Backup 6.0 - Updated 01/07/2014

Download and get help for different MediaMonkey Addons.

Moderators: Peke, Gurus

lordbear
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 8:42 pm

Re: Backup 6.0 - Updated 01/07/2014

Post by lordbear » Thu Sep 18, 2014 2:38 pm

I hope I am posting to the correct thread. :)

Long time MMW and Backup script user. Built a new box, fresh MMW4 install on Win7 64bit.

To set up Backup 6.0 I looked up my config on the other box to get all my paths and such. Couldn't figure out why it would not let me specify the Output Archive path. Came here and found the "ya gotta register the XZip.dll before Output Archive works" thread. Phew!

Now, I run the backup manually and nothing. No activity showing in status area, no error message, no output to the target folder structure.

Is there some kind of logging? I looked at Event Viewer applications and system. Nothing there.

Thanks in advance!
-- Bear


Settings screengrab:
Image
https://www.dropbox.com/s/6v4lnc68fma2x ... e.JPG?dl=0

trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Barton, UK
Contact:

Re: Backup 6.0 - Updated 01/07/2014

Post by trixmoto » Thu Sep 18, 2014 4:24 pm

It could be that the script is failing to run the helper scripts, but I'd have thought you'd get an error if that was the case. If you edit the "Backup.vbs" script files in a text editor then you can modify line 30...

Code: Select all

Dim Debug : Debug = False
...to be "True". Then you should get a logfile in your %TEMP% folder.
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.
Send me BTC: 34VQPVsf9mCeR4nfhFvvBYZqQ7LkqNZ8Mn
Send me LTC: 3P1mzrfbyscdhbxRpXLgKz7tufGAU3SrEG
Send me DOGE: 9xPpYSqgF7P5yQiqvE1VqWb4UjxVCCLFJ6
Check out these great cryptocurrency faucets... BTC / LTC / DOGE

sirs2k
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 3:52 am

Re: Backup 6.0 - Updated 01/07/2014

Post by sirs2k » Thu Oct 02, 2014 11:29 am

Okay,

this is driving me insane, I'm sure it works and I must be doing something wrong
Getting Windows Script Host
line 29
char: 3
error: Path not found
Code 800A004C
Source: Microsoft VBScript runtime error

Which path is this talking about?
I'm using the latest version from your website

Windows 8 and MM 4.0.6
Thank you

lordbear
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 8:42 pm

Re: Backup 6.0 - Updated 01/07/2014

Post by lordbear » Thu Oct 02, 2014 6:27 pm

trixmoto wrote:It could be that the script is failing to run the helper scripts, but I'd have thought you'd get an error if that was the case. If you edit the "Backup.vbs" script files in a text editor then you can modify line 30...

Code: Select all

Dim Debug : Debug = False
...to be "True". Then you should get a logfile in your %TEMP% folder.
Enabled Debug, restarted MMW. Log file:

Code: Select all

4:24:11 PM OnStartup>
4:24:11 PM #CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS TrixBackup (ID INTEGER PRIMARY KEY,FilePath TEXT,TimeText TEXT,TimeReal REAL,ExecMode INTEGER)
4:24:11 PM #DELETE FROM TrixBackup WHERE FilePath=''
4:24:11 PM #SELECT COUNT(*) FROM TrixBackup WHERE FilePath LIKE '%.zip'
4:24:11 PM OnStartup.
4:24:17 PM Backup>
4:24:29 PM Backup.
4:24:29 PM BackupCore> cancelled
Sorry for the delay in my reply -- I didn't get/see a notice that there was a reponse. (I'll check my subscription/settings)
Thanks!
Don

boito50
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2014 9:01 am

Backup doesn't start!

Post by boito50 » Sun Oct 26, 2014 5:59 pm

Hi, I've just installed Backup 6.0 but when I click on "backup" nothing happens.
I've tyried many times, the script seems completely dead.

Any suggestions??
Thanks
:)
Last edited by Lowlander on Mon Oct 27, 2014 10:48 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Merged with existing topic

boito50
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2014 9:01 am

Re: Backup doesn't start!

Post by boito50 » Mon Oct 27, 2014 6:02 am

Hi, now it starts (I've checked "always start backup with confirmation") but it keep deleting the output folder and crating it again the next time the scipt runs.

