Page 13 of 19

Re: MonkeySqueeze V3.0.1

Posted: Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:05 pm
by Gingernut63
MisterE wrote:Thanks for the reply.
everything works now.
I had a new cable modem installed and didn't need my router anymore.
Other than that, I had to change some IP's but basically I didn't change that much to my configuration.
There is, however, a 25 sec lag when starting a song or skipping to the next song.
I guess this is due to my Synology 211J being too slow.
I read somewhere that it's a bit too light for LMS.
I'm thinking about upgrading to a more powerfull NAS.

Thanks for all the efforts.

Kind regards,

Geert
Glad it is now working. If you are thinking of upgrading also take a look at micro servers. HP has a N40L unit that is pretty cheap and works wonderfully well with multimedia files. I upgraded from my NAS and haven't looked back.

Cheers
Gingernut63

Re: MonkeySqueeze V3.0.1

Posted: Thu Feb 21, 2013 10:24 am
by pcmoan
Hi Gingernut-

We were in touch back in October sorting out an issue getting MonkeySqueeze up and running against my Vortexbox running Logitec Media Server.

In any event, I've got new laptop running windows 7 and I'm not able to install MonkeySqueeze for some reason. I've successfully installed it previously on my XP laptop and my wife's Windows 7 laptop without issue.

Steps follow:
1) Download latest version of MonkeySqueeze
2) Install against MM version 4.0.7.1511
3) MM Prompts me to restart MM
4) Restart MM and get an error dialog which reads: "Error happened during script execution. A script engine for the specified language cannot be created."

Any sense of what I should do to resolve?

Thanks in advance,
Patrick

Re: MonkeySqueeze V3.0.1

Posted: Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:32 pm
by Guest
Run the command prompt as administrator - Start/Accessories/Command prompt, right click "Run as Administrator"

Type (or paste) the following at the command prompt just as it's shown - and then press Enter:

reg query "HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{B54F3741-5B07-11cf-A4B0-00AA004A55E8}\InprocServer32"

[You can Copy the above and then Paste it by selecting the far upper left corner of the Command Prompt window, then Edit/Paste]

The response should be:
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{B54F3741-5B07-11cf-A4B0-00AA004A55E8}\InprocServer32
(Default) REG_SZ C:\Windows\system32\vbscript.dll
ThreadingModel REG_SZ Both

If it only reads "vbscript.dll" instead of "C:\Windows\system32\vbscript.dll", that's OK too. Anything else means some program (usually McAfee on a new Dell or Kaspersky) has overwritten this and probably two other registry keys, as well.

You can fix it by going to the following article, downloading (right click, SaveAs) the .reg file and running it by double clicking it in Windows Explorer.

http://www.mediamonkey.com/support/inde ... icleid=150

This is the reg file

FYI - if McAfee happens to be the issue, I downloaded their removal tool and it fixed it. Just uninstalling McAfee left the registry still butchered up. Thanx Dell. Thanx McAfee. But, the Removal Tool worked.

Their removal tool can be Downloaded and then run from http://download.mcafee.com/products/lic ... s/MCPR.exe.

Here are the three key that normally get butchered by other programs (especially antivirus ones) and that then cripple vbscripting capability in Windows 7 64-bit:

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Wow6432Node\CLSID\{B54F3741-5B07-11cf-A4B0-00AA004A55E8}\InprocServer32
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Wow6432Node\CLSID\{B54F3742-5B07-11cf-A4B0-00AA004A55E8}\InprocServer32
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Wow6432Node\CLSID\{B54F3743-5B07-11cf-A4B0-00AA004A55E8}\InprocServer32

The data value for each should either be "vbscript.dll" or the full path, "C:\Windows\system32\vbscript.dll" - (no quotation marks).

These are also the three keys that the .reg file, linked above, will fix - for Window 7 - 64 bit only!

Hope that gives you a clue.

Re: MonkeySqueeze V3.0.1

Posted: Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:54 pm
by neurox
BTW - I see you are running a "new laptop" and Window 7 so that make my previous response all the more relevant. [I was the "Guest" that posted that long winded response] My MediaMonkey scripting problems started when I bought a new Dell laptop running Win 7 64-bit that had McAfee bundled with it. I had zero ability running any vb script out of Media Monkey (or any other program) until I uninstalled McAfee, rebooted, then ran their Removal Tool, then rebooted again. Just uninstalling McAfee didn't fix the registry. Their Removal Tool fixed MediaMonkey and all the other vb scripting issues since it did restore those keys to their correct values - I checked them before and after running the tool.

However - if you want to keep McAfee or whatever program has screwed up the registry, that .reg file linked to in the last post, will more than likely fix it too since those were the keys that McAfee screwed up.

If you try to fix those keys manually (within regedit) you'll need to right click, select Permissions..., take ownership, then give yourself Full Control. You may not have to do that if you just run the .reg file and let it patch the registry for you.

Good luck.

Re: MonkeySqueeze V3.0.1

Posted: Sat Mar 09, 2013 4:59 pm
by pcmoan
Hello Neurox-

Thank you very much for you prompt reply. You were spot on in that the problem was related to McAfee. I don't use McAfee but it got inadvertently installed when I updated Java (it comes bundled these days). First I ran the query you provided and validated that the path had been changed (by McAfee). Next, I ran the McAfee removal tool then re-ran the query to verify the path was reset (which it was). MediaMonkey no comes up without the script error and I've successfully configured MonkeySqueeze and validated that it works.

Apologies for the length of time to reply (given that you responded almost immediately to my problem). I had set the task of getting MonkeySqueeze running aside until I had some time (which is limited with 3 small children etc). Today, I had the time, and resolution moved along much quicker than I figured. Very straightforward instructions on your end etc.

Best Regards,
Patrick

Re: MonkeySqueeze V3.0.1

Posted: Sat Mar 09, 2013 5:36 pm
by Peke
Please let me know if there is a need for x86 version of REG file?

Re: MonkeySqueeze V3.0.1

Posted: Sun Mar 10, 2013 12:19 am
by Gingernut63
Thank you Neurox for your prompt assistance in helping pcmoan with this issue. I have been watching from afar and saw no need to intervene. I also learned something new in the process.

Cheers
Gingernut63

Re: MonkeySqueeze V3.0.1

Posted: Fri Mar 15, 2013 4:33 pm
by lpkuracina
This script use to work for me but I now get the following error:
Error # 2147467259
File: "C\Users\my name\AppData\Roaming\MediaMonkey\Scripts\Auto\MonkeySqueeze.vbs", Line 388, Column: 2

I am running Window's 7 and MediaMonkey 4.0.7.1511, Logitec Media Server 7.7.2 /r33893

It has been a while since I ran it so a lot has changed since then. I did add McAfee (v11.6) as my security program.

My Registry shows for each of these entries:
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Wow6432Node\CLSID\{B54F3741-5B07-11cf-A4B0-00AA004A55E8}\InprocServer32
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Wow6432Node\CLSID\{B54F3742-5B07-11cf-A4B0-00AA004A55E8}\InprocServer32
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Wow6432Node\CLSID\{B54F3743-5B07-11cf-A4B0-00AA004A55E8}\InprocServer32

C:\Windows\SysWOW64\vbscript.dll

Do I have to unistall McAfee to fix the Registry? Or can I just edit it?

When I run the fix_kav_vbs I get an error: some keys are open by the system or some other process.

Re: MonkeySqueeze V3.0.1

Posted: Fri Mar 15, 2013 4:56 pm
by lpkuracina
lpkuracina wrote:This script use to work for me but I now get the following error:
Error # 2147467259
File: "C\Users\my name\AppData\Roaming\MediaMonkey\Scripts\Auto\MonkeySqueeze.vbs", Line 388, Column: 2

I am running Window's 7 and MediaMonkey 4.0.7.1511, Logitec Media Server 7.7.2 /r33893

It has been a while since I ran it so a lot has changed since then. I did add McAfee (v11.6) as my security program.

My Registry shows for each of these entries:
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Wow6432Node\CLSID\{B54F3741-5B07-11cf-A4B0-00AA004A55E8}\InprocServer32
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Wow6432Node\CLSID\{B54F3742-5B07-11cf-A4B0-00AA004A55E8}\InprocServer32
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Wow6432Node\CLSID\{B54F3743-5B07-11cf-A4B0-00AA004A55E8}\InprocServer32

C:\Windows\SysWOW64\vbscript.dll

I'm confused as looking at the one article my registry is correct. Maybe I have a different problem.

When I run the fix_kav_vbs I get an error: some keys are open by the system or some other process.

Re: MonkeySqueeze V3.0.1

Posted: Fri Mar 15, 2013 7:05 pm
by Gingernut63
lpkuracina wrote:This script use to work for me but I now get the following error:
Error # 2147467259
File: "C\Users\my name\AppData\Roaming\MediaMonkey\Scripts\Auto\MonkeySqueeze.vbs", Line 388, Column: 2...

It has been a while since I ran it so a lot has changed since then. I did add McAfee (v11.6) as my security program...

Do I have to unistall McAfee to fix the Registry? Or can I just edit it?
Hi lpkuracina, Yes you have to uninstall McAfee as stated by neurox:
I had zero ability running any vb script out of Media Monkey (or any other program) until I uninstalled McAfee, rebooted, then ran their Removal Tool, then rebooted again
.

Re: MonkeySqueeze V3.0.1

Posted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 12:32 pm
by lpkuracina
Issue was with my Logitec Media Server. When my PC goes to sleep it get hung. Once I stop the MediaServer and start it again then everything works. McAfee still running.

Re: MonkeySqueeze V3.0.1

Posted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 1:32 pm
by Gingernut63
lpkuracina wrote:Issue was with my Logitec Media Server. When my PC goes to sleep it get hung. Once I stop the MediaServer and start it again then everything works. McAfee still running.
Thanks for the response, more info for other users. Good to know that McAfee works with your setup.

Cheers
Gingernut63

MonkeySqueeze V3.0.1 playlist problem

Posted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 11:08 am
by Demins
Hi,
Since a few weeks I have a problem with MonkeySqueeze.
Not all songs in a MediaMonkey playlist are being sent to the Squeezeboxsystem. I can find no reason why.
I use Windows 7 32 bit, MediaMonkey 4.0.5.1496 (portable) and MonkeySqueeze 3.0.1
The same problem occurs when usinga fresh installed MediaMonkey 4.0.7.1511 (portable).
Logitech Media Server Versie: 7.7.1 - r33893
MonkeySqueeze worked fine up to now.
Can you help?
Thanks, Demins

Re: MonkeySqueeze V3.0.1 playlist problem

Posted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 2:06 pm
by Gingernut63
Demins wrote:Hi,
Since a few weeks I have a problem with MonkeySqueeze.
Not all songs in a MediaMonkey playlist are being sent to the Squeezeboxsystem. I can find no reason why.
I use Windows 7 32 bit, MediaMonkey 4.0.5.1496 (portable) and MonkeySqueeze 3.0.1
The same problem occurs when usinga fresh installed MediaMonkey 4.0.7.1511 (portable).
Logitech Media Server Versie: 7.7.1 - r33893
MonkeySqueeze worked fine up to now.
Can you help?
Thanks, Demins
Hi Demins

MonkeySqueeze works by sending the addresses of the music files in the MediaMonkey playlist to LMS/Squeezebox device. The files are then located and added to the playlist of the Squeezebox device. Sometimes LMS/Squeezebox device will not find the files if:

1. they are not located on the PC where LMS is installed
2. they have an unusual naming convention
3. they are located in folders with a different security access
4. LMS is installed on a NAS/Server and the music files are not located in the Media Folder as defined in LMS > Settings > Media Folder.

Add music to the playlist in MediaMonkey and then enable MonkeySqueeze. Do all the tracks appear the LMS playlist? If not, which tracks are not showing up. Have you added some files recently and they are in a different location to your normal music folder?

Hope this info helps. Let me know how you get on.

Cheers Gingernut63

Re: MonkeySqueeze V3.0.1

Posted: Mon Mar 18, 2013 6:24 am
by Demins
Hi Gingernut,

Thanks for your quick response.
I will answer your post later today, but for now I want to share an alert message I received this morning. It might be helpfull (for you, that is).

Image

Error #424 - Runtimefout (failure/error) Microsoft VBScript
Object vereist (needed/required): 'Song Value'
File: *G:\0000 MediaMonkey\Scripts\Auto\MonkeySqueeze.vbs*, Line 331, Column: 2


G is an external harddisk (usb). All my audiofiles are on this disk. MediaMonkey Portable is also on this disk (In the folder 0000 MediaMonkey).
This has worked for years.

Greetings, till later

Demins