WScript object not available when runing autostart script

This forum is for questions / discussions regarding development of addons / tweaks for MediaMonkey.

Moderator: Gurus

Dirk Braun
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2005 10:54 am

WScript object not available when runing autostart script

Post by Dirk Braun » Sun Nov 13, 2005 11:01 am

Hi there,

I have encountered a problem wiht my startup script in MM.
It seems that the object for WScript is not available. I get a
error message that object WScript is not known.

After searching in this forum I only found some unprecise statement saying: "I think that there is some little thing like reintit wscript variable or something."

Can anyone help me with this?

How can I make WScript object available in MM startup scripts?

Thanks,
Dirk

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14153
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Post by rovingcowboy » Mon Nov 14, 2005 1:16 am

this sounds like you can not use winscripts on your computer because you have that option turned off.

just where to turn it on at i can not remember but it is some place in the internet options either security or advanced tabs, i think it is there?

some one else might know for sure so keep looking for your answer here.

or go to http://help.lockergnome.com
and ask in that forum " how to turn on the use of windows scripting "

you will get lots of answers there because there is about 8 times the number of members in that forum, as there are in this forum.
8)
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. Proscan tablet Android 4.3 ) 7. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

onkel_enno
Posts: 2146
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 1:45 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by onkel_enno » Mon Nov 14, 2005 2:09 am

@Dirk
What do you want to do with WScript exactly?
You'll have to use s.th. like

Code: Select all

Set WShell = CreateObject("WScript.Shell")
SansaMonkey - for SanDisk Sansa and Rockbox Users

Please no PMs for Questions which should be asked in the Forum. Thx

psyXonova
Posts: 785
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 3:57 am
Location: Nicosia, Cyprus
Contact:

Post by psyXonova » Mon Nov 14, 2005 5:24 am

Yes, as Onkel said this is the only WScript method available inside MMscripts.
You can use the Shell.Open or activate commands but not much else. If you wnat to use features like sleep etc, you should run them on an external vbs file which you will launch from the MMScript

Dirk Braun
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2005 10:54 am

Post by Dirk Braun » Sun Nov 20, 2005 1:31 pm

well,

in that case, :roll: , to allow full wsh support, can someone give me an
example on how to call a subroutine or function in another VBScript file from a MM startup script file?

I tried it the following way:

Code: Select all

Set WShell = CreateObject("WScript.Shell")
Set  CallScript  = WShell.exec ("wscript /E:VBScript " & Chr(34) & "C:\myscript.vbs" & Chr(34))
and got an error message saying my file wouldn't be a script file. Though it is a VBScript file and just contains a WScript.Echo statement to test this out. Executing exaclty the same call in Windows CLI shell:

Code: Select all

wscript /E:VBScript "C:\myscript.vbs"
works fine.

Not even talking about possible function / subroutine calls towards the VBScript file - probably using ".arguments" method? :cry:

Any enlightening is most welcome :wink:

Peke
Posts: 11056
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Post by Peke » Sun Nov 20, 2005 5:43 pm

OK here what some users and me found out few months ago:
'MM script executes Script.vbs'

Code: Select all

'==========================================================================
'
' NAME: Test VBScript Execution On MM Start
'
' AUTHOR: Peke
' DATE  : 13.04.2005
'
' COMMENT: Example How To Execute VBScript within MM Script
'
'==========================================================================

Sub OnStartup
  'make variables
  Dim WShell, Command, Result
  
  'Create Shell Object
  Set WShell = CreateObject("WScript.Shell")
'--------------------------------------------------------------------------
  'Set Shell command to execute first Script
  Command = Chr(34)&"Script1.vbs"&Chr(34)
  
  'Execute first script and report execution code in Result
  Result = WShell.Run(Command, 1, 1)
'--------------------------------------------------------------------------
  
  'If needed use Result to see if script is executed corectly
  'in case result is 0 all went OK
  
'--------------------------------------------------------------------------
  'Set Shell command to execute second Script
  Command = Chr(34)&"Script2.vbs"&Chr(34)

  'Execute second script and report execution code in Result
  Result = WShell.Run(Command, 1, 1)
'--------------------------------------------------------------------------
  
  'If needed use Result to see if script is executed corectly
  'in case result is 0 all went OK
  
End Sub
OK Put this script into MM auto Folder and it will be executed on MM startup. You can do what ever you want if you combine MM UI to assign script execution on desired command but basics are here. You can use arguments or whatever in starting script.

