Page 6 of 98

Posted: Thu Nov 09, 2006 6:05 pm
by trixmoto
New version (3.4) is now available from my website. It includes options to backup the skins and the plugins folders.

Posted: Thu Nov 09, 2006 7:15 pm
by paulmt
Another excellent development of this script - thanks

Posted: Fri Nov 10, 2006 4:09 am
by trixmoto
Glad you like! :)

Posted: Fri Nov 10, 2006 4:20 am
by Bex
Nice update trixi!

Posted: Fri Nov 10, 2006 1:55 pm
by sperk
Thanks for another great script :)
Unfortunately I'm not as technically savvy as most people here.
Is the purpose of this script so that if MM crashes and has to be reinstalled you don't have to rescan all your music?

When I go to backup:
Am I supposed to specify an output path? (it's just says C:\)
Should I check "output archive"?

thanks

Posted: Fri Nov 10, 2006 6:23 pm
by alanl
Is the purpose of this script so that if MM crashes and has to be reinstalled you don't have to rescan all your music?

When I go to backup:
Am I supposed to specify an output path? (it's just says C:\)
Should I check "output archive"?
Yes, it saves all the essentials to another directory or disk in case your original stuff gets lost or corrupted - or you make a mess of it :)

In output path enter anything you want as long as it's a valid directory, e.g. X:\My Documents\MediaMonkey

Don't bother with the output archive stuff unless you're really pushed for disk space - it just zips the archive. I've never been able to get it to work anyway.

Hope this helps.

Posted: Fri Nov 10, 2006 6:28 pm
by paulmt
Trixmoto, would it be possible to incorporate in any future update a toolbar shortcut button? Perhaps in the Standard Toolbar.

Thanks

Posted: Mon Nov 13, 2006 4:29 am
by trixmoto
Yeah, this is certainly possible. I'll put it on my to do list! :)

Posted: Tue Nov 28, 2006 5:28 am
by trixmoto
New version (3.5) has the option to show a launch button in the standard toolbar, as requested! :)

Posted: Tue Nov 28, 2006 2:00 pm
by paulmt
Awesome! Thankyou.

Don't know how you find the time :lol:

Posted: Wed Nov 29, 2006 4:26 am
by trixmoto
No, neither do I! :lol:

Posted: Thu Nov 30, 2006 12:27 pm
by Nebbin
I don't know if I'm doing something wrong, but I can't get this backup script to run at all. Instead I keep getting a strange error message:

Windows Script Host
There is no script engine for file extension ".vbs"


I run a lot of scripts, but have never seen this before. Is there something I've missed doing? I'm only using basic settings - just backing up db, ini and script folder. Saving to directory not zip file.

Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2006 3:01 am
by trixmoto
It probably means your file associations for .vbs are not correct. They should be to open/run with Windows Script Host.

Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2006 5:01 am
by Nebbin
I've checked associated file types, but it's setup to open with "Microsoft Windows Based Script Host". If this is a generic script extension problem - why would no other scripts be affected with this error?


---

EDIT: Even though this extension was currently associated with Windows Script Host, it was at some previous time associated with Notepad++. I edited the registry and found an extra entry under HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Classes\.vbs which was obviously placed there by Notepad++. I removed that entry, and modified the default to VBSFile, and it now all works.

Thanks Trix for highlighting what to look for.

Posted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 6:15 am
by trixmoto
The reason this script is affected whereas others aren't, is actually because this script itself was not affected. However, this script calls a helper script to actually perform the backup outside of MM, to improve performance. It was the triggering of the helper script which was causing the error.

I'm glad it's working for you now. :)