Backup 6.0 - Updated 01/07/2014

Download and get help for different MediaMonkey Addons.

Moderators: Peke, Gurus

paulmt
Posts: 1170
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 6:06 pm

Post by paulmt » Wed Oct 25, 2006 9:48 pm

Thanks for your continued development of this script. I could not be without it now, backing up after almost any reasonable session has become routine for me.

I wondered though, why a backup before shutdown could not be an option, or a checkbox option to automatically perform a backup prior to the shutdown sequence, after files\exit is selected.

I personally prefer the idea of a auto backup after a session than prior to starting.

Thanks

trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Barton, UK
Contact:

Post by trixmoto » Thu Oct 26, 2006 3:24 am

I think this will mean a bit of a rewrite of the helper script, but this should be possible. I'll put it on my to do list! :)
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.
Send me BTC: 34VQPVsf9mCeR4nfhFvvBYZqQ7LkqNZ8Mn
Send me LTC: 3P1mzrfbyscdhbxRpXLgKz7tufGAU3SrEG
Send me DOGE: 9xPpYSqgF7P5yQiqvE1VqWb4UjxVCCLFJ6
Check out these great cryptocurrency faucets... BTC / LTC / DOGE

trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Barton, UK
Contact:

Post by trixmoto » Sun Oct 29, 2006 7:07 am

New version (3.3) is now available from my website. It has the option to automatically backup on shutdown (using a different helper script). Don't forget to wait for the confirmation message before you close your computer down though! :)
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.
Send me BTC: 34VQPVsf9mCeR4nfhFvvBYZqQ7LkqNZ8Mn
Send me LTC: 3P1mzrfbyscdhbxRpXLgKz7tufGAU3SrEG
Send me DOGE: 9xPpYSqgF7P5yQiqvE1VqWb4UjxVCCLFJ6
Check out these great cryptocurrency faucets... BTC / LTC / DOGE

paulmt
Posts: 1170
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 6:06 pm

Post by paulmt » Sun Oct 29, 2006 3:18 pm

Thank you very much for including this additional feature, that I think makes backup more intuitive.

As always, a couple of problems :lol:

When activating the script from within MM <Tools\Scripts\Backup>
and selecting "Backup" with the configuration set as screenshot #1 shows, the backup runs normally and completes without issue.

On shutdown however, the error message (screenshot #2) pops up, followed by the "backup completed" message (screenshot #3)

Without Backup 3.3 loaded I do not get this error when shutting down.


MM 2.5.5.980
Win XP Home SP2 + all current updates


Hope this helps you to track this error down.

#1 Configuration
Image

#2 Error Message
Image

#3 After Backup has Completed
Image

Cheers
Paul

trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Barton, UK
Contact:

Post by trixmoto » Sun Oct 29, 2006 5:13 pm

I don't really know what to suggest, as I cannot replicate this.

Line 113 is blank, can you put the following here:

Code: Select all

MsgBox "hello"
Does this message appear before or after the error message you are getting?
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.
Send me BTC: 34VQPVsf9mCeR4nfhFvvBYZqQ7LkqNZ8Mn
Send me LTC: 3P1mzrfbyscdhbxRpXLgKz7tufGAU3SrEG
Send me DOGE: 9xPpYSqgF7P5yQiqvE1VqWb4UjxVCCLFJ6
Check out these great cryptocurrency faucets... BTC / LTC / DOGE

paulmt
Posts: 1170
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 6:06 pm

Post by paulmt » Sun Oct 29, 2006 5:27 pm

OK, with line 113 added as asked, and with MM rebooted, the shutdown went without error, MsgBox with "hello" popped up after MM had cleared screen, and then backup confirmation box appeared.

Seems to me the blank line is the cause of the error, what should I put there to fill the line, without the popup, a hyphen (') ?

Thanks

Edited to add!

Just tried that put 'MsgBox "hello" with the hyphen
but the error on shutdown re-occurred

trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Barton, UK
Contact:

Post by trixmoto » Sun Oct 29, 2006 5:40 pm

Well that's very strange. I'll see what I can do, maybe put a delay in or something. For I'd suggest putting the message back in, but changing it to something more appropriate like "Backup: Click ok to contine...".
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.
Send me BTC: 34VQPVsf9mCeR4nfhFvvBYZqQ7LkqNZ8Mn
Send me LTC: 3P1mzrfbyscdhbxRpXLgKz7tufGAU3SrEG
Send me DOGE: 9xPpYSqgF7P5yQiqvE1VqWb4UjxVCCLFJ6
Check out these great cryptocurrency faucets... BTC / LTC / DOGE

paulmt
Posts: 1170
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 6:06 pm

Post by paulmt » Sun Oct 29, 2006 5:53 pm

That's what I have done, and I will leave it at that while you look into it when you can.

