Page 5 of 11

Posted: Sat Apr 12, 2008 5:30 am
by AndréFronDrei
I'm having some problems with the script.
Having moved the entire DB to an new computer, i compiled the script and everything seems to work like planned. The problem is that after I run the script and making all the songs no longer greyed out, the track's refuse to play.
Image
After doing so, and rescanning the library, my library ends up with greyed dupes of the original songs, like this:
Image
Saw earlier in this thread that someone managed to move a complete library to a fresh computer without loosing the trackinfo, and would like to know whether they have a recipe for success.

Posted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:55 pm
by onkel_enno
Have a look at the Path! One file with c:\u... one with c:\m...
Seems to be not made by my script :wink:
or you have moved your hard disk and your ipod drive to your new hard disk via the script (accidentally).

Posted: Fri Apr 25, 2008 5:04 am
by MusicBringer
onkel_enno, thank you :D
You have another happy customer here!

I got a bigger (T1) ext hard drive to accommodate my music collection, and transferred the files from old drive to new.

I then carefully read this thread and followed the instructions.

I have never made a .vbs file before, nor tweaked the .ini file.
You can image how nervous I was feeling when I did all this "very techie stuff" - well, to me it is very techie :oops:

But It Worked..!! I am so pleased with myself.
And I am even more pleased with your script onkel_enno. :P
Thanks again,

Posted: Fri Apr 25, 2008 5:22 am
by onkel_enno
Thanks a lot, nice to read 8)

Posted: Fri Apr 25, 2008 8:13 am
by PharmerDan
I think I've done everything correctly...

Error 429 - Microsoft VBScript runtime error
ActiveX component can't create object: 'Songs.DB.SDBApplication'
File: "C:\Program Files\Media Monkey\Scripts\MM_HDDSerial.vbs", Line 40, Column:2

I think it's referring to this line

Set SDB = CreateObject("SongsDB.SDBApplication")

Has this something to do about a magical vbscript.dll... (i've gathered this from my google searches?)

Posted: Sun Apr 27, 2008 1:59 pm
by trixmoto
There's loads of infoemation on the forum about this. You need to look at your IE security settings, or possibly look at your firewall or anti-virus settings.

Posted: Sun Apr 27, 2008 11:50 pm
by onkel_enno
... and if you're using Vista, you should be Administrator.

Posted: Tue Apr 29, 2008 2:56 am
by PharmerDan
onkel_enno wrote:... and if you're using Vista, you should be Administrator.
I just worked this out...

For people who use Vista with only one user, even if the user has Administrator priviledges...

Right Click the MediaMonkey.exe, then select 'Run as Administrator'

Posted: Sat May 24, 2008 11:49 pm
by dypsis
Thanks for a great script onkel_enno. :)

Posted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 10:52 am
by belwig
For those getting the error

Error 429 - Microsoft VBScript runtime error
ActiveX component can't create object: 'Songs.DB.SDBApplication'
File: "C:\Program Files\Media Monkey\Scripts\MM_HDDSerial.vbs", Line 40, Column:2

I had this issue too. Running as administrator didn't work since my library is specific to my user ID, and running as administrator changes that.

I looked around at the other scripts that come with MM and noticed that none of them actually initialize the 'SDB' variable. They just use it.

So I edited this script and commented out (using ') the lines

Dim SDB
Set SDB = CreateObject("SongsDB.SDBApplication")

and ran it again.

No more error.

Apparently MM predefines this for you. Solved my problem and now the script works :)

Thanks!

Posted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 2:16 am
by Macarena
Hi,

I do not know how to resolve an issue. Using MM3 built 1179.

I have my library duplicated (all tracks) on two drives, old and new. In MM Library -> Location I have listed only the old drive (should I rescan the new one? IMO no, because I do not want to create a new library, I want to update the old one.)

I made my old drive shut-down, tracks in MM are not available anymore. The new drive is ready to use, not listed in MM.

When I run the script, it does not show any error message, it says to restart MM. The tracks are still greyed out, but the path is either "[Label]:\Music..." or "?:\Music....", instead of original "Q:\Music..."

Thank you upfront for any hint.

Re: [MM2+3] Change Drive-ID after moving Files to a new Drive

Posted: Sun Jun 22, 2008 4:54 pm
by tyrion
I'm running Windows XP with MediaMonkey 3.0.2.1134. I followed the instructions and it all seemed to work, no error messages. I then restarted MediaMonkey and the files were still pointing to the old drive. =(

So then I tried Belwig's fix and it worked =D
Thanks so much Belwig!

Re: [MM2+3] Change Drive-ID after moving Files to a new Drive

Posted: Wed Jul 16, 2008 8:37 pm
by meric
Hi. I have a different problem with this script. Everything seems to work fine, but...

In my location node, I have one HD and possibly hundreds of CDs. When I run the script, I see a bunch of my CDs on the left side, but it takes up the whole screen vertically and I can't scroll to locate my HD to select it. Is there anything I can do about this? I hope the solution isn't to convert all my VirtualCDs to regular database entries :-(

Re: [MM2+3] Change Drive-ID after moving Files to a new Drive

Posted: Sun Jul 20, 2008 4:31 pm
by meric
Never mind, I figured it out. Since the DriveType for hard drives in MediaMonkey's database is "3", I made this change to this line in the script:

Set ds = SDB.DataBase.OpenSQL("SELECT * FROM Medias WHERE DriveType = 3")

Re: [MM2+3] Change Drive-ID after moving Files to a new Drive

Posted: Mon Jul 21, 2008 2:22 am
by onkel_enno
meric wrote:Set ds = SDB.DataBase.OpenSQL("SELECT * FROM Medias WHERE DriveType = 3")
Great Idea! :D