Page 2 of 2

Re: Global Media Keys Don't Work

Posted: Sun Nov 19, 2017 1:57 am
by RandomEngy
Hmm, okay. But why can't you use the same API that Spotify is using that allows it to play/pause while VS is running?

Re: Global Media Keys Don't Work

Posted: Sun Nov 19, 2017 8:19 am
by Peke
You can force low level hook for a keyboard by adding value "PreferLLKeysHook = 1" to the [options] section of MediaMonkey.ini file but that is override system design and how input is handled correctly see https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/librar ... s.85).aspx MMW corresponds to RIDEV_EXINPUTSINK but not all applications implement that correctly.

Re: Global Media Keys Don't Work

Posted: Sun Nov 19, 2017 10:40 am
by RandomEngy
That setting doesn't help. The play/pause key still doesn't work in VS.

Re: Global Media Keys Don't Work

Posted: Sun Nov 19, 2017 8:33 pm
by Peke
Hi,
Than VS is blocking all legal Media Key bindings. You can do a test as I explained in http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 41#p432741 and I'll give you exact reason and why.

Re: Global Media Keys Don't Work

Posted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 2:07 pm
by RandomEngy
This is the log when I press the pause/play button with VS in foreground:
--------
Device ID: 131141
HID_DATA[1]: 0
Hotkey:
--------
Device ID: 131141
HID_DATA[1]: 0
Hotkey:
And when another app is in FG:
--------
Keyboard ID: 0
Pressed Key: MEDIA PLAY PAUSE
VKey ID: 00B3
State Flags: 0002
HotKey: MEDIA PLAY PAUSE
--------
Keyboard ID: 0
Pressed Key: MEDIA PLAY PAUSE
VKey ID: 00B3
State Flags: 0003
HotKey: MEDIA PLAY PAUSE
It doesn't seem to block it all the time; I haven't narrowed down when it works and when it doesn't.

Re: Global Media Keys Don't Work

Posted: Fri Apr 27, 2018 2:46 pm
by Peke
Exactly as I explained earlier

My App hooks to driver low level and thus determine device events (HID = Human Interface Device https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Human_interface_device ) and by that I'm able to detect key press but as you noticed HID_DATA is Empty which means it is handled and cleared by some app :( Solving such issue usually require Elevated System resource Access and I personally DO NOT LIKE those annoying UAC prompts for no obvious reasons.

Re: Global Media Keys Don't Work

Posted: Fri May 04, 2018 2:59 pm
by RandomEngy

Re: Global Media Keys Don't Work

Posted: Fri May 04, 2018 5:18 pm
by Peke
Good luck to us all.