Create Playlist With Songs from Text File

This forum is for questions / discussions regarding development of addons / tweaks for MediaMonkey for Windows 4.

Moderators: Gurus, Addon Administrators

vbphil

Create Playlist With Songs from Text File

Post by vbphil »

I'm struggling with how to create a MM Playlist from a vb script. I'm not a complete newbie to MM scripting but haven't figured out all of the MM Automation object scripting techniques.

I'm loading comma delimited song data into a Dictionary object from a text file. The data is; title, artist, album, *mp3 file name.
As in; "A.D. 1928,Styx,Paradise Theatre,P:\Music\A.D. 1928.mp3". The path to the mp3 file is from another PC and is not where it is stored in the MM Library but the file name should be correct.

The text file is created on another PC from an iTunes Genius playlist of songs that were copied from my MM library PC to this iTunes PC. So I know the songs do exists in my MM library.

So, the job of my script is to create a new Playlist in MM from the song names loaded from the text file. How do I create the playlist and then add the song names? I don't need a complete script here just how to create the playlist and then add a song to it from the MM Library given the song title, artist, album and mp3 file name.

Thanks, -phil
Last edited by Lowlander on Fri Sep 21, 2012 11:57 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Moved to correct Forum
Lowlander

Re: Create Playlist With Songs from Text File

Post by Lowlander »

vbphil

Post by vbphil »

I still haven't discovered how to create a new playlist in MM from script. However, as a workaround to get me going I just create the playlist manually and then run my script to add the tracks.