MM won't run in non-admin Windows 7 account

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

Darryl_Gittins
Posts: 270
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 11:48 am

MM won't run in non-admin Windows 7 account

Post by Darryl_Gittins » Fri Dec 23, 2011 5:44 pm

I can't get MM running in a limited Windows 7 account. It runs fine if I log on using an Admin account, but of course from a security perspective, this is not recommended, (and I'm trying to set up the limited account for my kids so that they can play music but not get into other mischief.

When I log on using a non-admin limited account, and then I click the MM icon, the cursor spins and spins but MM doesn't start. If open taks manager, I see several instances of MM running - typically 4 instances, then 6, then 4 again, and so on, like it's trying to start but cannot.

I can repro this on two separate Windows 7 systems.

I'm also running Windows Live Family Safety on both systems.

Thanks for any suggestions.

Rhysmonkey

Re: MM won't run in non-admin Windows 7 account

Post by Rhysmonkey » Fri Dec 23, 2011 6:25 pm

I had the same problem. I worked around it by creating a shortcuut on the desktp with this:

c:\Windows\System32\runas.exe /savecred /user:adminusersname "c:\Program Files (x86)\MediaMonkey\MediaMonkey.exe"


Change adminusersname to an admin user's actual name. You will be prompted for creds 1st time but not after (because of the
/savecred switch).

theta_wave
Posts: 309
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 12:54 am

Re: MM won't run in non-admin Windows 7 account

Post by theta_wave » Fri Dec 23, 2011 7:03 pm

I had the same problem when doing a clean install of MM4.0.1.1461. After mediamonkey sets up the library for my admin account (nothing was there), I quit and restarted the program. After I pressed "cancel" it began to set up my library, where scripts and additional plugins are saved to x:\user\appdata\roaming\mediamonkey\. From another thread, make sure your tempdir is set to some directory that you have privileges to write to (mine: C:\Users\username\AppData\Local\Temp\). After doing all of that, the UAC no longer prompts anymore.
MM Gold Lifetime since 2.5.5.998
Computer: Lenovo Y580 System: Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1 / Arch Linux Mediamonkey 4: w/ Monkeyrok 5.6, Minilyrics 1.4b, iMonkey Skin

smk

Re: MM won't run in non-admin Windows 7 account

Post by smk » Tue Dec 27, 2011 9:08 pm

Rhysmonkey wrote: c:\Windows\System32\runas.exe /savecred /user:adminusersname "c:\Program Files (x86)\MediaMonkey\MediaMonkey.exe"
Thanks for this workaround - I'm a new MM user and was setting this up over the weekend on Win 7 for my kids to use from their accounts, and I was dismayed when I tried it from one of their accounts and got prompted for an admin password. This seems to have worked around the issue with MM needing to run as admin, and simultaneoulsy allows the non-admin users to update the libraries, which I put in C:\Users\Public\Music (so multiple kids can share the same music library).

thanks,
\steve

Darryl_Gittins
Posts: 270
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 11:48 am

Re: MM won't run in non-admin Windows 7 account

Post by Darryl_Gittins » Thu Dec 29, 2011 4:17 pm

Thanks Rhysmonkey! Great workaround! I see other programs (such as Everything Search) that could also benefit from this!

:)

Darryl_Gittins
Posts: 270
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 11:48 am

Re: MM won't run in non-admin Windows 7 account

Post by Darryl_Gittins » Sat Oct 13, 2012 6:11 pm

Ugh. this used to work for me but no longer:

C:\Windows\system32>c:\Windows\System32\runas.exe /savecred /user:Darryl "C:\Program Files (x86)\MediaMonkey\MediaMonkey.exe"
Attempting to start C:\Program Files (x86)\MediaMonkey\MediaMonkey.exe as user "KITCHEN\Darryl" ...
RUNAS ERROR: Unable to run - C:\Program Files (x86)\MediaMonkey\MediaMonkey.exe
740: The requested operation requires elevation.


Does anyone know about the ``740: The requested operation requires elevation`` messageÉ

Thanks!

Darryl_Gittins
Posts: 270
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 11:48 am

Re: MM won't run in non-admin Windows 7 account

Post by Darryl_Gittins » Wed Jan 23, 2013 10:01 pm

Just installed a new Windows 8 system and the same problem exists: when my kids try to use MM from their non-administrator accounts, they are prompted for an admin password. I'm forced to give them Windows Media Player because I can't be there to type the admin password.

Seriously, can't we get this fixed?

