MegaDJ v2.59 [MM3+4] 2012: Better compatibility + time fix

Download and get help for different MediaMonkey Addons.

Moderators: Peke, Gurus

Re: Launch of MegaDJ v2

Postby m1abrams » Wed Nov 19, 2008 9:45 am

Is their anyway to use the playlists created with MegaDJ to be in the auto-sync for an iPod?
m1abrams
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 9:43 pm

Re: Launch of MegaDJ v2

Postby Ashran » Wed Nov 19, 2008 3:40 pm

Sounds like fun, It would be helpful if it worked :) I keep getting error 1005 whatever I do... Maybe I did something wrong during install or there is a step I forgot ?
Ashran
 

Re: Launch of MegaDJ v2

Postby twinbee » Wed Nov 19, 2008 10:09 pm

Hi m1abrams,
I think you may be able to simply select all tracks (Ctrl A), and then use the "Send to -> Synchronize..." menu (using RMB). But then I don't think that's auto really (?). Despite having a Zen Stone myself, I haven't got much into the sync side of things. Would you be just looking to mirror whatever tracks are in the node, on to the iPod? (and not the other way around).

Hi Ashran, this error actually translates to "The database file is locked". Unfortunately, it's not too easy to force MM to even allow read access to the database sometimes. A couple of things to try:

1: Press F4 to see if that helps
2: Try reloading the database by right clicking on the main MegaDJ node, and then selecting "MegaDJ Reload Database".

Are you using Auto-Organize by any chance? That may prevent MegaDJ accessing the DB in some situations.

For the next version of MegaDJ, this whole database access thing will be fixed (even if it means making it slightly slower than it is now).
MegaDJ v2 - Lightning fast and easy to use search to replace the standard AutoPlaylist. Features include random jukebox style playlists, along with syncing, weighting options, and logic complete querying.
twinbee
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:36 am
Location: England

Re: Launch of MegaDJ v2

Postby Ashran » Thu Nov 20, 2008 2:00 am

twinbee wrote:Hi m1abrams,


1: Press F4 to see if that helps
2: Try reloading the database by right clicking on the main MegaDJ node, and then selecting "MegaDJ Reload Database".

Are you using Auto-Organize by any chance? That may prevent MegaDJ accessing the DB in some situations.



I tried both what you proposed. None worked. And yeah I do use auto-organize, can't live without it, too since I have a lot of music :) I'll wait for next version, then...hope it will come soon ;)
Ashran
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 4:10 pm

Re: Launch of MegaDJ v2

Postby m1abrams » Thu Nov 20, 2008 2:04 pm

I am interested in using a MegaDJ node as a source for syncing to my ipod, just like you would use an auto-playlist. Not interested in syncing the ipod back to the pc though.
m1abrams
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 9:43 pm

Re: MegaDJ v2.2 - (2008-11-22-11)

Postby twinbee » Sat Nov 22, 2008 1:51 am

I'm happy to say that both of the above issues have now be resolved. MegaDJ supports syncing (done automatically through a playlist). Also, the 1005 error mentioned above has been fixed (which will enable much better compatibility with Auto-Organize etc.). Download available at usual source:
http://www.skytopia.com/software/megadj/
MegaDJ v2 - Lightning fast and easy to use search to replace the standard AutoPlaylist. Features include random jukebox style playlists, along with syncing, weighting options, and logic complete querying.
twinbee
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:36 am
Location: England

Re: MegaDJ v2.2 - (2008-11-22)

Postby stan9980 » Sat Nov 22, 2008 10:23 am

Hey twinbee,

I keep getting an error with the latest version :( whenever I click on the MDJ node or an MDJ filter:

Error #13 - Microsoft VBSScript runtime error
Type mismatch: 'cInt'
File: "D:\Program Files\MediaMonkey\Scripts\Auto\MegaDJ.vbs", Line 1018, Column 2

followed by...

Error happened during script execution:
Type mismatch: 'cInt'

Anyone else see this?

stan9980
stan9980
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 6:28 am

Re: MegaDJ v2.2 - (2008-11-22)

Postby m1abrams » Sat Nov 22, 2008 2:41 pm

stan9980 wrote:Hey twinbee,

I keep getting an error with the latest version :( whenever I click on the MDJ node or an MDJ filter:

Error #13 - Microsoft VBSScript runtime error
Type mismatch: 'cInt'
File: "D:\Program Files\MediaMonkey\Scripts\Auto\MegaDJ.vbs", Line 1018, Column 2

followed by...

