BPM not being interpreted correctly (Magic Nodes)

Download and get help for different MediaMonkey Addons.

Moderators: Peke, Gurus

ohneland
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 11:11 am

Re: BPM not being interpreted correctly (Magic Nodes)

Post by ohneland » Sat Aug 11, 2012 2:58 pm

Ok, I installed the programme MixMeister BPM Analyser and realised that I could not save the value to tag. But I swear that some years ago I did it with this software. I don't remember how though.
ohneland

Win 10
Logitech Media Server on a Synology NAS with diff. players
Moto G on LOS 14 [LG Optimus One; Nokia Lumia 620]
MM 4, MP3Tag, EAC, Musicbee, [Songbird]
[Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1 5110; Sansa ClipZip]

ohneland
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 11:11 am

Re: BPM not being interpreted correctly (Magic Nodes)

Post by ohneland » Thu Aug 09, 2012 8:04 am

ohneland

Win 10
Logitech Media Server on a Synology NAS with diff. players
Moto G on LOS 14 [LG Optimus One; Nokia Lumia 620]
MM 4, MP3Tag, EAC, Musicbee, [Songbird]
[Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1 5110; Sansa ClipZip]

MusicBringer
Posts: 622
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 12:53 pm

Re: BPM not being interpreted correctly (Magic Nodes)

Post by MusicBringer » Sun Feb 19, 2012 10:31 am

@Guest, there an MM field called BPM that can be added as a column to your view.
However to display any results it must first be populated with BPM data - now from where do you obtain reliable BPM data....

I would love all my tracks to have a BPM record and be able to play playlists according to the tempo. I wish :roll:
MediaMonkey user since 2006

Guest

Re: BPM not being interpreted correctly (Magic Nodes)

Post by Guest » Sun Feb 19, 2012 9:13 am

turbo88 wrote:hi , as i said in another of my posts, im new here :P so i dont understand much of mm specially scripts. If i understood correctly this script that is being proposed on this thread reads your whole music database, and inputs a tempo number acording to the "speed" of the track right? you can then organize making playllist for taking a nap, chilling in your couch, or even for the gym right? if thats so, then thats exactly what im looking for therefore im asking , how to do it :P

where do i paste the script, what do i need to execute , can any1 explain for dummies?? ill be extremely thankful it'd be a dream to create playlists including every single track that i posses, in an organize way.
I know it's an old thread, but has anyone found a way to add beats per minute into the media monkey screen please?

turbo88
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2010 5:28 pm

Re: BPM not being interpreted correctly (Magic Nodes)

Post by turbo88 » Mon Mar 01, 2010 12:03 pm

hi , as i said in another of my posts, im new here :P so i dont understand much of mm specially scripts. If i understood correctly this script that is being proposed on this thread reads your whole music database, and inputs a tempo number acording to the "speed" of the track right? you can then organize making playllist for taking a nap, chilling in your couch, or even for the gym right? if thats so, then thats exactly what im looking for therefore im asking , how to do it :P

where do i paste the script, what do i need to execute , can any1 explain for dummies?? ill be extremely thankful it'd be a dream to create playlists including every single track that i posses, in an organize way.

bouyancy
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 4:13 pm

Re: BPM not being interpreted correctly (Magic Nodes)

Post by bouyancy » Wed Sep 23, 2009 8:41 pm

paulandreas wrote:hey, Kilowatt I get an error trying to run your script.

I am by no means an expert in scripts, that's why I ask here :)

The error reads:
"Error #500 - Microsoft VBScript Runtime error
Variable is undefined: 'i'
File: "C:\Program files\Mediamonkey\Scripts\Auto\Temposetter.vbs",line: 18, Column: 6
"
Do you have any solution to this?

You need to add i to the end of the define variables section like this

Code: Select all

' Define variables
  Dim list, itm, i

paulandreas
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 5:17 am

Re: BPM not being interpreted correctly (Magic Nodes)

Post by paulandreas » Mon Aug 17, 2009 5:39 am

hey, Kilowatt

I get an error trying to run your script.

I am by no means an expert in scripts, that's why I ask here :)

The error reads:
"Error #500 - Microsoft VBScript Runtime error
Variable is undefined: 'i'
File: "C:\Program files\Mediamonkey\Scripts\Auto\Temposetter.vbs",line: 18, Column: 6
"
Do you have any solution to this?

Kilowatt
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 4:06 pm

Re: BPM not being interpreted correctly (Magic Nodes)

Post by Kilowatt » Tue Jul 21, 2009 4:13 pm

Hi,

after reading your Post on my search for some Script to make Tempo-Tags from BMPs i found nothing to work with the new MediaMonkey Version.

I took some Ideas from other Scripts and here is my result :

Code: Select all

Option Explicit

Sub SetTempo
REM "Very Slow" for BPM between 0 and 56
REM "Slow" for BPM between 57 and 82
REM "Moderate" for BPM between 83 and 145
REM "Fast" for BPM between 146 and 200
REM "Very Fast" for BPM > 200
End Sub

  ' Define variables
  Dim list, itm 

  ' Get list of selected tracks from MediaMonkey
  Set list = SDB.CurrentSongList

  ' Process all selected tracks
  For i=0 To list.count-1
    Set itm = list.Item(i)

