM4 metadata addons target music files, not video. The same is true in the software market at large - there are few good products that handle video metadata well. Because of this I've come to rely completely on MM4's Auto-Tag feature and hope that it is re-implemented soon.
bobwhitley3
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2014 3:04 am

Re: Auto-label error

Postby Peke » Sun Dec 31, 2017 10:40 pm

Hi,
MM5 Already handles TV Series much better than many other apps. Movies and other Video Types are under development and also making better SDK for easier addition of new sources to metadata search.
Best regards,
Pavle
MM Core Developer and Admin of free MediaMonkey extensions Hosting
Image
Image
How to add Images to forum
Peke
 
Posts: 10840
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia

Re: Auto-label error

Postby algoritmo » Tue Jan 02, 2018 4:14 am

I'm using v4.1.19 and the AutoTag funtion doesn't work except for the japanese link (amazon.co.jp).
This happened suddenly, because it worked properly earlier.
Anyone has a solution/explanation?
algoritmo
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2018 3:59 am

Re: Auto-label error

Postby Peke » Tue Jan 02, 2018 7:12 am

algoritmo wrote:I'm using v4.1.19 and the AutoTag funtion doesn't work except for the japanese link (amazon.co.jp).
This happened suddenly, because it worked properly earlier.
Anyone has a solution/explanation?

There is an issue with affiliate partnering with Amazon more info and possible workarounds can be read here http://www.mediamonkey.com/broken-auto-tag.htm?l=en
Best regards,
Pavle
MM Core Developer and Admin of free MediaMonkey extensions Hosting
Image
Image
How to add Images to forum
Peke
 
Posts: 10840
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia

Re: Auto-label error

Postby rvonder » Thu Jan 04, 2018 2:02 am

Please pardon the possibly dumb question, but the explanation linked above doesn't say whether this is a permanent situation or only temporary. Can someone provide a little more detail about what changed to break Amazon tagging?

Personally, I'm really unhappy to lose Amazon tagging after relying on it (and MM!) for so many years. I've tried other approaches like the Discogs add-on, but none offer equivalent functionality to Amazon. They're a lot harder to use and don't provide anywhere near the flexibility of Amazon. The Discogs add-on frequently provides no results where Amazon does, and Discogs seems to provide metadata at the track level even when I'm trying to tag at the album level (ie, most of the time).

As suggested, I did try the Discogs auto-tag built into the MM 5 beta, but it's clearly not yet ready for prime time. Results still come from multiple albums, even with the 'album level' option selected - this screws up all the track numbers; titles are often incorrect; and lots of the metadata is missing (release year, etc.) You also can't yet select which fields to update - at this point it appears to be all-or-nothing. Not complaining; I'm sure this feature has a lot of work yet to be done.

Please tell us that the problem/disagreement with Amazon can be resolved soon so auto-tagging can start working again?!
rvonder
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 9:34 am

Re: Auto-label error

Postby rusty » Thu Jan 04, 2018 1:27 pm

Unfortunately, it appears that this is going to be a permanent situation. The issue has arisen because amazon changed its policies re. partners' use of their metadata APIs. They no longer permit 3rd party _applications_ to use these APIs, and only allow websites to do so. We're attempting to get special permission to continue as in the past, but I don't have high hopes that we'll be able to resolve this.

Regarding alternatives, in the short term the discogs addon for MediaMonkey 4 is probably the best one (it is _not_ the same as the functionality that we're building into MM5). At the same time, we're working hard to improve the auto-tag addon in MediaMonkey 5 and expect that by the time it's released, it'll be much improved over the 'old' amazon-based functionality. If you have specific feedback about albums that fail, or other issues that you'd like to see improved in it, please report back to the MediaMonkey 5 pre-release forum.

I realize that this isn't the answer you're looking for, and we apologize for the inconvenience.

-Rusty
rusty
 
Posts: 7091
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada


Return to Need Help? (mmw)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 12 guests