Monkey Server 0.97 (2011-04-10) [MM3] w/Squeezebox Support

Download and get help for different MediaMonkey Addons.

Moderators: Peke, Gurus

MediaMan
Posts: 185
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 10:37 am
Location: Canada

Re: Monkey Server Beta 0.90

Post by MediaMan » Tue Aug 25, 2009 10:27 pm

RifRaf wrote:port forwarding is used to send the traffic on port :2233 from your routers LAN IP address to your servers lan IP address, this has nothing to do with the no-ip.org service. An example might be from 10.0.0.1:2233 (Router LAN IP) forwarded to 10.0.0.2:2233 (The internal IP of machine with Monkey Server)

the no-ip.org service is used to redirect traffic to your routers WAN IP or its internet IP address and is not essential for being able to access externally. The no-ip.org service needs to know your external IP address of router to be able to do this. You can then ccess your server using the no-ip.org domain name rather than the Routers WAN IP address. An example might be , your router has external ip of 203.203.23.203 so you could access your machine externally with the address http://203.203.23.203:2233 and if the port forwarding above has been configured you will access your monkey server externally. After setting up a no-ip.org account that redirects to your wan address you could use the addresss http://yourusername.no-ip.org:2233 to access the server externally (no-ip redirects the traffic from yourusername.no-ip.org to 203.203.23.203 for you so you don't need to remember the ip)
This is a great write-up, which I now understand (I think) so thanks for that .

I am tryting to take this one step at a time...forgetting about no-ip for now...what I did was access my router (D-Link DIR-655) via my browser via http://10.0.0.1 (to use your illlustrative example) and under advanced settings, I added an entry for port forwarding using 10.0.0.2 (the internal IP of machine with Monkey Server) specifying port 2233. I rebooted the router (and verfied again the port forwarding was there), but when I enter http://10.0.0.1:2233 in my browser I get nothing( ie bad page) -

what step am I missing??
Windows 7,8 | iTunes 11.2.2.3 | IOS 7.1.2 | MM Gold 4.1.3.1708 | d_itunes4.dll Ver 4.0.4.2438

tgriff9020 (irshjet35)

Re: Monkey Server Beta 0.90

Post by tgriff9020 (irshjet35) » Wed Aug 26, 2009 11:13 am

Does the no-ip software need to be running on the machine that the server is installed on to work? I thought I had it last night, but today am not able to log on from a different location. The only thing different would be that the the no-ip duc isnt running

thanks for any help

tgriff

jednie
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 8:56 am
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: Monkey Server Beta 0.90

Post by jednie » Wed Aug 26, 2009 11:25 am

tgriff9020 (irshjet35) wrote:Does the no-ip software need to be running on the machine that the server is installed on to work? I thought I had it last night, but today am not able to log on from a different location. The only thing different would be that the the no-ip duc isnt running

thanks for any help

tgriff
Yes. It must be running on your server. If your public IP address changes and the software isn't running on your server then the NO-IP servers wouldn't be made aware of the change and your external request might not get through.

jednie

tgriff9020 (irshjet35)

Re: Monkey Server Beta 0.90

Post by tgriff9020 (irshjet35) » Wed Aug 26, 2009 1:17 pm

excellent, this may be the issue. Thanks for your help.

Peke
Posts: 11099
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Monkey Server Beta 0.90

Post by Peke » Wed Aug 26, 2009 9:52 pm

Suggestion, I have zyxel ADSL Modem/Router and have made same settings with Several TP-Link models. Check if device you've got from ISP have support for DynDNS (or similar like NO-IP). That way I do not need to worry about IP changes. Also if IP get changed some it could take 30 min to an hour to get DNS records refreshed.

Check these online IP tools.
Best regards,
Pavle
MM Core Developer and Admin of free MediaMonkey extensions Hosting
Image
Image
How to add Images to forum

MediaMan
Posts: 185
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 10:37 am
Location: Canada

Re: Monkey Server Beta 0.90

Post by MediaMan » Thu Aug 27, 2009 5:01 pm

For those who are successfuly connecting to your database via a REMOTE pc, are you accessing in from within your own LAN??? with a router than has loopback?? .... or are you accessing it from a remote location on the internet?

