Reset MM Configuration [Help]

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

anonymust
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 12:11 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Reset MM Configuration [Help]

Post by anonymust » Thu Feb 27, 2014 6:53 am

How Do I Reset my Media monkey without deleting my Database?

I recently reformatted my computer. (Windows 7) basically I backed up my entire %appdata%/Roaming/MediaMonkey folder from the system before formatting.

and then I put the exact folder back into the location when I reinstalled.

My real issue now is:

I added a new hard-drive and when I try to add a new location for MM to find/scan a folder continuously and on start up... the folder location is removed when I restart.(But it still shows previously scanned tracks in my library... it just doesnt update)

How can I solve this issue?
"MediaMonkey is the shizzle my nizzle" - Snoop Dogg

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Reset MM Configuration [Help]

Post by nohitter151 » Thu Feb 27, 2014 8:04 am

Before you do anything, do the tracks already in your library play? Have you updated the database with the new hard drive serial number?
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

anonymust
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 12:11 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Re: Reset MM Configuration [Help]

Post by anonymust » Thu Feb 27, 2014 8:21 am

nohitter151 wrote:Before you do anything, do the tracks already in your library play? Have you updated the database with the new hard drive serial number?
Yes the tracks in my library currently play. Upon me first adding/scanning the new harddrive location they were added to the database. and still play and also sync with my iPhone


I dont think I've updated the database with the new drive... How do I do that?

Previously I had all of my media on a different harddrive partition (Drive letter M:) when I reinstalled I made sure that I set the drive path with my media to Drive M:
"MediaMonkey is the shizzle my nizzle" - Snoop Dogg

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Reset MM Configuration [Help]

Post by nohitter151 » Thu Feb 27, 2014 4:40 pm

anonymust wrote:

I dont think I've updated the database with the new drive... How do I do that?
If your tracks already play and there are no dead links then don't worry about it.

So I guess the problem is that when you check some folder to scan at File > Add/rescan it doesn't remember the setting after a restart?
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

anonymust
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 12:11 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Re: Reset MM Configuration [Help]

Post by anonymust » Thu Feb 27, 2014 10:15 pm

correct that is my current issue.
"MediaMonkey is the shizzle my nizzle" - Snoop Dogg

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Reset MM Configuration [Help]

Post by nohitter151 » Fri Feb 28, 2014 8:27 am

anonymust wrote:correct that is my current issue.
You may have issues that MM crashes rather than closes, because the settings are saved when the program is closed. Generate a debug log as described in section 4. b. "For functional problems": http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=69
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

anonymust
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 12:11 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Re: Reset MM Configuration [Help]

Post by anonymust » Tue Mar 11, 2014 3:27 pm

nohitter151 wrote:
anonymust wrote:correct that is my current issue.
You may have issues that MM crashes rather than closes, because the settings are saved when the program is closed. Generate a debug log as described in section 4. b. "For functional problems": http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=69

Working on the log now....

Also Would it matter if the Folder I'm trying to have scanned continuously is within a hidden folder on my C: drive? (but the folder with the music inst hidden itself)
"MediaMonkey is the shizzle my nizzle" - Snoop Dogg

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Reset MM Configuration [Help]

Post by nohitter151 » Tue Mar 11, 2014 5:00 pm

anonymust wrote:
nohitter151 wrote:
anonymust wrote:correct that is my current issue.
You may have issues that MM crashes rather than closes, because the settings are saved when the program is closed. Generate a debug log as described in section 4. b. "For functional problems": http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=69

Working on the log now....

Also Would it matter if the Folder I'm trying to have scanned continuously is within a hidden folder on my C: drive? (but the folder with the music inst hidden itself)
Yeah, probably.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

Lowlander
Posts: 46392
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Reset MM Configuration [Help]

Post by Lowlander » Tue Mar 11, 2014 9:35 pm

Hidden folders and their content are ignored by MediaMonkey.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Post Reply