    ' Check the BPM and set Tempo
    If (itm.BPM < 40) Then itm.Tempo ="Sehr Langsam"
    If (itm.BPM >= 40) and (itm.BPM < 82) Then itm.Tempo ="Langsam"
    If (itm.BPM >= 83) and (itm.BPM < 145) Then itm.Tempo ="Moderat"
    If (itm.BPM >= 145) and (itm.BPM < 200) Then itm.Tempo ="Schnell"
    If (itm.BPM >= 200) Then itm.Tempo ="Sehr Schnell"
    ' Clear the other Tags if you want    
    ' itm.Quality = ""
    ' itm.mood = ""
    ' itm.occasion = ""
  Next
  ' Write all back to DB and update tags
  list.UpdateAll
Maybe somebody can use the Script. I tried it today with all my MP3s. It took some time, but worked :-)

Greetings,

Kilowatt

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14153
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Re: BPM not being interpreted correctly (Magic Nodes)

Post by rovingcowboy » Thu Jan 29, 2009 4:38 pm

audacity has a beat finder feature just import your ogg mp3 or wav in to it like your going to edit it.

select all and then use the beat finder in it to find the beat for the one song. write it down on notepad if you don't want to add it to the song. then just close the song with out saving anything it does not do anything to the file you import from. so you still have the same quality of mp3 or ogg or wav you had before but now you know the beat per minute for it.

just one song at a time is a bummer. still you could find the beat for a style of song, and then use that script in the script forum that is for setting the bpm and the one setting the tempo, the ones i re modded to work on my 98. then you will be able to select all the songs of the same style you know the beat for, and set them all to the same one with that script.

not a fully automatic way of doing it but it will be faster then one song at a time. :D
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. Proscan tablet Android 4.3 ) 7. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

mistresso
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 11:15 am
Location: New Haven
Contact:

Re: BPM not being interpreted correctly (Magic Nodes)

Post by mistresso » Wed Jan 28, 2009 10:00 pm

Theoretically with BPM Detector Pro, you *could* use the option for writing the BPM to the filename itself. One could do this and then use an appropriate mask in "Get tags from file name" to get the BPM back out.

I find the program rather hard to use though - the interface is clunky and doesn't even remember the previous folder I was working in when navigating my file structure. And it shows VERY little information; for example, I'd at least like to see the existing BPM value! I know it's fairly cheap shareware, but it FEELS cheap. And there's been almost nothing done to it for several years... the demo definitely does NOT write to the tag.

Has anyone else looked at beaTunes? It requires an ITunes db, as do most BPM detectors, but it has built in functionality to half/double the findings as well as do tap-outs. It's pretty slick, and the author is working on a verson 2.0 as we speak. His in-progress copies of 2.0 are free to download and test via the blog/news, but expire in 2 weeks. It also will have a Key finder in the next version.

Honestly what the community NEEDS is for the bpm to end up as a common field/tag shared stored on the public databases we all use, so we're not all doing the same work over and over. I know Revolution was trying to do this, but again only with THEIR database, only used by other people with Revolution.

deusdiabolus
Posts: 93
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 11:48 am
Contact:

Re:

Post by deusdiabolus » Mon Jan 26, 2009 10:58 pm

Guest wrote:just so you can know what style of music is what according to this key.

VerySlow BPM between 0 and 56 = lots of kids songs fit this one like the song : ten little indians

Slow BPM between 57 and 82 = some blues and jazz but this is almost too slow for them.

Moderate BPM between 83 and 145 = some Jazz and blues but it is almost too fast for them. most country and rock and roll and disco.


Fast BPM between 146 and 200 = most marches and bluegrass breakdowns are around 120-155 bpm's which are here.

VeryFast BPM faster then 200 = breakneck acid rock and people on rocket ship speed songs. very few of these songs are around as they tend to give the drummers heartattacks.
An alternate way of looking at it, just for phun:

VerySlow BPM between 0 and 56 = ambient music (i.e. Global Communication, Brian Eno), noise (i.e. Merzbow)

Slow BPM between 57 and 82 = some trip-hop/downtempo/ambient with beats (i.e. Portishead, some things on Ninja Tune)

Moderate BPM between 83 and 145 = most things will fall into this range: pop, rock, dance, jazz, blues, world music.

Fast BPM between 146 and 200 = in addition to bluegrass, most drum & bass and psychedelic trance will fall into this range.

VeryFast BPM faster then 200 = more recent drum & bass tracks, gabber/hardcore techno/speed metal.
Image

Big_Berny
Posts: 1784
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 11:55 am
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by Big_Berny » Sun Jan 13, 2008 6:16 pm

Well, it just happens that MixMeister or any other BPM Analyzer detects double or half BPM, because it doesn't know wich is the most important beat. But this happens with every BPM Analyzer AFAIK.
Image
Scripts in use: Genre Finder / Last.fm DJ / Magic Nodes / AutoRateAccurate / Last.FM Node
Skins in use: ZuneSkin SP / Eclipse SP
AutoRateAccurate 3.0.0 (New) - Rates all your songs in less than 5 seconds!
About me: icoaching - internet | marketing | design

jonp
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2008 8:08 am
Location: Australia

Post by jonp » Sun Jan 13, 2008 5:55 pm

limex - I am also not convinced about the results of Mixmeister BPM Analyzer. Did you find a solution for using Mixmeister BPM Analyzer or did you find a better solution?

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Post by nohitter151 » Sun Jan 13, 2008 11:25 am

What vbs? Usually vbs script files are stored in the \Mediamonkey\Scripts or \Mediamonkey\Scripts\Auto folder, not opened and run.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

Kevinowpb
Posts: 126
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 10:18 am
Location: West Palm Beach
Contact:

Error on permissions

Post by Kevinowpb » Sun Jan 13, 2008 10:33 am

Get an error that I dont have permission to open this vbs file...

i ignore.. then..
error 13 mismatch error...


? whatsup?

Post Reply