MediaMonkey won't detect iPhone

Get answers about syncing the current release of MediaMonkey with iPods and other devices.

Moderator: Gurus

MediaMonkey won't detect iPhone

Postby bscott85 » Tue Feb 01, 2011 4:18 pm

I have:

iPhone 3GS running iOS 4.2.1
Windows 7 Home 64 Bit (On a brand new REFORMAT)
MediaMonkey 3.2.4.1304
do NOT have iTunes installed

MediaMonkey won't detect my iPhone, Windows sees it.

help/ideas?
bscott85
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 4:14 pm

Re: MediaMonkey won't detect iPhone

Postby Lowlander » Tue Feb 01, 2011 4:18 pm

You need to have iTunes installed for iPhone support.
Lowlander
 
Posts: 36544
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm

Re: MediaMonkey won't detect iPhone

Postby bscott85 » Tue Feb 01, 2011 4:21 pm

the whole point of me downloading mediamonkey was so that i DID NOT HAVE TO USE ITUNES

i freaking HATE iTunes

grrrrrrrrrr!
bscott85
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 4:14 pm

Re: MediaMonkey won't detect iPhone

Postby Lowlander » Tue Feb 01, 2011 4:22 pm

You don't have to use it. It just needs to be installed as some of it's components are required to connect to the iPhone.
Lowlander
 
Posts: 36544
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm

Re: MediaMonkey won't detect iPhone

Postby bscott85 » Tue Feb 01, 2011 4:25 pm

i dont even want it installed

because then it install quicktime
apple software updater
bonjour
creates a crap ton of random folders in my music folder and other places

its perhaps the biggest bloated pos software ive ever seen

oh well forget it im getting an android phone as soon as my ETF comes down to a reasonable price
bscott85
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 4:14 pm

Re: MediaMonkey won't detect iPhone

Postby bscott85 » Tue Feb 01, 2011 4:26 pm

theres no other way to get those "components" ?
bscott85
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 4:14 pm

Re: MediaMonkey won't detect iPhone

Postby Paul J R » Wed Feb 02, 2011 10:04 pm

I saw on the Media Monkey Wiki Page / Guide to iPod Synch that you can install "Copy Trans Drivers" to avoid having to install iTunes.

I would like to use Media Monkey to sync my iPod Touch, but would like to avoid installing iTunes. So I tried to install the "Copy Trans Drivers" using the link provided. It seemed to install and had me reboot my computer. But when I tried to sync my iPod with Media Monkey, it said that "No active device was detected."

Any idea why this didn't work? Anything else that can be done to synch an iPod Touch without having to install iTunes?

Thanks, Paul
Paul J R
 

Re: MediaMonkey won't detect iPhone

Postby Dirac » Sun Feb 27, 2011 2:48 pm

I cannot get this to work either. Windows 7 64-bit, MediaMonkey 3.2.4, no iTunes, CopyTransDrivers installation.

My 4G iPod shuffle works, and my iPhone worked when I had iTunes installed. Does this not work with 64-bit Windows?

EDIT: Some additional information: my iPhone shows up under Devices and Printers in the "Unspecified" category, as "Apple Mobile Device USB Driver", and "Apple iPhone" also shows up under "Devices" with the camera icon. When iTunes was installed, I could see the iPhone and what I had named it, not just these generic devices.

Also forgot, iPhone 3G v. 3.1.3.
Dirac
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 12:02 pm

Re: MediaMonkey won't detect iPhone

Postby Peke » Sun Feb 27, 2011 8:42 pm

@Dirac
Reason for that is that iTunes is also used to authorize iPhone to be used on PC :( it looks that simply installing drivers is half way to making it work.

I'm not sure but I'm guessing that authorizing also involves ability to play DRM files on the iPhone or something like that.
Best regards,
Pavle
MM Core Developer and Fan (PLEASE DONATE HAPPYMONKEYING Site)
Image
Image
Peke
 
Posts: 8143
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia

Re: MediaMonkey won't detect iPhone

Postby FennecFoxz » Mon Feb 28, 2011 2:59 pm

Hey guys, got a 4G iPod Touch yesterday and I ran into the same problem, I found out that the MM4.0 alpha (which u may download in the forum as well) CAN detect the device, whoever, there's no playback or option to change the Album artwork at all
Wonder why is this happening, I had always used MM for it's reliability when dealing with album covers and tags, I'm kinda surprised that it doesn't work with these devices. Guess we'll have to stick with lousy iTunes for now.
FennecFoxz
 

Re: MediaMonkey won't detect iPhone

Postby Dirac » Mon Feb 28, 2011 9:46 pm

Good to hear the iPhone/iPod Touch limitation might not be a permanent issue!
Dirac
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 12:02 pm

Re: MediaMonkey won't detect iPhone

Postby Jerryyyyy » Mon Feb 28, 2011 10:40 pm

HI, I just downloaded those non iTunes Apple drivers, but MediaMonkey still cannot see my newly purchased on eBay iPod. It sees it as a USB mass storage device. Windows wants to reformat the disk. Is there any hope? I do not want to install iTunes for the reasons so well outlined above starting with Bloated POS....
Jerryyyyy
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2009 10:09 am

Re: MediaMonkey won't detect iPhone

Postby nohitter151 » Tue Mar 01, 2011 8:53 am

Jerryyyyy wrote:HI, I just downloaded those non iTunes Apple drivers, but MediaMonkey still cannot see my newly purchased on eBay iPod. It sees it as a USB mass storage device. Windows wants to reformat the disk. Is there any hope? I do not want to install iTunes for the reasons so well outlined above starting with Bloated POS....

Just install iTunes, have it repair the iPod, and then uninstall it. Really, what's the big deal?
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.
nohitter151
 
Posts: 22891
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA

Re: MediaMonkey won't detect iPhone

Postby Peke » Tue Mar 01, 2011 9:38 pm

If you have Windows Ultimate or any other Virtual Machine software try it there and see what happened. You maybe got Jail broken iPhone not detectable in MM, also Verizon iPhones made few issues we have finally located See MM 3.2.5.1305 viewtopic.php?p=289485#p289485

MM can't repair iPhone corruption or initialize device. Only iTunes is authorized to do that :(
Best regards,
Pavle
MM Core Developer and Fan (PLEASE DONATE HAPPYMONKEYING Site)
Image
Image
Peke
 
Posts: 8143
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia

Re: MediaMonkey won't detect iPhone

Postby rocket_pc » Thu Mar 03, 2011 1:56 am

I've got the same problem. MM/Windows won't detect my jailbroken iPod touch 32GB (3rd Generation). And I also, am opposed to installing itunes and its garbage software on my computer as a solution. Installing it and uninstalling the software is not a good solution, as I believe that damages registry in the computer.

Don
rocket_pc
 

Next

Return to Need Help with Device Synchronization?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests