Using MM with Windows Home Server

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

Red Robot

Using MM with Windows Home Server

Post by Red Robot » Fri Mar 26, 2010 2:00 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm new to MM and I'm looking for a music solution for my WHS. Do I need to do anything 'special' to set up MM with my WHS? I would like to have my music on the server and access it using MM on my laptops. Ideally I'd like things like ratings to be synced between the laptops too. Can this work?

Teknojnky

Re: Using MM with Windows Home Server

Post by Teknojnky » Fri Mar 26, 2010 2:47 pm

it can be done a few different ways

1) store all music on WHS, install MM on each laptop and scan in files via \\nasname\sharename
- ratings will be stored in both the files and each individual laptop library, but you will need to do startup scan (or manual rescan) to pick up any changes from different laptops, otherwise each laptop can maintain their own ratings. Will have separate playlists and play counts etc.

2) store database and music on whs, scan in files via \\nasname\sharename
- ratings saved in both files and database, laptops pointed to use shared db will have same ratings and playlists/playcounts
- slower than having separate database on local computer
- risk of database corruption when more than one computer updates db at same time
- also, won't be able to use mm unless connected to WHS network

Phred

Post by Phred » Mon May 31, 2010 5:12 pm

I'm trying to get Playlists to appear on multiple computers networked to WHS but have had no success. The database and music is stored on whs, I have deleted all copies of the .ini and mm.db files from the other computers, tried editing the other computers' .ini file (to add the network location under [System] as suggested in other posts), and can't get the Playlists to appear. Any other suggestions?

Thanks in advance (and apologies for the hijack, but this seems pretty closely related).

Lowlander