AutoPlaylist based on non-auto playlist help

Get answers about using MediaMonkey 4 for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

saila7124

AutoPlaylist based on non-auto playlist help

Post by saila7124 »

This is probably something stupid and easy, but I keep running into trouble.

I use MM primarily to listen to podcasts, and I have a master (manual) playlist with the ones I'm listening to in the order I'm listening to them in. This list is very large, and when I go to sync it with my tiny iPod, I always get a few messages about it being too large and some tracks won't sync, et cetera. It's a minor pain in the ass.

My idea, therefore, was to create an AutoPlaylist that pulls only enough from the master list to fit on my iPod. That way I don't run into errors when I sync the pod, and it has the bonus criteria of only adding tracks I haven't listened to yet, saving me the trouble of manually paring the tracks I've listened to every time I sync.

The problem is that this AutoPlaylist seems to pull the tracks from my main list in alphabetical order, not in the order I have them set up in (and therefore not including tracks that I would like it to). Is there a way for the AutoPlaylist to stick to the order from the master list?

I feel like I'm just missing a setting, maybe. Here's the rules I set up for the AutoPlaylist. What am I missing here?

MMFrLife

Re: AutoPlaylist based on non-auto playlist help

Post by MMFrLife »

How are you able to use as criteria the very playlist that you are inside of?
When I try to test what you are asking, that is the one playlist checkbox that is disabled. As if to say, I can't choose the very playlist I'm inside of.

I believe I wishlisted using a playlist's name as criteria a while back.
MM user since 2003 (lifetime lic. 2012) "Trying to imagine life without music gives me a headache"
Top 2 scripts: RegExp Find & Replace (e.v.) and Magic Nodes (e.v.) ZvezdanD's scripts site