[MM2+3] Change Drive-ID after moving Files to a new Drive

Download and get help for different MediaMonkey Addons.

Moderators: Peke, Gurus

Sebastian78
Posts: 322
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 4:17 am

Post by Sebastian78 » Sat Dec 22, 2007 8:29 pm

I pasted the script into the correct ini file and it comes up as an option in the script menu. BUT I get the following error:

File C:\Program Files\MediaMonkey\Scripts\MM_Serial.vbs cannot be opened: The file is unavailable or you may not have permission to access it.
Image

nynaevelan
Posts: 5559
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 11:07 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Post by nynaevelan » Sat Dec 22, 2007 8:50 pm

Besides putting the inialization info in the scripts.ini file, did you also post the MM_serial.vbs file in the \Mediamonkey\scripts folder??

Nyn
3.2x - Win7 Ultimate (Zen Touch 2 16 GB/Zen 8GB)
Link to Favorite Scripts/Skins

Join Dropbox, the online site to share your files

Sebastian78
Posts: 322
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 4:17 am

Post by Sebastian78 » Sun Dec 23, 2007 10:36 am

Hmmmmm, no...... How excactly do I do that. Can you help?
Image

nynaevelan
Posts: 5559
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 11:07 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Post by nynaevelan » Sun Dec 23, 2007 11:59 am

Sebastian78 wrote:Hmmmmm, no...... How excactly do I do that. Can you help?
Go to the first page of this script, copy all the green text and open Notepad (or a similar text program), save the file in the program files\mediamonkey\scripts directory as MM_HDDSerial.vbs. When using Notepad make sure the Save As Type is set to All files and not .txt. Reopen MM and then you can go to the Tools --> Options --> Scripts --> Move Device Content.

When you open the script it will have the old hard drives on the left and the new hard drives on the right. Just select the drive id where your music used to be and the hard drive where your music is now. Once you select ok, it will give you a prompt to restart MM, once you do all your music should be available.

Nyn
3.2x - Win7 Ultimate (Zen Touch 2 16 GB/Zen 8GB)
Link to Favorite Scripts/Skins

Join Dropbox, the online site to share your files

fuba
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 6:06 am

Post by fuba » Tue Dec 25, 2007 6:47 am

if i do this i cant see the script in MM

nynaevelan
Posts: 5559
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 11:07 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Post by nynaevelan » Tue Dec 25, 2007 10:22 am

Did you add the section at the top to the scripts.ini file?

Nyn
3.2x - Win7 Ultimate (Zen Touch 2 16 GB/Zen 8GB)
Link to Favorite Scripts/Skins

Join Dropbox, the online site to share your files

mp3search
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 8:24 pm

Post by mp3search » Thu Dec 27, 2007 6:26 pm

[quote="nynaevelan"]Go to the first page of this script, copy all the green text and open Notepad (or a similar text program), save the file in the program files\mediamonkey\scripts directory as MM_HDDSerial.vbs. When using Notepad make sure the Save As Type is set to All files and not .txt. Reopen MM and then you can go to the Tools --> Options --> Scripts --> Move Device Content.

Nyn[/quote]



MM 3.0.1.1127....

I have the same problem. I changed my media files from one drive to another. I need to change the drive letter for all files at one time.

I copied/pasted the script in notepad, used 'Save As' (All Files) MM_HDDSerial.vbs. I put the initialization info in the scripts.ini file, and posted the MM_serial.vbs file in the \Mediamonkey\scripts folder. It still does not show in Tools --> Options --> Scripts -->

How can I fix this? I need some basic guidance here.

Thanks.

Teknojnky
Posts: 5533
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Teknojnky » Thu Dec 27, 2007 6:31 pm

there is no:

tools > scripts > move device content

menu?


btw, I don't think this script has been updated to work with MM 3, so right now there is no solution for mm3 that I know of.

nynaevelan
Posts: 5559
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 11:07 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Post by nynaevelan » Thu Dec 27, 2007 6:41 pm

Teknojnky wrote:there is no:

tools > scripts > move device content

menu?


btw, I don't think this script has been updated to work with MM 3, so right now there is no solution for mm3 that I know of.
This script may have not been converted for MM3 but it does work in MM3 because I have used it several times in MM3.

