How should the VBS-JS Converter works ?

To discuss development of addons / skins / customization of MediaMonkey.

Moderator: jiri

How should the VBS-JS Converter works ?

Postby crap_inhuman » Fri Jan 06, 2017 6:34 pm

Could you please explain, how the Converter works? How can i try to convert a script?
Metal up your ass !
-----------------------------------------------
I added my first 2 videos on youtube. The language is german.

Discogs Autorisierung: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oryxKKtnEnc
Discogs Tagger Bedienung: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=85Wk-5rd-W0
crap_inhuman
 
Posts: 438
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 6:00 am
Location: Friedberg / Hessen / Germany

Re: How should the VBS-JS Converter works ?

Postby PetrCBR » Sat Jan 07, 2017 4:41 am

Simply install using extensions window and then click on new icon in toolbar.
PetrCBR
 
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 5:31 pm
Location: Czech

Re: How should the VBS-JS Converter works ?

Postby jiri » Sat Jan 07, 2017 10:32 am

I'd just add that it simply converts the original VBS code to the new JS, including many API conversions. The resulting JS can be used in MM5 as a native MM5 script, i.e. added to Scripts folder. Sometimes there're almost no more code changes necessary, sometimes much thorough manual changes are necessary (depending on the coding style and language features used). Based on the way the script was used in MM4, some addition to MM UI might be necessary, e.g. if not already done by MM4 VBS code, an addition to MM5 'actions' list or addition to menus or toolbar might be necessary. Feel free to discuss any issues you encounter...

Jiri
jiri
 
Posts: 5236
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: How should the VBS-JS Converter works ?

Postby Maka » Tue Apr 11, 2017 12:52 pm

PetrCBR wrote:Simply install using extensions window and then click on new icon in toolbar.


Hi
Tried this and it doesn't work.
When i click on the icon it does nothing.

Maka
Maka
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2008 11:12 am
Location: Sweden

Re: How should the VBS-JS Converter works ?

Postby PetrCBR » Wed Apr 12, 2017 1:52 am

You need to reinstall convert script.
PetrCBR
 
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 5:31 pm
Location: Czech

Re: How should the VBS-JS Converter works ?

Postby jiri » Wed Apr 12, 2017 5:56 am

To clarify, a new version of the script was uploaded in order to fix the issue, it should work fine now.

Thanks,
Jiri
jiri
 
Posts: 5236
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: How should the VBS-JS Converter works ?

Postby popsmike » Wed Apr 12, 2017 3:35 pm

jiri wrote:To clarify, a new version of the script was uploaded in order to fix the issue, it should work fine now.

Thanks,
Jiri


Hey Jiri, could you plase add a link to the new script as the only versions i can find are 1.1, unless this is correct but you haven't changed the version number.

Thanks
Mike
Windows 10 Pro x64 2TB USB3 External Hdd with Quad Core 3600Mhz CPU and 10GB Ram
MM 4.1.15.1821 Portable on External Hdd
TESTING MM 5.0.0.2057
Numerous Addons
User Since 2006 (Lifetime License) since 2012
popsmike
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 11:02 am
Location: Hull,UK

Re: How should the VBS-JS Converter works ?

Postby PetrCBR » Wed Apr 12, 2017 4:08 pm

PetrCBR
 
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 5:31 pm
Location: Czech

Re: How should the VBS-JS Converter works ?

Postby popsmike » Thu Apr 13, 2017 9:03 am



Thanks for the link but this is the one I was using but its locked so can't post there.
The link a couple of posts above the latest one from jiri is a link to version 1.1 and was wondering if this is still the latest update withoout the version number being changed. Post dated 30th Jan 2017.

thanks again
Mike
Windows 10 Pro x64 2TB USB3 External Hdd with Quad Core 3600Mhz CPU and 10GB Ram
MM 4.1.15.1821 Portable on External Hdd
TESTING MM 5.0.0.2057
Numerous Addons
User Since 2006 (Lifetime License) since 2012
popsmike
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 11:02 am
Location: Hull,UK

Re: How should the VBS-JS Converter works ?

Postby jiri » Fri Apr 14, 2017 2:52 am

Yes, it's the latest version. Sorry for the confusion, will include a better versioning scheme in the future.

Jiri
jiri
 
Posts: 5236
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: How should the VBS-JS Converter works ?

Postby popsmike » Fri Apr 14, 2017 12:23 pm

jiri wrote:Yes, it's the latest version. Sorry for the confusion, will include a better versioning scheme in the future.

Jiri


Thanks Jiri for the update.
Windows 10 Pro x64 2TB USB3 External Hdd with Quad Core 3600Mhz CPU and 10GB Ram
MM 4.1.15.1821 Portable on External Hdd
TESTING MM 5.0.0.2057
Numerous Addons
User Since 2006 (Lifetime License) since 2012
popsmike
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 11:02 am
Location: Hull,UK


Return to MediaMonkey 5 developer forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests