Can I do these things in MM4?

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

das Monkey
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 7:11 pm

Can I do these things in MM4?

Post by das Monkey » Mon Nov 28, 2011 2:05 pm

I'm combining these questions into one thread, since the answers will likely be "no" to most of them. :) If anything warrants its own separate discussion, please let me know. Please forgive me if these questions are answered elsewhere -- I've searched but come up empty.

1) Can I set a rule or setting to assign the same fixed artwork to episodes of a podcast when they are downloaded?
2) Can I configure the Art Browser (thumbnail size, for example)?
3) Can I mark whether a file is the member of a complete album (in my database) or simply a stand-alone track? I guess I could ensure the TrackNo field is empty for all stand-alones, but I wasn't sure if there's another way.
4) Can I set some type of global playlist setting that ignores files fitting a certain criteria?

Thanks for any help!

Lowlander
Posts: 45849
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Can I do these things in MM4?

Post by Lowlander » Mon Nov 28, 2011 2:39 pm

1) I tried to get this working throughout the beta process, but no it never worked for me (using folder.jpg in Podcast download folder).
2) If you make the window bigger the Art work resizes accordingly
3) Yes, if you use a Custom field for this purpose (also see: http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... ing+tracks)
4) Yes, AutoPlaylists can use exclude criteria including is not Playlist
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

das Monkey
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 7:11 pm

Re: Can I do these things in MM4?

Post by das Monkey » Mon Nov 28, 2011 2:53 pm

Lowlander wrote:2) If you make the window bigger the Art work resizes accordingly
Well, I feel silly. :) Shame the mirror toggle in the settings doesn't work, but it's a start.
Lowlander wrote:3) Yes, if you use a Custom field for this purpose (also see: http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... ing+tracks)
That's what I'm doing now. Was hoping for a better solution so I could free up a Custom field, but maybe we'll get more in the future.
Lowlander wrote:4) Yes, AutoPlaylists can use exclude criteria including is not Playlist
I apologize. I wasn't clear in this request. I'm looking for a "global" option, some way to make it so that all of my AutoPlaylists follow a certain set of rules. I have a lot of playlists and was hoping to avoid manually changing each one. From your response, though, I'm guessing it's not really possible (which is understandable). :)

Thanks for taking the time to respond!

Lowlander
Posts: 45849
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Can I do these things in MM4?

Post by Lowlander » Mon Nov 28, 2011 3:01 pm

You would need to add the criteria to all AutoPlaylists or alternatively as you're in MediaMonkey 4 change the rules of the Collection the AutoPlaylist belongs to. I'm not sure though if all AutoPlaylists automatically belong to the Entire Library collection or the Music collection. The latter's criteria can be changed and (w)/(s)hould affect all the AutoPlaylists set to the Collection.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

das Monkey
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 7:11 pm

Re: Can I do these things in MM4?

Post by das Monkey » Mon Nov 28, 2011 4:23 pm

Great idea. I assumed the "Search" in AutoPlaylists was for "Types". It didn't even occur to me that those were Collections. In theory, I should be able to create a Playlist Collection with my settings and then have all of my AutoPlaylists inherit from that. Changes to the Collection criteria would hopefully propagate as well. Not sure if it will all work smoothly, but I'll give it a try. Thanks for the suggestion!!!

Lowlander
Posts: 45849
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Can I do these things in MM4?

Post by Lowlander » Mon Nov 28, 2011 4:25 pm

That actually would be the same as adding the is not Playlist criteria to every AutoPlaylist (I guess changing Collection for each playlist is a little faster).
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

das Monkey
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 7:11 pm

Re: Can I do these things in MM4?

Post by das Monkey » Mon Nov 28, 2011 4:32 pm

The first time, yes, but the ability to propagate one small change to 50 AutoPlaylists would be very nice if it works. :)

Lowlander
Posts: 45849
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Can I do these things in MM4?

Post by Lowlander » Mon Nov 28, 2011 5:02 pm

That would also work with AutoPlaylist. I do the same (although inclusive) and setup a Master AutoPlaylist all other AutoPlaylists uses. I just need to change the master AutoPlaylist and all playlists will be affected.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Mizery_Made
Posts: 2283
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 1:09 pm
Location: Kansas City, Missouri, United States

Re: Can I do these things in MM4?

Post by Mizery_Made » Tue Nov 29, 2011 1:13 am

das Monkey wrote:
Lowlander wrote:3) Yes, if you use a Custom field for this purpose (also see: http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... ing+tracks)
That's what I'm doing now. Was hoping for a better solution so I could free up a Custom field, but maybe we'll get more in the future.
(In theory, at least) You could "hijack" another field and use it as a "catch all." For example, if you're not using the "Quality" field, then you could use this field with values such as "Loose track : Yes" to designate your loose tracks, then also use it for values like "Rated : Yes" if you like you note which tracks/albums you've given a proper rating (trying to migrate from my old simplistic "5 or no star" system, lol). One of the benefits of this is, this field is a Multi-Value field and thus will have a tree node showing all of these various tags. Then, you could use an Auto-Playlist criteria of "Quality NOT 'Loose track : Yes'" to filter out your random tracks.

Then, you could take the Magic Nodes "Involved People" node example and use it for this field which would split up the various "categories" into their own tree nodes for you to navigate. That's what I've done with the Composer field and my "Production" information. It allows me to designate between "Producer", "Co Producer", "Additional Production", etc. Neat little feature.

However, for your specific example, to mark whether a track is a "loose track" or from a full album... I've been using the "Grouping" field. I have no other use for it, and I feel the field's name lends itself to my usage of it. I mark "loose files" with "--Misc--" and those from full albums with "--Album--" and use filters and auto-organize rules to filter and rename accordingly.

Post Reply