Nyn
3.2x - Win7 Ultimate (Zen Touch 2 16 GB/Zen 8GB)
Link to Favorite Scripts/Skins

Join Dropbox, the online site to share your files

nynaevelan
Posts: 5559
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 11:07 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Post by nynaevelan » Thu Dec 27, 2007 6:44 pm

mp3search wrote:
nynaevelan wrote:Go to the first page of this script, copy all the green text and open Notepad (or a similar text program), save the file in the program files\mediamonkey\scripts directory as MM_HDDSerial.vbs. When using Notepad make sure the Save As Type is set to All files and not .txt. Reopen MM and then you can go to the Tools --> Options --> Scripts --> Move Device Content.

Nyn


MM 3.0.1.1127....

I have the same problem. I changed my media files from one drive to another. I need to change the drive letter for all files at one time.

I copied/pasted the script in notepad, used 'Save As' (All Files) MM_HDDSerial.vbs. I put the initialization info in the scripts.ini file, and posted the MM_serial.vbs file in the \Mediamonkey\scripts folder. It still does not show in Tools --> Options --> Scripts -->

How can I fix this? I need some basic guidance here.

Thanks.
When you put the info in the scripts.ini file, you removed the comments right? It looks like this?

[HDDSerial]
FileName=MM_HDDSerial.vbs
ProcName=Change_HDD_Serial
Order=46
DisplayName=Move Device Content
Description=Corrects broken links after exchanged harddrive
Language=VBScript
ScriptType=0


Also, double check the name of the script file, it should be MM_HDDSerial.vbs. Also make sure there is no txt at the end of the file name.

Nyn
3.2x - Win7 Ultimate (Zen Touch 2 16 GB/Zen 8GB)
Link to Favorite Scripts/Skins

Join Dropbox, the online site to share your files

mp3search
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 8:24 pm

Post by mp3search » Thu Dec 27, 2007 6:46 pm

[quote="Teknojnky"]there is no:

tools > scripts > move device content
menu?

btw, I don't think this script has been updated to work with MM 3, so right now there is no solution for mm3 that I know of.[/quote]

Thanks for the reply. No, the "Move device content" is not there. Maybe it will not work with MM3.

Maybe somebody will have an answer or an update or something that will work.

Anyone?

mp3search
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 8:24 pm

Post by mp3search » Thu Dec 27, 2007 7:05 pm

When you put the info in the scripts.ini file, you removed the comments right? It looks like this?

[HDDSerial]
FileName=MM_HDDSerial.vbs
ProcName=Change_HDD_Serial
Order=46
DisplayName=Move Device Content
Description=Corrects broken links after exchanged harddrive
Language=VBScript
ScriptType=0

Also, double check the name of the script file, it should be MM_HDDSerial.vbs. Also make sure there is no txt at the end of the file name.

Nyn[/quote]

It is exactly as you described. Everything checks out, but I still do not have "Move Device Content". I don't understand it.

mp3search
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 8:24 pm

Post by mp3search » Fri Dec 28, 2007 7:03 pm

I can't get the script to work on my Vista Home Premium, but I tried it on my XP computer and it worked fine. The "Move Device Content" shows up as it should in XP. So it appears to be incompatible with Vista. If anyone has got it to work in Vista, please tell me how you did it.

Thanks.

onkel_enno
Posts: 2146
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 1:45 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by onkel_enno » Wed Jan 02, 2008 1:12 am

Maybe you filename is MM_HDDSerial.vbs.txt instead of MM_HDDSerial.vbs.
Make sure your OS shows files extensions
SansaMonkey - for SanDisk Sansa and Rockbox Users

Please no PMs for Questions which should be asked in the Forum. Thx

JoKing2

onkel_enno rocks my world!

Post by JoKing2 » Wed Mar 26, 2008 1:08 am

Vielen Dank!

Your script saved my database!

Post Reply