Can I programmatically run Auto-Organize

This forum is for questions / discussions regarding development of addons / tweaks for MediaMonkey.

Moderator: Gurus

Scottes
Posts: 139
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2009 6:51 am

Can I programmatically run Auto-Organize

Post by Scottes » Sat Dec 26, 2015 5:41 pm

I'm writing a program which will check a song's SongPath and compare it to what it should be.

The simplest idea is to identify songs that I forgot to auto-organize manually. However, this program will also be making changes, like converting case in certain words or move "feat. blah blah" from the Artist to the SongTitle. In any of these cases, running Auto-Organize will be necessary.

The question is: Can I have my program automatically call MediaMonkey's Auto-Organize routine on the songs it identifies?

If not I will do something like modify Custom3 and then filter those songs and run Auto-Organize. But it would be nice if it could be run automatically.
MonkeyMatch - Find and fix similar/incorrect spellings
MonkeyMatch Thread

Lowlander
Posts: 44276
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Can I programmatically run Auto-Organize

Post by Lowlander » Mon Dec 28, 2015 12:44 pm

Auto-Organize will already run automatically when changes are made to the tags.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Scottes
Posts: 139
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2009 6:51 am

Re: Can I programmatically run Auto-Organize

Post by Scottes » Mon Dec 28, 2015 2:56 pm

Lowlander wrote:Auto-Organize will already run automatically when changes are made to the tags.
This is not true on my system, since I do not have this setting enabled (Tools... Options... Library... Auto-Organize).

However, this gives me another option - can I programmatically enable/disable this option in my program?
MonkeyMatch - Find and fix similar/incorrect spellings
MonkeyMatch Thread

rivorson
Posts: 557
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 4:17 am

Re: Can I programmatically run Auto-Organize

Post by rivorson » Mon Dec 28, 2015 3:15 pm

I do have auto organize enabled but it seems to only move the files after the script has finished. Either that or the SongData object isn't updated with the new file path. Either way I can't seem to get the new file path while the script is still running.

Post Reply