Error happened during script execution:
Type mismatch: 'cInt'

Anyone else see this?

stan9980


I also get this error
m1abrams
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 9:43 pm

Re: MegaDJ v2.2 - (2008-11-22)

Postby bob61 » Sat Nov 22, 2008 2:49 pm

Getting same error as noted above as well.
bob61
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 4:52 pm

Re: MegaDJ v2.2 - (2008-11-22)

Postby twinbee » Sat Nov 22, 2008 3:28 pm

Ooops, bug fixed with a single line of code. Install straight over old version (close Mediamonkey and reopen after install).
MegaDJ v2 - Lightning fast and easy to use search to replace the standard AutoPlaylist. Features include random jukebox style playlists, along with syncing, weighting options, and logic complete querying.
twinbee
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:36 am
Location: England

Re: MegaDJ v2.2 - (2008-11-22)

Postby BigMatty » Thu Nov 27, 2008 3:17 am

Is it possible to do multiple queries one after the other?

Eg: I want to pick 100 random songs, and weight them so that the higher rated ones have a higher chance of getting chosen.
Then from THAT subset, I want to run another query which prefers songs closer to the year 1980.
Then from THAT subset, I want to run another query which prefers songs that haven't been played in a while.

Basically I'm trying to create some really complex queries involving lots of factors, but its hard because one factor seems to outweigh another factor quite easily.

Any ideas?

Thx!
BigMatty
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 8:14 am

Re: MegaDJ v2.2 - (2008-11-22)

Postby twinbee » Thu Nov 27, 2008 4:16 am

Although one can't do exactly as you've said (extract a subset from another subset in that particular way), it's easy to emulate the idea, and it fact make it simpler and more powerful by doing the following (in the math filter):

These represent the three criteria you want:
Code: Select all
1/LastTimePlayed
* 1.5^rating
* 1 / 1.2^(abs(Year-19800000)/10000)

Put brackets around each part like this:
Code: Select all
(1/LastTimePlayed)
* (1.5^rating)
* (1 / 1.2^(abs(Year-19800000)/10000))

Now what one would usually do, is change the '1/', '1.5^', or '1.2^' bits to other numbers. This may not be as intuitive however as doing something pretty clever: Add ^1 after each line. These represent the weights:
Code: Select all
(1/LastTimePlayed) ^1
* (1.5^rating) ^1
* (1 / 1.2^(abs(Year-19800000)/10000)) ^1

Now you're free to change the weights to how you see fit. Using ^0 would mean that part has no effect. Good values could range between say 0.5 and 2 (or maybe between 0.1 and 10 for more extremes). Here's one example:
Code: Select all
(1/LastTimePlayed) ^0.7
* (1.5^rating) ^2
* (1 / 1.2^(abs(Year-19800000)/10000)) ^1

In this case, the first part (recently played) will have less bias (^0.7). The 2nd part (rating priority) will have more bias (^2), and the last won't be changed (^1). Using the ^ symbol (exponentiation) in maths is often an underused but very useful way of getting the numbers out nicely.

Please let me know how you get on with this technique. :)
MegaDJ v2 - Lightning fast and easy to use search to replace the standard AutoPlaylist. Features include random jukebox style playlists, along with syncing, weighting options, and logic complete querying.
twinbee
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:36 am
Location: England

Re: MegaDJ v2.2 - (2008-11-22)

Postby BigMatty » Thu Nov 27, 2008 9:19 pm

Interesting! I will try out the code when I get home. Thanks for the detailed response!
BigMatty
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 8:14 am

Re: MegaDJ v2.2 - (2008-11-22)

Postby BigMatty » Tue Dec 09, 2008 6:42 am

Hey! I forgot to report back - those settings were fantastic, thankyou :)

I think I have found a bug with the 'Occasion' filter though.

Try something like:
Occasion!='Bonus'

It still brings back tracks where the Occasion is set to 'Bonus'.
BigMatty
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 8:14 am

Re: MegaDJ v2.2 - (2008-11-22)

Postby BigMatty » Tue Dec 09, 2008 6:55 am

False alarm!

If you have multiple things in a field, say 'Bonus; Live' then you can't do Occasion!=Bonus.
You need to do Occasion!~Bonus

My bad, sorry :oops:
BigMatty
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 8:14 am

PreviousNext

Return to Need Help with Addons?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 20 guests