Creative Zen Sync Problem

Get answers about syncing the current release of MediaMonkey with iPods and other devices.

Moderator: Gurus

Trev1
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 9:10 am

Creative Zen Sync Problem

Post by Trev1 » Wed May 27, 2009 4:50 pm

Hi ,

I just bought a new Creative Zen...how do I get it to sync in Media Monkey??

I have the Zen connected to the PC and the Mediam Monkey sees it at least in My Computer.....
but when I have 'sync selected' turned on and then highlight a track in MM and go Tools/Sync Device/Sync Device I get the message
'The directory F:/XXXX cannot be created'

I then went into tools options d.USBMass1.dll and clicked on `Configure` I then entered the Drive letter F and
gave the device a name (Creative) but still no luck....

Any ideas???

I have not installed any of the software that came with the Creative Zen

I have a classic ipod and had not had a problem syncing that ....
Thanks

Zeke129
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 2:58 pm

Re: Creative Zen Sync Problem

Post by Zeke129 » Wed May 27, 2009 5:18 pm

Can you drag files to the device in Windows?

nynaevelan
Posts: 5559
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 11:07 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: Creative Zen Sync Problem

Post by nynaevelan » Wed May 27, 2009 7:10 pm

The Zen should be using the WDM device type not the USB. I'm sorry I do not know how to change it from USB to MTP mode, but you should be able to do a search to find the info.
3.2x - Win7 Ultimate (Zen Touch 2 16 GB/Zen 8GB)
Link to Favorite Scripts/Skins

Join Dropbox, the online site to share your files

Trev1
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 9:10 am

Re: Creative Zen Sync Problem

Post by Trev1 » Thu May 28, 2009 5:40 pm

nope its not actaully showed up in windows explorer at all........

maybe i need to install some drivers from the installion disc that came with it???

Very dissapointing device to be honest - Its not even straighforward to get songs on it!! ]

So it wont work though USB port? But I dont understansd thats the only way tp connect it my PC ???

If I dont get this work im bringing it back what a piece of crap @@

Zeke129
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 2:58 pm

Re: Creative Zen Sync Problem

Post by Zeke129 » Thu May 28, 2009 8:08 pm

It should show up in explorer. Restart the PC, keeping it connected. I've had this fix problems with flash drives, so it may help with your Zen.

And the Zen is not a piece of crap, take that back. :x

nynaevelan
Posts: 5559
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 11:07 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: Creative Zen Sync Problem

Post by nynaevelan » Fri May 29, 2009 4:32 am

Trev1 wrote:nope its not actaully showed up in windows explorer at all........

maybe i need to install some drivers from the installion disc that came with it???

Very dissapointing device to be honest - Its not even straighforward to get songs on it!! ]

So it wont work though USB port? But I dont understansd thats the only way tp connect it my PC ???

If I dont get this work im bringing it back what a piece of crap @@

Please see this Creative document regarding connection issues if you are using Vista.

Nyn
3.2x - Win7 Ultimate (Zen Touch 2 16 GB/Zen 8GB)
Link to Favorite Scripts/Skins

Join Dropbox, the online site to share your files

chrisjj
Posts: 4933
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 5:14 pm
Location: UK

Re: Creative Zen Sync Problem

Post by chrisjj » Sun May 31, 2009 8:39 am

> Very dissapointing device to be honest - Its not even straighforward to get songs on it!! ]

I find the ZEN an excellent device but getting songs on it using MM is indeed very disappointing. After a year of struggling, the only way I have found to get MM to do this at all reliably is to first format the ZEN each time. See http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =6&t=39965.
Chris

Post Reply