Advanced Rename 2.3 [MM2+3]

Download and get help for different MediaMonkey Addons.

Moderators: Peke, Gurus

Kos
Posts: 288
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 5:05 am
Location: Denmark

Post by Kos » Thu Jan 03, 2008 5:56 pm

Stupid question - how do I actually activate the script after downloading it (and unzipping it?).

Kos
Setup: Sonos, Twonky, Qnap, MediaMonkey Lifetime

trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Hull, UK
Contact:

Post by trixmoto » Fri Jan 04, 2008 4:09 am

Assuming that you are referring to the MM3 installation package, rename the ".zip" to ".mmip" and then double click it! :)
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.

Kos
Posts: 288
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 5:05 am
Location: Denmark

Post by Kos » Fri Jan 04, 2008 8:57 am

thanks - i'll try it!

kos
Setup: Sonos, Twonky, Qnap, MediaMonkey Lifetime

Kos
Posts: 288
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 5:05 am
Location: Denmark

Post by Kos » Fri Jan 04, 2008 10:41 am

I am sorry - I don't get it. If I unzip the zipfile I get a file (among others) called advancedrename. No matter if I call this file advanedrename.mmip or I call the unzipped file that name (and dobbelt click) nothing happens... I must be missing something fundamental. Sorry. Should the script show up in MM3.0's "scripts" or "extensions" after double clicking or...

The script works with my 2.5. However, it's not possible to actively choose or NOT choose the scripts suggestions? (like your other scripts)

Kos
Setup: Sonos, Twonky, Qnap, MediaMonkey Lifetime

nynaevelan
Posts: 5559
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 11:07 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Post by nynaevelan » Fri Jan 04, 2008 11:32 am

Kos wrote:I am sorry - I don't get it. If I unzip the zipfile I get a file (among others) called advancedrename. No matter if I call this file advanedrename.mmip or I call the unzipped file that name (and dobbelt click) nothing happens... I must be missing something fundamental. Sorry. Should the script show up in MM3.0's "scripts" or "extensions" after double clicking or...

When I used MM2.5 (and your scripts) it always just worked... forgive me!

Kos
Kos:

Don't unzip and then try to rename the file .mmip. You need to rename the .zip to .mmip, then you can double click it and it will install into MM3.

Nyn
3.2x - Win7 Ultimate (Zen Touch 2 16 GB/Zen 8GB)
Link to Favorite Scripts/Skins

Join Dropbox, the online site to share your files

Kos
Posts: 288
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 5:05 am
Location: Denmark

Post by Kos » Fri Jan 04, 2008 11:45 am

Hm... with the 2.5 version it automatically showed up in my MM 2.5 scripts.

The 3.0 version gives me a zip file named advancedrename22.zip on my desktop. When I rename it I get the name advancedrename22.zip.mmip - how do I get rid of the zip in the name before double clicking...?

Kos
Setup: Sonos, Twonky, Qnap, MediaMonkey Lifetime

trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Hull, UK
Contact:

Post by trixmoto » Fri Jan 04, 2008 11:50 am

Well there's no need to worry about that, as long as it's ".mmip" it should run and install into MM3.
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.

luddis
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 9:59 am

Post by luddis » Wed Jun 11, 2008 6:08 am

Hi, I wonder if it is possible to add a function for multiple artists. In MM 3 there is the possibility to separate multiple artists with a ";". Often imported tags with multiple artists are separated just with a ",".

ex: Bobby Driscoll, Paul Collins

but I would like the result to be:
Driscoll, Bobby; Collins, Paul

My idea was to add an option for multiple artists that finds the comma, change it to ";" and then treat the names between the ";" as separate artists like the script does so great with single artists.

Personally I'm not too experienced in scripting, it seems a bit too hard for me. Does anyone have an idea, how to change the script?

trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Hull, UK
Contact:

Post by trixmoto » Fri Jun 13, 2008 3:30 pm

I've added it to my list! :)
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.

trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Hull, UK
Contact:

Re: Advanced Rename 2.3 [MM2+3]

Post by trixmoto » Sun Aug 17, 2008 3:17 pm

New version (2.3) is now available to download from my website. It has been fixed to handle multiple artists.
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.

llaforest

Re: Advanced Rename 2.3 [MM2+3]

Post by llaforest » Sun Apr 17, 2011 7:39 am

Hello Trixmoto,

I was trying to change your script to allow saving in other fields instead of overwritting the Artist and AlbumArtist. To do that, I hace cchnaged the name of custom1 and custom2 to revArtist and revAlbumArtist. I am trying to modify your script but i get lost. First of all, will my new tags will be available as itm.revablumartistName? Do you think it is possible or I will hit a wall?

Thanks!
llaforest

trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Hull, UK
Contact:

Re: Advanced Rename 2.3 [MM2+3]

Post by trixmoto » Sun Apr 17, 2011 2:01 pm

You can only use fields that exist in the API, you can't make them up. :)
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.

llaforest

Re: Advanced Rename 2.3 [MM2+3]

Post by llaforest » Tue Apr 19, 2011 10:21 am

trixmoto wrote:You can only use fields that exist in the API, you can't make them up. :)
OK, I understand but what about the custom1-5? If I rename them, are they still addressed using custom# in the API?

I think I have a way around to do what I want... Your script is crashing when I modify it and I don't have what it takes to debug...

Thanks for your quick replies! :)

trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Hull, UK
Contact:

Re: Advanced Rename 2.3 [MM2+3]

Post by trixmoto » Tue Apr 19, 2011 3:03 pm

You can use Custom1 to Custom5, yes, but note the uppercase C.
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.

lobojon
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2008 11:02 pm

Re: Advanced Rename 2.3 [MM2+3]

Post by lobojon » Thu Oct 20, 2011 5:09 am

Hello Script Master Trix,

I have two questions regarding your script that will save me a lot of work, but I am not so adept at following the instructions here to get it to work correctly.

1. I just tried out the AR2.3. I have several files with "last name, first name" that I want to convert to "first name last name". You obviously designed the script to perform this task, however, I cannot get it to do by just running it on the selected tracks.

When I run it after installation (just doulbe click on file) the resulting window proposes in yellow "first name, lastname, (with the extra comma after last name) and then under album artist it proposes "artists, various".

So my artist field of "Mtukudzi, Oliver" yielded a proposal of "Oliver, Mtukudzi," and with AA as "Artists, Various" I suppose since it is a compilation LP. All I want in this case, of course, is "Oliver Mtukudzi".

I tried to follow your instructions in this thread about the ' before the mode, but the default looks like it is already for set up for my goal >

Dim mode
mode = 0 'Firstname Lastname -> Lastname, Firstname
'mode = 1 'Lastname, Firstname -> Firstname Lastname

Am I supposed to change something else somewhere else in the script editor? It is all Greek to me.

2. Also, you mentioned the multiple artist feature in reply to a user above:

I have artist fields with multiple artists separated by commas. I would like to separate them by semi-colons for the MM feature. Since I cannot achieve the goal above, this one escapes me too.

Any hints to get me rolling? Thanks in advance
MM Lifer since 2008. Still apprentice (noob) level.
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Toshiba Satellite laptop
Music collection of 2 TB located on an external hard
Spybot Search & Destroy / Iobit Anti Malware
Avast Antivirus Free Edition

I love the Monkey and the forum.
Thanks to all who provide advice, assistance, add ons and scripts. It is very much appreciated!

Post Reply