I can't copy cd to my pc anymore

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

m.trouwee
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2018 10:12 am

I can't copy cd to my pc anymore

Post by m.trouwee » Sat Jul 07, 2018 10:20 am

Dear helpers,
Media Monkey Gold- Windows 10.
I have copied a lot of disc to my pc in april this year, now I can't anymore. What do I wrong? And need I I-tunes?
Can you help me? See your anwer. M. Trouwee

Lowlander
Posts: 45688
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: I can't copy cd to my pc anymore

Post by Lowlander » Sat Jul 07, 2018 10:58 am

Which version of MediaMonkey, how does it fail (describe) and do you see any errors?
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

m.trouwee
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2018 10:12 am

Re: I can't copy cd to my pc anymore

Post by m.trouwee » Sun Jul 08, 2018 4:22 am

Dear Lowlander,
I have Monkey Gold 4.1. (Media 2017).
I saw that the name of the file is to long. I want to copy it to my extern disc but that isn't possible anymore.
When I bougth the program in - I think april 2017 - I have the same, filename to long, but it goes.
I don't know what I do wrong now. Will you help me? Greetings

Lowlander
Posts: 45688
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: I can't copy cd to my pc anymore

Post by Lowlander » Sun Jul 08, 2018 2:41 pm

Change the Mask in the Rip Dialog. You either have too much information in it (full file Path needs to stay under 255 characters) or you have no information in it resulting in duplicate filenames. The Rip dialog shows you what the filenames (Path) will be so you can see which issue it is.

Masks: https://www.mediamonkey.com/wiki/index. ... ormats/4.0
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

bateye23
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2018 4:33 am

Re: I can't copy cd to my pc anymore

Post by bateye23 » Mon Jul 09, 2018 5:21 am

Thanks for the reference. It now works on mine.

m.trouwee
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2018 10:12 am

Re: I can't copy cd to my pc anymore

Post by m.trouwee » Mon Jul 09, 2018 1:34 pm

Thanks for your info. I will see if I can do it.

Lowlander
Posts: 45688
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: I can't copy cd to my pc anymore

Post by Lowlander » Mon Jul 09, 2018 2:01 pm

If not, attach (upload to file share, add link in reply) screenshot of Rip dialog.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

m.trouwee
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2018 10:12 am

Re: I can't copy cd to my pc anymore

Post by m.trouwee » Tue Jul 10, 2018 10:52 am

I am sorry, I can't figure it. For instance I don't know what you mean en how to do: "Change the Mask in the Rip Dialog". Where can I find that?

Lowlander
Posts: 45688
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: I can't copy cd to my pc anymore

Post by Lowlander » Tue Jul 10, 2018 10:55 am

Tools > Rip Audio CD and then you set where you which location you want the ripped files saved. This is where you use the Mask to set the destination of the files.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

m.trouwee
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2018 10:12 am

Re: I can't copy cd to my pc anymore

Post by m.trouwee » Wed Jul 11, 2018 4:37 am

Dear Lowlander,
You may excuse me. I don't see Tools. I shall write what I do.
I start Media Monkey. I put de cd in de PC. I wait. Then I get the possiblility tab Extra and than in the menu copy Audio CD.
There is some that not goes alright, but I don't know what.

Lowlander
Posts: 45688
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: I can't copy cd to my pc anymore

Post by Lowlander » Wed Jul 11, 2018 11:23 am

Sounds like you're using the non-English version. Which is fine, it sounds like you're in the same place. In the Rip dialog you can set where the files should be saved. That is done by Mask.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Post Reply