Fluctuating birate

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

meatsean
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 7:13 am

Fluctuating birate

Post by meatsean » Tue Feb 06, 2018 9:32 pm

I am currently running MM version 4.1.20.1864 on Windows 10, version 1709.

When I rip a CD, I set MP3 setting to standard (fast) VBR 192 kbps but after ripping, MM displays several different bitrates.

If I set MM to rip @192 kbps, should the MP3 be ripped at the preset setting?

Peke
Posts: 11131
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Fluctuating birate

Post by Peke » Tue Feb 06, 2018 9:36 pm

Hi,
This is normal as VBR means Variable Bit Rate and MMW shows calculated Average Bit Rate.

To clear the rest ABR means Average Bit Rate and CBR means Constant Bit Rate
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add Images to forum

meatsean
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 7:13 am

Re: Fluctuating birate

Post by meatsean » Tue Feb 06, 2018 9:55 pm

Thank you.

So is that why the sound quality of the ripped tracks fluctuate so much? Also, volume leveling is at the default 89db but playback volume is all over the place.

If I set MP3 setting to Constant Bit Rate, would that fix the sound quality of the tracks and would volume be leveled at 89db for all tracks?

Lowlander
Posts: 44551
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Fluctuating birate

Post by Lowlander » Wed Feb 07, 2018 12:26 am

You shouldn't notice a quality difference. It just means it won't use as many bits for parts of the song that don't have that much information to encode (like silence).

Is volume fluctuating within a song or between songs? With the latter you maybe using Album Volume on Playback which does fluctuate in volume between songs on an Album (preserving their volume differences as on the Album).
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

meatsean
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 7:13 am

Re: Fluctuating birate

Post by meatsean » Wed Feb 07, 2018 11:37 am

Volume fluctuates from track to track. But if you rip tracks at a preset volume level, shouldn't MM normalize all tracks?

Lowlander
Posts: 44551
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Fluctuating birate

Post by Lowlander » Wed Feb 07, 2018 3:29 pm

If you enable Volume Leveling in the Rip Dialog it will Rip all files to the same volume. Disable Play > Level Playback Volume in the Main Menu and try to play again.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Peke
Posts: 11131
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Fluctuating birate

Post by Peke » Thu Feb 08, 2018 8:24 am

And for existing tracks you can analyze volume and then by simply enable Level Volume playback from Play menu will have them played at same level.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add Images to forum

Post Reply