"MediaMonkey has stopped working" message

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

"MediaMonkey has stopped working" message

Postby millardfarmer » Mon May 27, 2013 12:15 am

5-15 times a day MediaMonkey suddenly stops and a small popup window says: "MediaMonkey has stopped working. A problem caused the program to stop working correctly. Windows will close the program and notify you if a solution is available. Close Program"

I then have to click on the "Close Program" and then go back and open MM again. MM starts back up OK and runs for awhile, but ultimately shuts down again and again and again.

I am using version: 4.0.6.1501 MediaMonkey Gold.
Last edited by Lowlander on Mon May 27, 2013 10:22 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Moved to correct forum
millardfarmer
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 10:29 pm

Re: "MediaMonkey has stopped working" message

Postby Lowlander » Mon May 27, 2013 10:22 am

I suggest you upgrade to the latest version which is MediaMonkey 4.0.7. If the problem still occurs capture it in a debug log (step 4b) and attach it to a support ticket: viewtopic.php?f=1&t=69
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Lowlander
 
Posts: 43401
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: "MediaMonkey has stopped working" message

Postby millardfarmer » Mon May 27, 2013 3:13 pm

I have tried numerous times to donload the latest version but I always get the following error report:
C:\Program files (x86) MediaMonkey.exe
An errror ocurred while trying to replace the existing file:
Delete failed; code 5
Click Retry to try again, Ignore to skip the file (not recommended), or abort to cancel.

I can click retry all day and I keep geting the same message again and again.

I have 43,000 songs in my library. Could that have anything to do with it?
millardfarmer
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 10:29 pm

Re: "MediaMonkey has stopped working" message

Postby Lowlander » Mon May 27, 2013 3:15 pm

Restart the PC and try to install again. The amount of files isn't that large and should not be an issue.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Lowlander
 
Posts: 43401
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: "MediaMonkey has stopped working" message

Postby millardfarmer » Tue May 28, 2013 2:02 pm

Thanks for your help. I was able to install the newest version of MM. I was tryiung to install with MM open, that was the problem with installing. After installing 4.0.7.1511, it still does the same thing as described above. This is really frustrating having to restart MM 10 times a day.

I am running Windows 7
millardfarmer
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 10:29 pm

Re: "MediaMonkey has stopped working" message

Postby Lowlander » Tue May 28, 2013 2:08 pm

In that case you should capture a debug log of it as suggested above.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Lowlander
 
Posts: 43401
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: "MediaMonkey has stopped working" message

Postby millardfarmer » Wed May 29, 2013 8:10 pm

I see where you mention capturing a debug log (step 4b). I'm sorry but I don't know what is meant by "step 4b"
millardfarmer
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 10:29 pm

Re: "MediaMonkey has stopped working" message

Postby Lowlander » Wed May 29, 2013 8:37 pm

Step 4b described here: viewtopic.php?f=1&t=69
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Lowlander
 
Posts: 43401
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: "MediaMonkey has stopped working" message

Postby Dan Daulton » Mon Mar 16, 2015 11:15 am

i am having the same thing happen to me
Dan Daulton
 

Re: "MediaMonkey has stopped working" message

Postby MMFrLife » Mon Mar 16, 2015 2:16 pm

If it is "exactly" the same thing, have you tried any of the suggestions above?
MM user since 2003 (lifetime since 2012) "Trying to imagine life without music gives me a headache"
track properties; dir/fn mask configurations; check out ZvezdanD's scripts
MMW 4.1.18.1842b; fav scripts > RegExp Find & Replace 5.1.0; Magic Nodes 5.1.0; Advanced Duplicate Find & Fix 3.8.2;
Backup 6.0; Clear Now Playing Button 1.2
...always back it up, especially before doing anything major!!!
Win. explorer alt. for power users [free]; great file/folder renamer [used by nasa]
MMFrLife
 
Posts: 2774
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 9:04 pm

Re: "MediaMonkey has stopped working" message

Postby wazzer150864 » Mon Oct 23, 2017 4:17 pm

Hi, not sure if this ever got resolved but it has started happening to me tonight. I have the latest version of gold MM and running on the latest version of Microsoft office.

As the very 1st person in the thread describes, open MM fine OK for 2 or 3 minutes then start to tag something and the dialog box advising MM has stopped working. Tried all the steps listed here and have a bug report to send

Paul
wazzer150864
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 2:19 am

Re: "MediaMonkey has stopped working" message

Postby Peke » Mon Oct 23, 2017 5:19 pm

May I suggest that you install latest Debug version from viewtopic.php?f=6&t=54426&sd=d and if freeze happen try to ignore the msg and try to click on MMW window to trigger Error dialog with Bug report.
Best regards,
Pavle
MM Core Developer and Admin of free MediaMonkey extensions Hosting
Image
Image
Peke
 
Posts: 10441
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia


Return to Need Help? (mmw)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], JimPa and 13 guests