I suspect the reason I cannot get remote access to work via my web browser, is because my router (DLINK 655) doesn't support loopback and I am attempting to use the WAN IP (with or without the no-ip service) to access the server.

To recap:

From the pc_running_monkey_server, I can locally run the server from a web browser, ie:
-http://pc_running_monkey_server_computername >:2233 or
-http://pc_running_monkey_server__IPaddress :2233

From pc_remote (inside the rounter), I can remotely access the server itself in windows explorer, ie I can access
-\\pc_running_monkey_server_computername or
-\\pc_running_monkey_server__IPaddress
............and I can VNC to the server.

But from pc_remote (inside the router) , I cannnot remotely access the server from a web browser, ie I cannot run
-http://pc_running_monkey_server_computername :2233or
-http://pc_running_monkey_server_IPaddress>:2233 or
-http://pc_running_monkey_server_computername or
-http://pc_running_monkey_server_IPaddress

I have not yet tried it from a remote location, outside my router.

Again, for those who are successfuly connecting to your database via a REMOTE pc, are you accessing in from within your own LAN??? with a router than has loopback?? .... or are you accessing it from a remote location on the internet?
Windows 7,8 | iTunes 11.2.2.3 | IOS 7.1.2 | MM Gold 4.1.3.1708 | d_itunes4.dll Ver 4.0.4.2438

nynaevelan
Posts: 5559
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 11:07 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: Monkey Server Beta 0.90

Post by nynaevelan » Thu Aug 27, 2009 5:15 pm

I do not know what loopback is but I have my router setup to forward the port, one of these days I will figure out how to change from the default port but it is turned off until playlist support is added anyway. I also have the DYNDNS enabled and I have a host through dlink, from a router I had a while back, which I use for my VPN program as well as Monkey Server and I am able to login outside of my network. I have the Linksys 610N router and it was really easy to setup for both programs.

These are the only two screens I had to setup, I kinda feel like the CIA with the blackout sections :lol: :lol:

Image

Image
3.2x - Win7 Ultimate (Zen Touch 2 16 GB/Zen 8GB)
Link to Favorite Scripts/Skins

Join Dropbox, the online site to share your files

MediaMan
Posts: 185
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 10:37 am
Location: Canada

Re: Monkey Server Beta 0.90

Post by MediaMan » Thu Aug 27, 2009 5:50 pm

Re "I am able to login outside of my network" ... understood.... but are you able to login from within the network, ie can you login to the web server from another machine on your network?
Windows 7,8 | iTunes 11.2.2.3 | IOS 7.1.2 | MM Gold 4.1.3.1708 | d_itunes4.dll Ver 4.0.4.2438

nynaevelan
Posts: 5559
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 11:07 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: Monkey Server Beta 0.90

Post by nynaevelan » Thu Aug 27, 2009 6:58 pm

Yes, I can login from inside and outside the network.

Nyn
3.2x - Win7 Ultimate (Zen Touch 2 16 GB/Zen 8GB)
Link to Favorite Scripts/Skins

Join Dropbox, the online site to share your files

RifRaf
Posts: 117
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:51 pm

Re: Monkey Server Beta 0.90

Post by RifRaf » Fri Aug 28, 2009 12:18 am

if you are accessing the server from within your LAN then there is no reason to even think of no-ip.org etc, just access it by the computers lan ip address:2233 or computername:2233

if accessing from outside you lan (on the other side of your router, then access it by the routers external ip address:2233 or if you setup a no-ip.org domain then by username.no-ip.org:2233

if accessing from outside your lan you need to tell the router to forward port 2233 to the machine running monkeyserver to be able to access from the outside.

i could see these networking questions arising the first time i saw monkeyserver posted in forum and i guess we are going to have to deal with the people trying to setup a network for the first time but really a bit of googling will not go astray, eg google for , setup port forwarding on your router name should take you to relevant sites for your modem, or ring up the modem manufacturure for support or look on there website, these are not really difficult things but as every router is different its impossible to provide instructions for every setup, your admin person or tech support will have no issues setting it up for you

edit: why not forget all about no-ip.org for now until you get access via your external ip address first.
also remember you are opening up possible security issues, especially if you do not know wat you are doing, so maybe leave it to a friend etc to help you that has done it before, these same things have to be done for things like gaming, remote access , email and web servers all the time and thats why i think its out of the scope of the author to deal with the networking issues as the server works fine and its not a monkey server issue, i can access fine from anywhere, outside or inside lan.

