Choose Library Folders is broken [#12230]

Report bugs & feature requests for MediaMonkey for Android and learn about the newest beta build.

Moderator: Gurus

mcow
Posts: 817
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 9:35 pm
Location: Cupertino, California

Choose Library Folders is broken [#12230]

Post by mcow » Sat Jul 26, 2014 12:01 pm

I am in the process of wipe-and-resync. I uninstalled MMA, deleted the MediaMonkey and Music folders, and reinstalled (build 292). I selected MMW (1708) as the server, accepted the connection. I opened options on MMA and configured sync for my Tab, only for the External storage. In MMW options, I reset the conversion options to my preference.

When I started sync, MMA informed me that it was "matching new file" which is a media file on my SD card that I don't want in the MMA library. I halted sync and went to Options | Choose Library Folders. Two issues:
1) There were two folders on Internal Storage that were selected: Movies and Video. I deselected Movies, but Video won't let me deselect: "This folder can't be disabled because it's configured for synced content".
2) I cannot navigate into External Storage. It originally had a yellow checkmark, and no "into" arrow for navigation. I tapped it and the checkmark went gray, with the same pop-up message.

Lowlander
Posts: 45441
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Choose Library Folders is broken

Post by Lowlander » Sat Jul 26, 2014 12:53 pm

Any folders configured to be synced to from MMW can't be deselected.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Flint4
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 4:01 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Choose Library Folders is broken

Post by Flint4 » Sat Sep 13, 2014 2:44 am

Lowlander wrote:Any folders configured to be synced to from MMW can't be deselected.
Hi Lowlander,

I have the same difficulties and the behaviour of MMA makes no sense in my opinion:

MMA Options > Choose library folders
It is possible to select any folder on extsd or internal memory to be added to the mma library, but deselection will be denied by the app with the error message posted by mcow. I have checked all options in MMA, checked also the MMW UPnP / DLNA media sharing settings (WiFi Sync) and Portable Device Sync options if I can find a setting which causes this MMA folder to appear as a synced folder. I can't find anything working to deselect the folder.
  • In MMA, "Auto-sync device content" is not selected
  • MMW "Autosync new files and playlists from the device to the pc" is disabled (it shows the folder in there, but greyed out).
  • MMW: Enabling "Autosync new files and playlists from the device to the pc", deselecting the MMA folder and disabling again "Autosync new files and playlists from the device to the pc" before syncing the device does not help.
  • The selected MMA folder is not available in the MMW library.
  • After a test with another MMA folder I noted, that the MMA folder is deselectable as long as no WiFi sync was started. After the first sync, the folder gets blocked and can't get deselected anymore.
There should be a possibility to deselect the folder without reinstallation of MMA (haven't tried that). In my opinion it is not understandable to the user (and myself), why it is possible to easily select a folder in mma but deselection is not working at all and will be denied by the app. The app should at least tell the user how to make it deselectable.

MMA: 1.0.7.0298 (Pro)
Samsing Galaxy S4 mini GT-I9195, Android 4.4.2 with root, extsd unlocked via "NextAppSDFix" (needed by another installed app)
MMW: 4.1.5.1712 debug

LogID: 0IWB0GUW79
Best wishes,

Alex

Lowlander
Posts: 45441
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Choose Library Folders is broken

Post by Lowlander » Sat Sep 13, 2014 11:02 am

Did MMW ever sync (doesn't matter how, manual, auto, wifi, USB) to the folders that can't be deselected in MMA?
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Flint4
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 4:01 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Choose Library Folders is broken

Post by Flint4 » Sat Sep 13, 2014 11:27 am

Lowlander wrote:Did MMW ever sync (doesn't matter how, manual, auto, wifi, USB) to the folders that can't be deselected in MMA?
No, I don't think so. One of the folders I've selected on the sdcard of my smartphone was empty and remains empty after sync.
Best wishes,

Alex

mcow
Posts: 817
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 9:35 pm
Location: Cupertino, California

Re: Choose Library Folders is broken

Post by mcow » Wed Oct 08, 2014 12:41 pm

Now that I'm seeing some dev participation in the forums again, I wonder if someone who actually knows something can address the problem I described in the opening post of this thread?

rusty
Posts: 7162
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Choose Library Folders is broken

Post by rusty » Tue Oct 14, 2014 10:15 pm

Hi,

Thanks for the feedback.

I've documented the issue at http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=12230

-Rusty

Flint4
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 4:01 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Choose Library Folders is broken

Post by Flint4 » Wed Oct 15, 2014 2:56 am

rusty wrote:Hi,

Thanks for the feedback.

I've documented the issue at http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=12230

-Rusty
Great, thank you! :D
Best wishes,

Alex

jmorgan24
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 1:32 pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Contact:

Library/scanned folders

Post by jmorgan24 » Thu Oct 16, 2014 10:19 pm

Hey ya'll,

I don't want MediaMonkey to scan/sync the videos on my external SD. But when I go to "Choose library folders" in Options it won't let me uncheck the folder, says "This folder can't be disabled because it's configured for synced content." But I've removed the entire external SD from Wifi sync. What gives?
Last edited by Lowlander on Thu Oct 16, 2014 11:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Merged with existing topic

rusty
Posts: 7162
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Choose Library Folders is broken [#12230]

Post by rusty » Sat Oct 18, 2014 6:25 pm

It's a bug. Details at the link posted earlier in the thread. We're going to tackle it in the 1.1.0 release (betas of which should be available soon).

-Rusty

mcow
Posts: 817
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 9:35 pm
Location: Cupertino, California

Re: Choose Library Folders is broken [#12230]

Post by mcow » Sat Jan 31, 2015 1:57 am

Not sure when the change occurred, but this is now working correctly in build 385. Thanks.

Post Reply