Can MM use different audio driver than other apps on Win10?

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

jerryelbow

Can MM use different audio driver than other apps on Win10?

Post by jerryelbow » Tue Jan 05, 2016 5:08 pm

I just ordered a DAC/headphone amp that I want to feed FLAC and DSF files to from MediaMonkey. This will require a new audio driver. I want to leave my "default" audio driver for my Xonar sound card for use with game, videos and other applications but want to run MM out to the DAC/amp using that new driver. Is that possible? Or must I have only a single, default audio driver installed and selected in Win10 with all apps, MM included, running out to it?

Lowlander
Posts: 46188
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Can MM use different audio driver than other apps on Win

Post by Lowlander » Wed Jan 06, 2016 10:19 am

You can select which sound solution to use within the Output Plugin configuration (Tools > Options > Output Plug-ins).
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

bailso
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 12:24 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Can MM use different audio driver than other apps on Win

Post by bailso » Sat Jan 16, 2016 11:36 pm

I have never tried to play DSF files through MM. Does this require an input plugin? If so, I haven't been able to find one so can anyone help.
Thanks and regards.

Lowlander
Posts: 46188
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Can MM use different audio driver than other apps on Win

Post by Lowlander » Sun Jan 17, 2016 9:24 pm

DSF is not supported by MediaMonkey.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

regnaD kciN
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 7:49 pm

Re: Can MM use different audio driver than other apps on Win

Post by regnaD kciN » Thu Jan 28, 2016 4:26 pm

DSF is not supported by MediaMonkey.
...which, at the risk of ranting, is why Ventis Media is shooting itself in the foot in a way that I fear will be the undoing of MediaMonkey. I've been a paid MM user for a long time, and it has been my program of choice since I first started ripping my music collection to FLAC many years (and several computers) ago. I'd love to keep using it -- but, last year, I shelled out again for JRiver, and now use that almost exclusively. Why? Because I had accumulated a decent collection of DSD files and a DSD-compatible DAC, and wanted to be able to play those files natively from within my media-library manager of choice instead of having to fire up a different piece of software for them or going through the hassle of converting them to 24/88. JRiver does this. Foobar2000 -- for free! -- does this. Even the latest iteration of Logitech Media Server/Squeezebox (also free) does this. So why are the folks behind MM so dead-set against it? As much as I was a devoted user of MM, should I be asked today by a friend for advice in setting up a system like mine, I could not in good conscience recommend a product that was PCM-only. If I were getting started today, I wouldn't even consider MM for that reason...and, I suspect, lots of other potential customers will be reaching that decision in the years to come.

bailso
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 12:24 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Can MM use different audio driver than other apps on Win

Post by bailso » Thu Jan 28, 2016 5:26 pm

Yes I am very reluctantly considering moving on for the same reason and am trialling an alternative at the moment with good results.

Post Reply