an issue though, mm is crashing when it tries to play songs from monkey server that have non standard characters in the names or filepath. These files have ? marks on the monkey server page in place of the real characters. the files just get skipped sometimes so normally remove inaccessible tracks from playlist to prevent the crash

MediaMan
Posts: 185
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 10:37 am
Location: Canada

Re: Monkey Server Beta 0.90

Post by MediaMan » Fri Aug 28, 2009 3:15 am

RifRaf wrote:if you are accessing the server from within your LAN then there is no reason to even think of no-ip.org etc, just access it by the computers lan ip address:2233 or computername:2233
Agree completely. Ihats were I am stuck..per note above:

YES, I can I can locally run the server from a web browser, ie:
-http://pc_running_monkey_server_computername >:2233 or
-http://pc_running_monkey_server__IPaddress :2233

HOWEVER, when I try to run it from pc_remote (any another machne inside the router) , I cannnot remotely access the server from a web browser, ie I cannot run
-http://pc_running_monkey_server_computername :2233or
-http://pc_running_monkey_server_IPaddress>:2233 or
-http://pc_running_monkey_server_computername or
-http://pc_running_monkey_server_IPaddress

I assume others are saying they can do this - correct?
Windows 7,8 | iTunes 11.2.2.3 | IOS 7.1.2 | MM Gold 4.1.3.1708 | d_itunes4.dll Ver 4.0.4.2438

RifRaf
Posts: 117
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:51 pm

Re: Monkey Server Beta 0.90

Post by RifRaf » Fri Aug 28, 2009 3:47 am

yes correct LanIpAddress:2233 or ComputerName:2233 from inside the network should work. If not try disable any firewall software etc as this may be blocking other computers.

jednie
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 8:56 am
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: Monkey Server Beta 0.90

Post by jednie » Fri Aug 28, 2009 5:48 am

RifRaf wrote: an issue though, mm is crashing when it tries to play songs from monkey server that have non standard characters in the names or filepath. These files have ? marks on the monkey server page in place of the real characters. the files just get skipped sometimes so normally remove inaccessible tracks from playlist to prevent the crash
RifRaf,

This should be fixed in the latest version. Let me know if you continue to have problems.

jednie

MediaMan
Posts: 185
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 10:37 am
Location: Canada

Re: Monkey Server Beta 0.90

Post by MediaMan » Fri Aug 28, 2009 6:58 am

RifRaf wrote:yes correct LanIpAddress:2233 or ComputerName:2233 from inside the network should work. If not try disable any firewall software etc as this may be blocking other computers.
I can get to the computer (rg via windowa explorer)....I just cant get to it via a browser....perhaps its an Internet Explorer setting ( vs a firewall setting).
Windows 7,8 | iTunes 11.2.2.3 | IOS 7.1.2 | MM Gold 4.1.3.1708 | d_itunes4.dll Ver 4.0.4.2438

MediaMan
Posts: 185
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 10:37 am
Location: Canada

Re: Monkey Server Beta 0.91 (2009-08-28) [MM3]

Post by MediaMan » Fri Aug 28, 2009 7:14 am

Suggestion

Change the left hand labels into links, ie

Artist
Album
Song
Genre


  • Clicking on the Artist link would display a generic Artist cloud , ie ABC DEF GHI JKL MNO PQR STU VWXYZ 0-9
  • Clicking on the Album link would display a generic Album cloud , ie ABC DEF GHI JKL MNO PQR STU VWXYZ 0-9
  • Clicking on the Song link would display a generic Song cloud , ie ABC DEF GHI JKL MNO PQR STU VWXYZ 0-9
  • Clicking on the Genre link would display the genre cloud as you have now ( and would be the same as clicking the Monkey Server as Genre is the current default)
Windows 7,8 | iTunes 11.2.2.3 | IOS 7.1.2 | MM Gold 4.1.3.1708 | d_itunes4.dll Ver 4.0.4.2438

Post Reply