Auto organize multiple media types

Get answers about using MediaMonkey 4 for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

gordol

Auto organize multiple media types

Post by gordol »

So, I've been using MMW for a couple months, and recently found the Auto Organize setting, and promptly screwed up my library file structure. I don't think I lost anything, all the media still appears to be present with the correct tags. However, everything is now under my Music folder. I just discovered this the other day when I added a home video and then couldn't find it in the file folder it should have been in.

I am a convert from iTunes, my library folder structure is inherited from there, and despite any issues with iTunes, I like the folder structure and want to restore it.

How can I set up the auto organize in MMW to put music in folder A, Movies in folder \music, TV shows in folder \TV and Home Videos in folder \Home Videos ?

MMW 4.1.19.1859 in Win10.
Lowlander

Re: Auto organize multiple media types

Post by Lowlander »

You can set Auto-Rules to only work for a specific Collection, Genre or Playlist. Thus allowing you to do what you seek.
gordol

Post by gordol »

Lowlander wrote:You can set Auto-Rules to only work for a specific Collection, Genre or Playlist. Thus allowing you to do what you seek.
Ok... the question was:

How can I set up the auto organize in MMW to put music in folder A, Movies in folder \music, TV shows in folder \TV and Home Videos in folder \Home Videos ?
Lowlander

Post by Lowlander »

Yes, that would be the answer to that. You can create Collections for each of those types of files you have using Criteria like Type and Path. And then set a rule per Collection.

Masks: http://www.mediamonkey.com/wiki/index.p ... enames/4.0
gordol

Post by gordol »

Lowlander wrote:Yes, that would be the answer to that. You can create Collections for each of those types of files you have using Criteria like Type and Path. And then set a rule per Collection.