another field that does multiple entries (multiple genres)

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

Darryl_Gittins
Posts: 270
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 11:48 am

another field that does multiple entries (multiple genres)

Post by Darryl_Gittins » Sat Mar 21, 2015 3:07 pm

Is there another field in MM besides the Genre field that supports multiple entries separated by a separator such as ";"? For example, because Sonos does not support multiple genres (such as West Africa; Nigerian; Highlife), I'd like to move all of my multiple-genre tags out of the Genre field (by using the “RegExp Find and Replace” tool), and then re-populate the genre field with only one genre per track.
By moving the existing multiple genre tags into some other field, I won't lose them, (so I can reinstate them when Sonos adds the capability to read multiple-genres).

My hope is to move the multiple-genre tags into some other field that supports multiple entries so that I can still use the functionality in MM.

Does that make senses?

Thanks for any suggestions!

Mizery_Made
Posts: 2283
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 1:09 pm
Location: Kansas City, Missouri, United States

Re: another field that does multiple entries (multiple genre

Post by Mizery_Made » Sat Mar 21, 2015 4:36 pm

Tempo, Mood, Occasion & Quality all support multiple values (as do the "People Related" fields, but wouldn't make much sense putting Genre information here). If you were to use the Magic Nodes script, then you could create tree nodes for other fields (such as the Custom fields) which will split the values. However, it's more advisable to use a native multi-value field (both for performance, as well as mutli-value support in other areas of the program such as Search).

Darryl_Gittins
Posts: 270
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 11:48 am

Re: another field that does multiple entries (multiple genre

Post by Darryl_Gittins » Sat Mar 21, 2015 6:57 pm

Thank you sir!!

KyleHxAgain

Re: another field that does multiple entries (multiple genre

Post by KyleHxAgain » Mon Mar 23, 2015 5:33 pm

I was just working on the same thing ...
I copied Genre to Custom5 (using RegExp), BUT the two tables looked different.
Genre continue to split; Custom5 showed "x1;x2" as a discrete entry.
Is there a setting, maybe, to enable this?

Lowlander
Posts: 46172
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: another field that does multiple entries (multiple genre

Post by Lowlander » Mon Mar 23, 2015 7:39 pm

Custom fields are not multi-value fields.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

KyleHxAgain

Re: another field that does multiple entries (multiple genre

Post by KyleHxAgain » Fri Mar 27, 2015 11:20 pm

I'm using the Grouping field for a master Genre field.
So, I have only 50 or so major types (Rock/Country/etc.) in Grouping.
Then, I can select Country, and the Genre will show the proper subsets.
-------------------
In the second stage, I'm copying Genre to Quality.
Then, I can do a sub-select of genres.
For example,
..Grouping=Country
..Genre=Southern;1960s
..Genre=Southern;1970s
..Quality=1960s
would be a nice tiering.

KyleHxAgain

Re: another field that does multiple entries (multiple genre

Post by KyleHxAgain » Sat Mar 28, 2015 1:44 am

BTW: This works, BUT
The Genre panel (at the top) displays "cleanly" .. items separated by my ";" separator,
but in the Quality panel, you see the full entry, with semi-colons.
I don't know if there's a way to clean that up.

Alkjeks
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 10:12 pm
Location: Norway

Re: another field that does multiple entries (multiple genre

Post by Alkjeks » Mon Jul 27, 2015 8:14 pm

I'm also using the classification fields (tempo, mood, occasion, quality) instead of custom fields because of the multiple values support. But it now looks like "quality" has lost its multi value support. I know for sure it worked before. Tempo, mood and occasion still works, though. Is this a bug?

NWDreamer
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 4:12 am

Re: another field that does multiple entries (multiple genre

Post by NWDreamer » Tue Jul 28, 2015 11:02 am

Doing a pre-post search found this nicely relevant topic (and recent too!).

I was going to ask why the custom fields allow multiple entries but display them as separates. Then I saw your comment about the Quality field (which I use a LOT replacing the usual values with things like "Compilation," "Reissue," "Best Of," etc.) and confirmed that mine is also show multiple entries incorrectly.

Hopefully when they fix the Quality field they can do the same for the custom fields too! :wink:
Craig B. (a.k.a., NW Dreamer - Gold MediaMonkey user.)

Lowlander
Posts: 46172
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: another field that does multiple entries (multiple genre

Post by Lowlander » Wed Jul 29, 2015 12:28 pm

Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

NWDreamer
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 4:12 am

Re: another field that does multiple entries (multiple genre

Post by NWDreamer » Thu Jul 30, 2015 10:08 pm

Thanks Lowlander. Would giving the same ability to the custom fields be a feature request?
Craig B. (a.k.a., NW Dreamer - Gold MediaMonkey user.)

Lowlander
Posts: 46172
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: another field that does multiple entries (multiple genre

Post by Lowlander » Fri Jul 31, 2015 8:27 am

Multiple value capability as well as numeric capability have already been requested for Custom fields.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Post Reply