MMA can't find computer on network

Get answers about how to share with different devices.

Moderator: Gurus

MMA can't find computer on network

Postby bdb484 » Tue Dec 05, 2017 11:24 pm

Hi, gang. This may be outside the scope of MMW support, but I thought I'd see if anyone can help.

I'm running the latest version of MMW on a Windows 7 machine. I've normally had no problems with UPnP or syncing, but for the last month or so, I haven't been able to connect either. I googled around and tried the steps offered here: http://www.mediamonkey.com/support/inde ... lna-server

Everything is in order until I get to step 6D. I've installed Fing, and for some reason, it is not able to see my laptop on the network, although the computer is definitely connected to the same network. This is obvious because I'm able to connect to the Internet, but I've also confirmed through the router's control panel that the laptop and my phone are on the same network.

I spent most of this morning googling around to figure out the root problem, but with no success. Among others, I've tried:
* I've disabled/uninstalled/reinstalled/replaced my antivirus.
* I've release/refreshed my IP address.
* I've set a special rule for the port in the firewall, and I've even tried shutting down the firewall altogether.
* I've uninstalled all the programs that I had installed around the time the problem cropped up.

At this point, I'm out of ideas and probably up against the limits of my technical knowledge.

Any other ideas?

EDIT: I've also tried removing the existing MM-specific firewall rules and reinstalling, as suggested here: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=88256

I've also tried resetting all the firewall rules to default, to no avail.
bdb484
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 12:31 pm

Re: MMA can't find computer on network

Postby Lowlander » Wed Dec 06, 2017 12:56 pm

Have you tried restarting the Router? I have an Asus R7000 and for some reason it stops supporting DLNA after running 24 hours or so. A reboot gets everything back up and running again.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Lowlander
 
Posts: 43498
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: MMA can't find computer on network

Postby bdb484 » Wed Dec 06, 2017 3:50 pm

I have. This has been going on for about a month now, so both the computer and router have been rebooted repeatedly -- most recently yesterday.
bdb484
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 12:31 pm

Re: MMA can't find computer on network

Postby Lowlander » Wed Dec 06, 2017 4:12 pm

Does any other DLNA capable device on the network see the MediaMonkey Library (verifying it isn't the phone) and can you test any other DLNA server on your PC (verifying it isn't the PC)?

You could try a File Browser on the phone that can see network shares (and have a network share on the PC) to see if the phone can see this (then maybe the Router or Firewall/Security software is blocking the MediaMonkey Server/DLNA). If you have access to another Router you could try that).

You said that phone and PC are on same network. Make sure this is the case as sometimes wifi is a separate network (especially for guest networks).
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Lowlander
 
Posts: 43498
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: MMA can't find computer on network

Postby Peke » Wed Dec 06, 2017 7:24 pm

Hi,
Zou should also trz to scan for same network devices using http://www.advanced-ip-scanner.com/
Best regards,
Pavle
MM Core Developer and Admin of free MediaMonkey extensions Hosting
Image
Image
Peke
 
Posts: 10498
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia

Re: MMA can't find computer on network

Postby bdb484 » Thu Dec 07, 2017 4:20 pm

Double-checked the network, and it's the same for both of them.

I've tried another phone and another computer, and nothing can even see my other PC on the network, let alone the media server.

Tried Advanced IP Scanner as well from another laptop. It doesn't see my computer, either.
bdb484
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 12:31 pm

Re: MMA can't find computer on network

Postby Peke » Sat Dec 09, 2017 9:10 pm

Hi,
If Advanced IP do not see your PCs it is very possible that you have Public Network setup and/or Router forcing/filtering devices on LAN/WLAN it is very ghard to tell what caused it but unfortunately it is a call for Ghostbusters (a Tech guy) and debug your lan settings.
Best regards,
Pavle
MM Core Developer and Admin of free MediaMonkey extensions Hosting
Image
Image
Peke
 
Posts: 10498
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia

Re: MMA can't find computer on network

Postby captain paranoia » Thu Dec 14, 2017 7:09 pm

How are your devices accessing your router? Wired access? WiFi access?

If WiFi, are you sure they're not connecting to a Guest wifi netywork? This would allow internet access, but would block any access to your LAN; that's the point of a Guest network.

Check what IP addresses have been assigned to the various devices connecting to your router. They should all be on the same subnet, e.g. 192.168.x.***; all should have the same 'x'.
captain paranoia
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2010 1:41 pm

Re: MMA can't find computer on network

Postby bdb484 » Fri Dec 15, 2017 10:51 am

Looks like they're all on the same network. My router's device list shows everything on 192.168.1.x.
bdb484
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 12:31 pm

Re: MMA can't find computer on network

Postby Lowlander » Fri Dec 15, 2017 12:22 pm

There are 3 common Router caused problems:
1) DLNA (UPnP) isn't allowed by Settings (check Router settings)
2) Wifi network isn't allowed to see other devices on network, not uncommon for Guest networks and it would still use the same IP settings are regular clients (check Router settings)
3) 5G networks causing problems seeing rest of network (try using 2.4G)

In my case Netgear R7000 DLNA discovery works for less than a hour after Router reboot.

On the PC side:
1) Firewall/Security software blocking DLNA (MediaMonkey) from accessing the network
2) Windows 10 Anniversary update (reset Windows Firewall rules for MediaMonkey)


Things to test
1) Using another DLNA client, preferably other hardware than phone (would rule out MMA being the problem)
2) Try using DLNA client that is hardwired and have MMW hardwired to network (would rule out MMW/Windows being the problem)
3) Try using a different Router (would rule out Router being the problem)

This unfortunately is complicated to resolve as there are many variables involved, like Phone hardware, Phone OS, MMA, Router, Network hardware, PC hardware, Windows, MMW and Security Software.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Lowlander
 
Posts: 43498
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5


Return to Need Help with UPnP / DLNA ?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests