Import M3U 3.8 - Updated 26/10/2013

Download and get help for different MediaMonkey Addons.

Moderators: Peke, Gurus

nynaevelan
Posts: 5559
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 11:07 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Post by nynaevelan » Wed Mar 05, 2008 12:09 pm

Didn't this script used to have the feature of finding a match if the track was not in the library?

Nyn
3.2x - Win7 Ultimate (Zen Touch 2 16 GB/Zen 8GB)
Link to Favorite Scripts/Skins

Join Dropbox, the online site to share your files

qwench
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 5:26 am

Post by qwench » Thu Mar 06, 2008 3:11 am

Yes, it does find tracks if it's available. If it's not, it doesn't :P
In this case, I would like the track to be created, but greyed out.

I updated the code to add a special disk serial named [_notfound]. This way, I can find all tracks created by searching 'notfound' or going in the _notfound node.

Oh, and I added back the artist/title identification.

Code: Select all

        If IgnoreExt Then 
          if InStrRev(line,".") <> 0 then 
            line = Left(line,InStrRev(line,".")-1)&"%"
          else 
            line = line&"%"
          end if
        End If        

...

          If CreateNew Then 
            prog.Text = "Creating: "&mess 
            Dim itm : Set itm = Nothing
            set itm = SDB.NewSongData 
            itm.ArtistName = mess
            itm.Path = "[_notfound]\"&mess 
            itm.MetadataFromFilename 
            itm.UpdateDB
            itm.UpdateArtist
            itm.UpdateAlbum
            list.AddTrack(itm)
          End If 
The problem is that the new created tracks (on disk [_notfound]) are not greyed :(
Anyone know why ?

trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Hull, UK
Contact:

Post by trixmoto » Fri Mar 07, 2008 4:42 am

@nynaevelan - my "Recreate M3U" script has a fuzzy matching algorithm to find renamed tracks, this script is generally for importing playlists containing tracks which have not moved.

@qwench - I don't think MM checks if they are inaccessible (greys them out) until you try to play them.
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.

qwench
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 5:26 am

Post by qwench » Fri Mar 07, 2008 5:38 am

hmmmm :-?

All other playlists correctly display greyed tracks.
When I try to play a unavailable track, it becomes grey, but when I play another one, it returns black.

I think it's a problem of song properties not correctly filled...
But which ?

pilkins
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 10:04 am

Re-exporting M3U

Post by pilkins » Mon Apr 14, 2008 6:36 am

Hi,

This might be off subject but relates to the import and export of playlists and I have struggled to find a function or script that can do this....

I have created some playlists in MM and then exported them to M3U so I can use them on an external device. But is there any way to "refresh" the exported playlist so that when I make a change in MM it can be reflected in the M3U as well?

Even a simple "Refresh" option on the popup menu for the playlist would be start. I know I can use "Send To" but this always defaults to the default file name and not the M3U file name it came from...

Thanks for any pointers,
Steve

trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Hull, UK
Contact:

Post by trixmoto » Mon Apr 14, 2008 9:10 am

Well the filename of the playlist is stored in the database so it could definitely be possible to write a script with a toolbar button (or something) which is enabled in this case and exports straight to this location without a popup.
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.

thefaceman
Posts: 367
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 10:43 pm

Post by thefaceman » Sat Apr 19, 2008 6:03 pm

OK. I need a little clarification.
Where is the complete script with this fix?
Does this script import the playlist and keep missing songs in the playlist?
-thanks
-thefaceman
qwench wrote:Yes, it does find tracks if it's available. If it's not, it doesn't :P
In this case, I would like the track to be created, but greyed out.

I updated the code to add a special disk serial named [_notfound]. This way, I can find all tracks created by searching 'notfound' or going in the _notfound node.

Oh, and I added back the artist/title identification.

Code: Select all

        If IgnoreExt Then 
          if InStrRev(line,".") <> 0 then 
            line = Left(line,InStrRev(line,".")-1)&"%"
          else 
            line = line&"%"
          end if
        End If        

...

          If CreateNew Then 
            prog.Text = "Creating: "&mess 
            Dim itm : Set itm = Nothing
            set itm = SDB.NewSongData 
            itm.ArtistName = mess
            itm.Path = "[_notfound]"&mess 
            itm.MetadataFromFilename 
            itm.UpdateDB
            itm.UpdateArtist
            itm.UpdateAlbum
            list.AddTrack(itm)
          End If 
The problem is that the new created tracks (on disk [_notfound]) are not greyed :(
Anyone know why ?

trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Hull, UK
Contact:

Post by trixmoto » Sun Apr 20, 2008 2:32 am

This fix was never realised in an official version as it was one user's personal preference, not something that all users would want.
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.

trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Hull, UK
Contact:

Post by trixmoto » Sun Apr 27, 2008 5:33 pm

New version (3.1) is now available to download from my website. Changes include...

- Fixed ignoring extensions when no extension
- Added option to add created tracks to the playlist
- Fixed open dialog always starting in my music folder
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.

cesium
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 6:25 pm
Contact:

Post by cesium » Sun Apr 27, 2008 8:49 pm

thanks a lot for this script! was a huge help for me in importing all my playlists from my old computer to my new one :D

auburnrose55
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 2:04 pm
Location: California

Re: Import M3U 3.1 [MM2+3]

Post by auburnrose55 » Sat Nov 01, 2008 12:05 pm

I'm trying to use this script to import a friend's playlist, and it keeps failing with a SQL error. It will import the first 20-30 songs, then I get this error. I've tried running it several times, same error, BUT it fails after a different number of tracks each time, anywhere from 20 to 30 tracks.

error #-2147418113 - SongsDB.SDBPlaylist
Error executing SQL statement "COMMIT" : SQL logic error of missing database (1,1)
FIle:"C\PROGRA~1\MEDIAM~3\Scripts\ImportM3U.vbs"'Line: 121, COlumn:10

CLick OK, then another error pop-up:

Error happend during script execution:
Error executing SQL statement "COMMIT" " SQL logic error or missing database (1,1)

I'm running MM 3.0.5.1187 on Windows XP, and the script version is 3.1.

trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Hull, UK
Contact:

Re: Import M3U 3.1 [MM2+3]

Post by trixmoto » Mon Nov 03, 2008 4:59 am

Well this script shouldn't be necessary, you can just scan the folder with the M3U files and MM should import them itself.
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.

auburnrose55
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 2:04 pm
Location: California

Re: Import M3U 3.1 [MM2+3]

Post by auburnrose55 » Mon Nov 03, 2008 5:54 pm

I DID try having MM scan in the m3u file, that created an empty playlist, nothing in it at all. At least the Import M3U script is able to get thru 20 or so songs before crashing - better than none at all from MM3 itself.

Any other suggestions?

trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Hull, UK
Contact:

Re: Import M3U 3.1 [MM2+3]

Post by trixmoto » Tue Nov 04, 2008 4:51 am

My "Recreate M3U" script is more reliable and should help you import them.
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.

auburnrose55
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 2:04 pm
Location: California

Re: Import M3U 3.1 [MM2+3]

Post by auburnrose55 » Wed Nov 05, 2008 1:00 pm

Thanks, that seems to be working. I'll post my comments on the Recreate script in it's forum.

Post Reply