Syncing an iPad

Get answers about syncing the current release of MediaMonkey with iPods and other devices.

Moderator: Gurus

Syncing an iPad

Postby Mister Fed » Mon Dec 27, 2010 1:14 am

I downloaded MediaMonkey some time ago looking forward to the time I could use it to sync my ipad. This weekend I finally got around to trying. So far it's not working.

Here's what I did. I'm running a Dell Studio XPS laptop with Windows7, 64 bit.

1. I downloaded the latest and greatest: MediaMonkey 3.2.4.1304
2. I downloaded the latest iTunes onto this computer. (My regular install of itunes is on a desktop, but I gathered that maybe I needed itunes and Quicktime on the same computer as MediaMonkey.
3. I followed the settings in iTunes suggested in the MediaMonkey ipod help document (though the latest version of iTunes uses some different terms): I set the preferences to prevent ipads, etc. from syncing automatically, and on the device option set it to manually manage music. (There's no option in the latest iTunes for "enable disk usage").
4. When I load MediaMonkey and go to Tools > Options > Portable/Audio Devices, the iPad is not listed there.

Any suggestions? Thanks.
Mister Fed
 

Re: Syncing an iPad

Postby nohitter151 » Mon Dec 27, 2010 8:13 am

The iPad uses the iPhone plugin. Are you saying that when you plug the ipad in MM doesn't detect it?
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.
nohitter151
 
Posts: 22944
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA

Re: Syncing an iPad

Postby misterfd » Mon Dec 27, 2010 11:08 am

nohitter151 wrote:The iPad uses the iPhone plugin. Are you saying that when you plug the ipad in MM doesn't detect it?


Correct.

When I plug in the iPad, it starts MM automatically, and I can access the iPad through ITunes from this computer, so I know it's not just the connection.

But when I go to Tools > Options > Portable/Audio Devices, it just offers a list of plugins with check-boxes, and doesn't list the device. I've tried selecting just the iphone plugin, or just the ipod plugin, and going through the additional configuration instructions for ipods, but nothing happens.
misterfd
 

Re: Syncing an iPad

Postby nohitter151 » Mon Dec 27, 2010 11:10 am

You'll need to capture a debug log of MM starting up, it's the only way to see the reason that your device isn't detected. viewtopic.php?f=7&t=69
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.
nohitter151
 
Posts: 22944
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA

Re: Syncing an iPad

Postby dragos » Sat Feb 05, 2011 3:44 pm

Easiest fix i could find was this:
1.delete all songs in itunes (if any)
2.drag and drop the songs you want synced from mm to ituden
3.sync ipad.
dragos
 


Return to Need Help with Device Synchronization?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 6 guests