Thanks

trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Barton, UK
Contact:

Post by trixmoto » Mon Oct 30, 2006 10:23 am

I'm sorry paulmt but I can't replicate this and I cannot see a way round it. The code is very simple and I cannot understand why a pause here makes any difference, if anything it should make matters worse! For now you will have to cope with the extra message box.

Can anyone else confirm they are recieving this error message too?
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.
Send me BTC: 34VQPVsf9mCeR4nfhFvvBYZqQ7LkqNZ8Mn
Send me LTC: 3P1mzrfbyscdhbxRpXLgKz7tufGAU3SrEG
Send me DOGE: 9xPpYSqgF7P5yQiqvE1VqWb4UjxVCCLFJ6
Check out these great cryptocurrency faucets... BTC / LTC / DOGE

paulmt
Posts: 1170
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 6:06 pm

Post by paulmt » Mon Oct 30, 2006 3:57 pm

Oh no, that's sad!

I wonder, and should have mentioned these to you <duh>

I have sqrSoft 1.7, DFX 7.5 and CD Art Display running and set to shutdown with MM

I wonder if these are getting in the way or vise versa?

I know you must be busy and I have some time available so I will try Backup 3.3 without these and see what happens.

Thanks

paulmt
Posts: 1170
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 6:06 pm

Post by paulmt » Mon Oct 30, 2006 9:33 pm

OK, I disabled the three scripts that are shutdown with MM and this made no difference. I still get the above error.

If I disable the Backup on Shutdown and enable Backup on Startup, this works ok and of course shutdown occurs without the error.

For the time being, I will disable auto backup and continue manually backing up as before.

Be interested to see if this happens to anyone else.

My thoughts are if you can't force it, then it probably relates to something else that is shutting down with my MM and I will continue to look for what this might be.

Thanks

Bex
Posts: 6316
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 5:44 am
Location: Sweden

Post by Bex » Tue Oct 31, 2006 5:43 am

I thought i had todo with other scripts that are performing tasks at shutdown like "Play history" and "Advanced duplicate Find". Those script deletes some temp tables at shutdown so if the backup script tries to copy the database at the same time there might be a problem.

But it worked fine for me!

There could however be other scripts that perform tasks at shutdown that conflicts with the backup script. Try to rename Backup.vbs to ZBackup.vbs to see if it helps.
Advanced Duplicate Find & Fix Find More From Same - Custom Search. | Transfer PlayStat & Copy-Paste Tags/AlbumArt between any tracks.
Tagging Inconsistencies Do you think you have your tags in order? Think again...
Play History & Stats Node Like having your Last-FM account stored locally, but more advanced.
Case & Leading Zero Fixer Works on filenames too!

All My Scripts

paulmt
Posts: 1170
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 6:06 pm

Post by paulmt » Tue Oct 31, 2006 1:51 pm

Bex wrote:Try to rename Backup.vbs to ZBackup.vbs to see if it helps.
Really? I will try that, but I can't see the logic in this, what is your thinking in changing the name? :)

Thanks

Bex
Posts: 6316
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 5:44 am
Location: Sweden

Post by Bex » Tue Oct 31, 2006 2:27 pm

Then it is processed last on a shutdown! (I think?)
Advanced Duplicate Find & Fix Find More From Same - Custom Search. | Transfer PlayStat & Copy-Paste Tags/AlbumArt between any tracks.
Tagging Inconsistencies Do you think you have your tags in order? Think again...
Play History & Stats Node Like having your Last-FM account stored locally, but more advanced.
Case & Leading Zero Fixer Works on filenames too!

All My Scripts

paulmt
Posts: 1170
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 6:06 pm

Post by paulmt » Tue Oct 31, 2006 5:56 pm

Thanks Bex for your input, infortunately when I edit the name, scripts.ini and etc, this made no difference.

Thanks anyway :)

Post Reply