Page 1 of 1

Can I Play directly from an MP3 player

Posted: Mon Jun 22, 2009 9:27 am
by Alchad
Hi again,

Probably a stupid question but...

Normally I just select a track from my music library and sync it either to my Ipod or my wifes MP3 player. The other week I loaded a whole lot (100 best classical tunes!) onto the MP3 player and it's now nearing capacity and so she want to do some editting, but before she edits she'd like to hear a bit of the track. I've just connected up the MP3 player but none of the tracks will play, same goes for the Ipod. So do I first have to scan them to the main MM library? If I do will they show up as separate Ipod and MP3 collections??

Thanks

Alchad

Re: Can I Play directly from an MP3 player

Posted: Mon Jun 22, 2009 2:13 pm
by rovingcowboy
no its not a stupid question.

some portables worked find before in mm 3.0.3 now they dont' work in mm 3.1
so it is a very reasonable question.

just look for the thread of compatiable mp3 players. or compatible devices

that should give you an idea of if yours will work. :-? :)

Re: Can I Play directly from an MP3 player

Posted: Mon Jun 22, 2009 3:34 pm
by sakurakessho
I wouldn't try the ipod touch (running firmware 2.1.1) . Mine kept making MM crash... repeatedly.

Re: Can I Play directly from an MP3 player

Posted: Tue Jun 23, 2009 2:58 am
by Alchad
sakurakessho wrote:I wouldn't try the ipod touch (running firmware 2.1.1) . Mine kept making MM crash... repeatedly.

But that's not the point - MM is supposed to work with the Ipod isn't it??

Alchad

MM won't play from my Ipod

Posted: Tue Jun 23, 2009 3:12 am
by Alchad
Posting again because I'm getting increasing frustrated at the situation and the amount of time I'm wasting trying to sort it.

Basically having completed reformatted my hard disc and reloaded all software and my music, I can now access and play all music via MM (before WMA tracks would just grey out and scroll through as though they were not there).

However I now find that with both the Ipod and a Samsung MP3 player if I try to access them from MM, MM will not play them! Once again MM recognises the Ipod and the MP3 player and shows the tracks, but if you try and play them MM just scrolls through and greys them out. Strangely music on a USB stick DOES play!

Obviously I'm going to ask the tech folk for advice but wanted to post here to see if I'm alone with the problem.

Oh yes, just to be certain, last night I completely removed both Itunes and MM and all there respective libraries etc and reloaded AND reset my Ipod. This morning I loaded a couple of albums onto the Ipod via MM - they are on the Ipod OK, but if I try to play them via MM, as before they just grey out.


Any suggestions

Alchad
PS - Moderators - I posted a similar query yesterday and it got moved to the "sync' board. I DON'T think this is a sync problem.

Re: MM won't play from my Ipod

Posted: Tue Jun 23, 2009 12:21 pm
by Lowlander
It was moved to the device synchronization as it deals with portable devices. You're answer might actually be already available on that subforum.

I also merged it with your other post.

Re: MM won't play from my Ipod

Posted: Tue Jun 23, 2009 7:41 pm
by nohitter151
Alchad wrote:Posting again because I'm getting increasing frustrated at the situation and the amount of time I'm wasting trying to sort it.

Basically having completed reformatted my hard disc and reloaded all software and my music, I can now access and play all music via MM (before WMA tracks would just grey out and scroll through as though they were not there).

However I now find that with both the Ipod and a Samsung MP3 player if I try to access them from MM, MM will not play them! Once again MM recognises the Ipod and the MP3 player and shows the tracks, but if you try and play them MM just scrolls through and greys them out. Strangely music on a USB stick DOES play!

Obviously I'm going to ask the tech folk for advice but wanted to post here to see if I'm alone with the problem.

Oh yes, just to be certain, last night I completely removed both Itunes and MM and all there respective libraries etc and reloaded AND reset my Ipod. This morning I loaded a couple of albums onto the Ipod via MM - they are on the Ipod OK, but if I try to play them via MM, as before they just grey out.


Any suggestions

Alchad
PS - Moderators - I posted a similar query yesterday and it got moved to the "sync' board. I DON'T think this is a sync problem.
There are several posts about playing tracks directly from the iPod in MM already. I know, because I have answered them. The problem is that this is broken in MM3.1 and they are working on it.

Re: Can I Play directly from an MP3 player

Posted: Wed Jun 24, 2009 3:13 am
by Alchad
For the benefit of others, the official reply

Hi,

Yes, this is a known issue with MediaMonkey version 3.1, tracks can no longer be played directly from an iPod/iPhone. It will be fixed in our next release.


Have to say I, VERY unimpressed. I've wasted a lot of time trying to figure out this problem, nor in searching the forum did I found it spelled out anywhere - synching problems are mentioned in a sticky at the top of this forum, but being non techy I don't consider this a sync problem as I CAN copy tracks to my Ipod, it's playing back a problem.

As in all things being open is best, if there is a glitch in the much trumpetted upgrade, MM should let veryone know, not let them waste time.

Alchad

Re: Can I Play directly from an MP3 player

Posted: Wed Jun 24, 2009 3:34 pm
by Billman
This is an interesting thread - I'm using MM 3.1 and have no problem at all playing music directly from my iPod. Maybe because it's a very old 2G iPod.

My problem (that brought me to this thread) is that I can't scan the music on the iPod into my library. I'll keep looking for an answer to that one.

Bill