New *basic* Script to insert fake plays from iPod

Download and get help for different MediaMonkey Addons.

Moderators: Peke, Gurus

Christoph
Posts: 236
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 12:43 pm

Post by Christoph » Fri Mar 28, 2008 2:40 pm

Fine. :)

I decieded to make this the default behaviour because then everyone can first check which songs would be edited before applying all changes. So possible errors could be minimized.

alexdodd
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 6:51 am
Location: Edinburgh/Liverpool

Post by alexdodd » Sat May 10, 2008 7:31 pm

Wow, just found this, and its basically what i'm after! Does this have to be manually run, everytime i plug my iPod in?

Christoph
Posts: 236
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 12:43 pm

Post by Christoph » Sun May 11, 2008 3:35 am

Yes, you first have to set the appropiate play counters (with another script) and then run this script to create the missing plays. I'm currently working on a new version.

alexdodd
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 6:51 am
Location: Edinburgh/Liverpool

Post by alexdodd » Sun May 11, 2008 7:56 am

I was thinking, to make this accurate, is it possible to modify the plays on the ipod. Setting them all to zero, and then when the iPod is next check (when the script is setting everything to zero again) the tallied plays are added to the current plays in the computer library? This all hangs round the fact you can edit the iPod (or portable player) plays easily...

Christoph
Posts: 236
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 12:43 pm

Post by Christoph » Sun May 11, 2008 2:06 pm

Hey,
sry, I don't have an iPod. Maybe some owner can post whether there is a possibility to set these options.
Because I'm listening to whole albums I can add these fake playbacks easy when working on the computer.

Christoph

jisan
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 10:32 pm

Error during execution

Post by jisan » Wed May 28, 2008 7:41 am

Im getting following error while running the script. Seems something wrong with database connection.

There was problem querying the database:
42000: [microsoft] [ODBc Microsoft Access driver] Syntax error in CREATE TABLE statement.

Upon clicking Ok, it throws another error.

Error #-2147418113 - SongsDB.SDBDatabase
42000: [Microsoft] [ODBC Microsoft Access Driver] Syntax error in CREATE TABLE statement.
File: "C:\program Files\MediaMonkey\Scripts\fakePlays.vbs, Line: 47, Column: 3


I looked at the code and checked that it requires table in db. so i created table.

The new error that im getting is:

Error #438 - Microsoft V8Script runbme error
Object doesn’t support this property or method: 'sDB.Database.BeginTransacbon’
File: C: program Fileswv1ediaMonkeyycripts’fakePlays.vbs, Line: 70, Column: 3


Any idea? is it something wrong with Database drivers?

Jisan

Christoph
Posts: 236
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 12:43 pm

Post by Christoph » Wed May 28, 2008 7:54 am

Hey,
it seems that you're using MM 2.x. And it seems that the script doesn't work without some modifications. But I don't have MM 2.x to test. And I don't know whether fixing this SQL issues would be enough.

Sry,
Christoph

jisan
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 10:32 pm

Post by jisan » Wed May 28, 2008 11:39 pm

Thanks for the feedback. Yes, im using 2.5 :(

Benn
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 11:59 am
Location: Cornwall, United Kingdom

Re: New *basic* Script to insert fake plays from iPod

Post by Benn » Thu Jul 31, 2008 1:23 pm

This is a great idea. Could you tell me if the code on the first page is the best working one? I noticed there have been a few modifiactions since. Even better, how about an .mmip file? :P Just me being cheeky, but thanks for a great script :D

Christoph
Posts: 236
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 12:43 pm

Re: New *basic* Script to insert fake plays from iPod

Post by Christoph » Thu Jul 31, 2008 1:40 pm

Hey,
just check out my new app that has more advanced features for this issue:
http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=29514

For lack of time the next version is still not finished.

Christoph

Benn
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 11:59 am
Location: Cornwall, United Kingdom

Re: New *basic* Script to insert fake plays from iPod

Post by Benn » Thu Sep 25, 2008 4:25 am

Hi Christoph, I've been trying to use this script (I also tried your MM helper App, but prefer the simpleness of this) but nothing seems to be happening. the Fake plays log file says it its doing something to the tracks, normally: "Insert 1 fake plays: D:\My Music\Haste The Day\When Everything Falls\08 This Time It's Real.mp3(8507)" but theres no new timestamp added at all. Any ideas? I have been using your most recent script you posted (Ver 1.3.2 (16 Mar 2008)).

Thank you for any help,

Benn

brianon
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 4:48 am

Re: New *basic* Script to insert fake plays from iPod

Post by brianon » Thu Sep 25, 2008 5:04 am

Actually I noticed that myself but forgot to mention.
Image

Benn
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 11:59 am
Location: Cornwall, United Kingdom

Re: New *basic* Script to insert fake plays from iPod

Post by Benn » Thu Sep 25, 2008 5:41 am

So Brianon would you recommend using your original version of the script? I don't know what the difference is. I'm on Vista using MM3...1183 at the minute.

Christoph
Posts: 236
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 12:43 pm

Re: New *basic* Script to insert fake plays from iPod

Post by Christoph » Fri Sep 26, 2008 5:07 am

Hey Benn,
I think you activated the simulation mode. Then the script doesn't create any plays.
Checkout line 31. It should be commented:

Code: Select all

'	simu=True 'Activate this for report generation
Christoph

Benn
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 11:59 am
Location: Cornwall, United Kingdom

Re: New *basic* Script to insert fake plays from iPod

Post by Benn » Fri Sep 26, 2008 6:07 am

That's what it already says. I'll have a fiddle and get back to you.

Post Reply