Some titles display as Chinese - how to fix? [#15147]

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

MiPi
Posts: 495
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 2:56 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Some titles display as Chinese - how to fix? [#15147]

Post by MiPi » Mon Oct 15, 2018 8:43 am

pokeefe0001: just look at private messages here, I have offered you solution for your specific case, which should solve your problem without need of deleting any metadata.

Lowlander
Posts: 45442
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Some titles display as Chinese - how to fix? [#15147]

Post by Lowlander » Mon Oct 15, 2018 11:17 am

Tools > Advanced Tag Management > Clean ID3v2 tags cleans the ID3 version 2 tags from the file, not the database. To rewrite database values to the files you'd use Tools > Advanced Tag Management > Synchronize Tags.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

pokeefe0001
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:48 pm

Re: Some titles display as Chinese - how to fix? [#15147]

Post by pokeefe0001 » Mon Oct 15, 2018 12:04 pm

MiPi wrote:
Mon Oct 15, 2018 8:43 am
pokeefe0001: just look at private messages here, I have offered you solution for your specific case, which should solve your problem without need of deleting any metadata.
Thank you. I will try what you sent. (I may not get to it today, though.)

Actually, your earlier suggestion of "Tools - Advanced tag management - Clean ID3v2 tags" seemed to work in a small test. I need to try it on a larger sample to see what data is lost. I may not lose anything critical since everything in the MM database was acquired by scanning the library. If I go through the earlier suggested process of updating the original MMW2 database I suspect I would have more data to lose.

pokeefe0001
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:48 pm

Re: Some titles display as Chinese - how to fix? [#15147]

Post by pokeefe0001 » Tue Oct 16, 2018 6:22 pm

MiPi wrote:
Mon Oct 15, 2018 8:43 am
pokeefe0001: just look at private messages here, I have offered you solution for your specific case, which should solve your problem without need of deleting any metadata.
Thank you. That solution worked I implemented your fix, ran a short test which looked good, and then rescanned the whole library. Everything is displayed correctly.

Thank you.

Post Reply