I can lock down their accounts thouroughly witht he family safetly controls, but I cannot unlock MM. Not good. :evil:

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: MM won't run in non-admin Windows 7 account

Post by nohitter151 » Wed Jan 23, 2013 11:18 pm

It works fine without admin access on my Win 7 and Win 8 PC. To be clear, are we talking about installing MM? Because yes, you do need to install the application as admin. But for me, I can run it under any user without admin access.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

Darryl_Gittins
Posts: 270
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 11:48 am

Re: MM won't run in non-admin Windows 7 account

Post by Darryl_Gittins » Thu Jan 24, 2013 12:33 am

nohitter151 wrote:It works fine without admin access on my Win 7 and Win 8 PC. To be clear, are we talking about installing MM? Because yes, you do need to install the application as admin. But for me, I can run it under any user without admin access.
You must have UAC turned off because in W7, Vista and 8, by default, when you try to run Medimonkey from a standard account, you are prompted to provide admin creds. I could turn off UAC, but I don't like the idea of having to disable security measures to run one app. Other apps run fine on the kid's accounts so I wonder why MM will not.

Thanks!

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: MM won't run in non-admin Windows 7 account

Post by nohitter151 » Thu Jan 24, 2013 10:36 am

I don't have the UAC turned off, right now it's at "Default" setting for both PCs.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

Darryl_Gittins
Posts: 270
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 11:48 am

Re: MM won't run in non-admin Windows 7 account

Post by Darryl_Gittins » Thu Jan 24, 2013 10:57 am

nohitter151 wrote:I don't have the UAC turned off, right now it's at "Default" setting for both PCs.
That's weird. I'm definitely not making it up though. Reading through this thread I see others that see the same thing I do. I was able to make the Runas trick work, but that forces both kids to use the same MM.DB as the admin from which the runas command is run as. That's workable but not ideal.

johnnytest
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 1:45 pm

Re: MM won't run in non-admin Windows 7 account

Post by johnnytest » Sun Jan 27, 2013 10:28 pm

Hi folks. My first post here. Digging the Monkey!

I am not having this problem on new install Win 7 Ult, but did also set up as a network install per: this support wiki. Maybe many of the same issues could apply to Multi-user single PC install.

EDIT-- Skip to next post if not a network install.

What worked for me:

1. Log in as an Administrator

2. Right click MediaMonkey installer and run as administrator.

3. Launch MediaMonkey. Scan for media files. Exit.

4. Copy C:\Users\<USERNAME>\AppData\Roaming\MediaMonkey\MediaMonkey.ini to C:\Program Files (x86)\MediaMonkey\MediaMonkey.ini Then rename or remove C:\Users\<USERNAME>\AppData\Roaming\MediaMonkey\MediaMonkey.ini (It will supersede the one in Program files if exists I think?)

5. Right click C:\Program Files (x86)\MediaMonkey\MediaMonkey.ini and add "Modify" and "Write" check mark for Users (YourPC\Users)

6. Copy C:\Users\<USERNAME>\AppData\Roaming\MediaMonkey\MM.DB to a new directory. IE: c:\DirectoryName\mm.db or \\server\directoryname\MM.db

7.Right click this directory and verify ALL users have READ and WRITE (Modify and Change) permissions.

8. Inside this directory, create a directory for the various temp files. IE:
c:\DirectoryName\TempFiles\Temp\
c:\DirectoryName\TempFiles\VirtualCD\
c:\DirectoryName\TempFiles\Previews\

9. Open C:\Program Files (x86)\MediaMonkey\MediaMonkey.ini with notepad.
Add a line under System that points to your new DB location and edit the three lines to reflect the path to your temp directories.

Code: Select all

[System]
DBNAME=c:\DirectoryName\MM.db  (or \\servername\DirectoryName\MM.db)
...
TempDir=C:\DirectoryName\TempFiles\Temp\
CacheDir=C:\DirectoryName\TempFiles\VirtualCD\
PreviewDir=C:\DirectoryName\TempFiles\Previews\
Make sure all users have at least READ access to your actual media files. (READ and WRITE if you want them to be able to sync/update tags.)

That seems to have worked without any "run as" or admin login required for the standard users.

JT

johnnytest
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 1:45 pm

Re: MM won't run in non-admin Windows 7 account

Post by johnnytest » Mon Jan 28, 2013 3:35 pm

Scratch my last for non-network installs.
Moved on to other PC's and tested before redirecting to the network library. My last post should be unnecessary for single PC/non-network installs.

This seemed to work for just a local install:
1. Log in as an Administrator

2. Right click MediaMonkey installer and run as administrator.

3. Launch Media Monkey. Scan for media files. Exit.

4. Log in as standard user.

5. Right click MediaMonkey and "Run as administrator."

6.Click OK for any "com elevation" prompts.

7. Exit. and then launch with normal Icon click.

I wonder if those installs having problems have something to do with the initial com elevation prompts? Seems like that was the only time UAC came into play on mine.
Subsequent launches by the standard user didn't have any prompts for elevation/UAC.

Darryl_Gittins
Posts: 270
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 11:48 am

Re: MM won't run in non-admin Windows 7 account

Post by Darryl_Gittins » Wed Jan 30, 2013 5:29 pm

Thanks John - I'll try this and report back.

Darryl_Gittins
Posts: 270
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 11:48 am

Re: MM won't run in non-admin Windows 7 account

Post by Darryl_Gittins » Thu May 30, 2013 4:23 pm

Many thanks, John, this odd procedure did fix the issue!

Post Reply