As what to do about restoring the backup it's a complete mistery.
Thanks
:)

boito50
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2014 9:01 am

Re: Backup 6.0 - Updated 01/07/2014

Post by boito50 » Mon Oct 27, 2014 3:23 pm

Hi, now for a miracle eth seems to work fine, thanks.

gpzbc
Posts: 1226
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 12:02 am
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: Backup 6.0 - Updated 01/07/2014

Post by gpzbc » Mon Oct 27, 2014 3:43 pm

Glad you got it sorted out. Let us know if you need anything else.
--
The gpzbc

jeremyryan
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 3:29 pm

Re: Backup 6.0 - Updated 01/07/2014

Post by jeremyryan » Wed Oct 29, 2014 7:46 pm

* I hope I'm posting this in the right place. I was directed here by MM Support. My apologies if not.

I receive an error when attempting run the backup script (see screenshot).
Image
Also getting the following message upon exiting the program: "Backup cancelled because output folder already exists".

Please help. I desperately need to backup my library & settings. Thank you.

MediaMonkey Gold V 4.1.5.1719 (Portable Mode)
Windows 7 (64 bit)
MediaMonkey_4.1.12.1798
Windows 10

gpzbc
Posts: 1226
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 12:02 am
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: Backup 6.0 - Updated 01/07/2014

Post by gpzbc » Thu Oct 30, 2014 3:29 pm

jeremyryan wrote:* I hope I'm posting this in the right place. I was directed here by MM Support. My apologies if not.

I receive an error when attempting run the backup script (see screenshot).
Image

Also getting the following message upon exiting the program: "Backup cancelled because output folder already exists".

Please help. I desperately need to backup my library & settings. Thank you.

MediaMonkey Gold V 4.1.5.1719 (Portable Mode)
Windows 7 (64 bit)
Someone else will have to help you with the first part of your question. But your second question is a common question in this thread. Check out my post here. I think it will help you.
http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... ts#p379194
--
The gpzbc

jeremyryan
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 3:29 pm

Re: Backup 6.0 - Updated 01/07/2014

Post by jeremyryan » Thu Oct 30, 2014 4:16 pm

Thanks for the reply gpzbc. I tried the suggestion to "overwrite previous backup" and although it eliminated the error pop-up messages, there is still no backup generated. I noticed that the top 6 options in the Backup Settings are all "grayed out" (see pic). Is that relevant? It appears that I am not able to change any of them. Thoughts anyone? Thanks again.

Image
MediaMonkey_4.1.12.1798
Windows 10

gpzbc
Posts: 1226
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 12:02 am
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: Backup 6.0 - Updated 01/07/2014

Post by gpzbc » Thu Oct 30, 2014 4:46 pm

I wonder if it is because you have MM installed as Portable? Hopefully someone else will chime in.

While waiting for someone else to chime in, there is a lot of history in this thread that might be very useful to you in getting this script set up. :D
--
The gpzbc

dtsig
Posts: 2979
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 6:34 pm

Re: Backup 6.0 - Updated 01/07/2014

Post by dtsig » Tue Nov 11, 2014 9:15 am

Today i started backup and everything was fine until at the bottom it said xstandard ... then the final report came up with errors. This happened once before about a month or so ago and I uninstalled backup and reinstalled. But doing that this time gives the same problem.

1) Any thoughts on what is causing this (my guess is some pesky av sw but nothing else has been affected)
2) How to get backup back up and running correctly
Where's the db and ini stored
Reporting Bugs
Where tags are stored

Not affiliated with MediaMonkey ... just a RABID user/lover
DTSig

jeremyryan
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 3:29 pm

Re: Backup 6.0 - Updated 01/07/2014

Post by jeremyryan » Tue Nov 11, 2014 5:18 pm

I've found an alternative backup solution. Perhaps this will be helpful to others. I've been manually backing up with "SyncToy". Here's the link: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download ... x?id=15155. Still awaiting a fix for the MM Backup Script.
MediaMonkey_4.1.12.1798
Windows 10

dtsig
Posts: 2979
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 6:34 pm

Re: Backup 6.0 - Updated 01/07/2014

Post by dtsig » Fri Nov 21, 2014 9:45 am

dtsig wrote:Today i started backup and everything was fine until at the bottom it said xstandard ... then the final report came up with errors. This happened once before about a month or so ago and I uninstalled backup and reinstalled. But doing that this time gives the same problem.

1) Any thoughts on what is causing this (my guess is some pesky av sw but nothing else has been affected)
2) How to get backup back up and running correctly
Any thoughts on how to get the zip.net to work again?
Where's the db and ini stored
Reporting Bugs
Where tags are stored

Not affiliated with MediaMonkey ... just a RABID user/lover
DTSig

Post Reply