And Script1.vbs and script2.vbs looks Similar to this one:

Code: Select all

'==========================================================================
'
' NAME: Example Script
'
' AUTHOR: Peke
' DATE  : 13.04.2005
'
' COMMENT: This example inits basic MM Variable Needed or any external 
'          VBScript executed outside MM(Command shell, Windows Explorer)
'          or within script as separate script.
'
' WARNING: MediaMonkey Needs to be started prior to execution of Script
'          if script is executed from Windows Explorer or command shell
'
'==========================================================================

'---< DO NOT DELETE THESE LINES FROM SCRIPT >------------------------------
'Define MM Default variable used within MM Scripting Language
Dim SDB

'Create Inits MM Object and Scripting Language
Set SDB = CreateObject( "SongsDB.SDBApplication")

'Set MM to Stay Started after Script execution
SDB.ShutdownAfterDisconnect = False

'---< DO NOT DELETE THESE LINES FROM SCRIPT >------------------------------
'---< Write Your own script below this line >------------------------------

'In This Script we will instruct MediaMonkey to skip to next track just for 
'example instead of whole script you will write
SDB.Player.Next
I hope I have cleard something.

P.S. For command line and use of .arguments it will look like this:
Command = Chr(34)&"Script1.vbs"&Chr(34)&Chr(32)&Chr(34)"My Function"&Chr(34)
Best regards,
Pavle
MM Core Developer and Admin of free MediaMonkey extensions Hosting
Image
Image
How to add Images to forum

Dirk Braun
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2005 10:54 am

Post by Dirk Braun » Mon Nov 21, 2005 3:54 pm

Hi Peke,

thank you, I think this is exactly what I was looking for.

I'll try it out soon,

Ciao

Peke
Posts: 11056
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Post by Peke » Mon Nov 21, 2005 4:42 pm

No problem, and welcome to community.
I know that we will see some interesting scripts from you.
Best regards,
Pavle
MM Core Developer and Admin of free MediaMonkey extensions Hosting
Image
Image
How to add Images to forum

chrisjj
Posts: 4926
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 5:14 pm
Location: UK

Re:

Post by chrisjj » Sat Oct 22, 2016 7:44 am

11 years on... :)
'MM script executes Script.vbs'
I find on a portable install (EDIT: On Windows 7 64-bit) this failed with:

Image

and

Image

and (unrecognised vbscript error number)

Image

But with script1.vbs and script2.vbs content replaced by:

Code: Select all

MsgBox "hello"
it worked. Thanks.

I'd be interested to know how

Code: Select all

Command = Chr(34)&"Script1.vbs"&Chr(34)
is better than the more normal

Code: Select all

Command = """Script1.vbs"""
.
Chris

monkey hi fi

Re: WScript object not available when runing autostart scrip

Post by monkey hi fi » Sun Oct 23, 2016 11:47 pm

Might be something windows 10 related. I'm not sure though as I still have win 7. :D

Rovingcowboy /Keith hall /monkey hi fi

chrisjj
Posts: 4926
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 5:14 pm
Location: UK

Re: WScript object not available when runing autostart scrip

Post by chrisjj » Mon Oct 24, 2016 5:11 am

monkey hi fi wrote:Might be something windows 10 related.
Those results were on Windows 7 64-bit.
Chris

Post Reply