How to add a new field

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

oeyoeve
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 3:09 pm

How to add a new field

Post by oeyoeve » Sat Mar 19, 2016 10:27 am

Mp3Tag, Foobar2000, Kodi and Plex all make use of a tag named 'YEAR' embedded in every Mp3 file ID3 v2.3 in my huge collection.
I stopped using the 'Date' field some time ago since it was announced that it would be discontinued in the standard.

However, getting MM to recognize the existence of the 'YEAR' field seems impossible. MM cant even see it, and there doesn't seem to be any way to add new fields to the main list view. It appears MM is stuck with whatever fields the programmers decided to include - despite the fact that the ID3 standard practically lets you add any kind of field of your liking.

Is the obove true, or have I missed something significant?

(I tried to rename 'Custom 1' to 'YEAR' but was told that it was "improper".....?!?)

MMFrLife
Posts: 2774
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 9:04 pm

Re: How to add a new field

Post by MMFrLife » Sat Mar 19, 2016 10:39 am

Yeah, I find that interesting too. I guess they went with Date because it's more encompassing (can be 03/19/2016, if desired - I personally prefer 2016 03 19, but it
won't accept that), whereas Year is specifically just 2016 (will a Year tag accept an expansion?). I remember other programs using Year. But, I'm guessing other programs that use Year would just see the Date tag as a Year tag, or no?

Not sure why the custom fields do that. There might be something with the allowance of textual vs numerical fields for custom ones.
MM user since 2003 (lifetime since 2012) "Trying to imagine life without music gives me a headache"
track properties; dir/fn mask configurations; check out ZvezdanD's scripts
MMW 4.1.18.1842b; fav scripts > RegExp Find & Replace 5.1.0; Magic Nodes 5.1.0; Advanced Duplicate Find & Fix 3.8.2;
Backup 6.0; Clear Now Playing Button 1.2
...always back it up, especially before doing anything major!!!
Win. explorer alt. for power users [free]; great file/folder renamer [used by nasa]

MMFrLife
Posts: 2774
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 9:04 pm

Re: How to add a new field

Post by MMFrLife » Sat Mar 19, 2016 10:46 am

I just renamed custom 4 to "Year" and "year" and it worked!
What version of MM are you using?
MM user since 2003 (lifetime since 2012) "Trying to imagine life without music gives me a headache"
track properties; dir/fn mask configurations; check out ZvezdanD's scripts
MMW 4.1.18.1842b; fav scripts > RegExp Find & Replace 5.1.0; Magic Nodes 5.1.0; Advanced Duplicate Find & Fix 3.8.2;
Backup 6.0; Clear Now Playing Button 1.2
...always back it up, especially before doing anything major!!!
Win. explorer alt. for power users [free]; great file/folder renamer [used by nasa]

oeyoeve
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 3:09 pm

Re: How to add a new field

Post by oeyoeve » Sat Mar 19, 2016 12:11 pm

MMFrLife wrote:What version of MM are you using?
I use; 4.1.11.1783 (Lifetime Gold version)

MMFrLife
Posts: 2774
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 9:04 pm

Re: How to add a new field

Post by MMFrLife » Sat Mar 19, 2016 12:22 pm

I'm on 4.1.11.1782, so I doubt that's it (unless it's some sort of regressive behavior).
Have you restarted MM or rebooted since the problem (renaming custom) began?
MM user since 2003 (lifetime since 2012) "Trying to imagine life without music gives me a headache"
track properties; dir/fn mask configurations; check out ZvezdanD's scripts
MMW 4.1.18.1842b; fav scripts > RegExp Find & Replace 5.1.0; Magic Nodes 5.1.0; Advanced Duplicate Find & Fix 3.8.2;
Backup 6.0; Clear Now Playing Button 1.2
...always back it up, especially before doing anything major!!!
Win. explorer alt. for power users [free]; great file/folder renamer [used by nasa]

Post Reply