MM4: Ok, that's it?

Discussion about anything that might be of interest to MediaMonkey users.

Moderator: Gurus

Sailor01

Re: MM4: Ok, that's it?

Post by Sailor01 » Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:54 pm

I don't really care about skins, shiny lights or chrome effects, MM is a tool (so am I, but that's another matter), and for a tool MM is pretty good looking (as am I :wink: ). As long as MM does what I want it to, does not screw up my 80.000+ music files and manages to be sort of easy on the eyes, I am a very happy camper! WinAmp can do all that MM can, but the UI reminds me of my old GameBoy, iTunes can do the basic stuff while looking (sort of) good, and most other players fall into those two categories....either ugly but functional or pretty but basic. I'm happy I got the (almost) best of both worlds :D

vpsaxman
Posts: 288
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2010 7:39 pm

Re: MM4: Ok, that's it?

Post by vpsaxman » Wed Mar 16, 2011 8:09 am

Sailor01 wrote:I don't really care about skins, shiny lights or chrome effects, MM is a tool (so am I, but that's another matter), and for a tool MM is pretty good looking (as am I :wink: ).
:lol: :lol:
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
AMD Phenom II x4 940 (3GHz)
ASRock A780
4GB DDR2 333
ATI Radeon HD 3200
Library on two disks : Western Digital Caviar 1.5TB - WDC 640GB

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14153
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Re: MM4: Ok, that's it?

Post by rovingcowboy » Wed Mar 16, 2011 8:21 am

Sailor01 wrote:I don't really care about skins, shiny lights or chrome effects, --- cut out rest of post ----:D

OUCH :cry: :cry: :(
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. Proscan tablet Android 4.3 ) 7. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

mccstumble
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 8:46 am

Re: MM4: Ok, that's it?

Post by mccstumble » Thu Mar 17, 2011 6:33 pm

I have used Mediamonkey for a couple of years and even bought a Gold Lifetime back when it only played music. It is a fantastic program and I like its simple ineterface and excellent library management functions.
In short a big well done to the people developing MM4 - now I no longer need to use WMP or VLC and can confidently use one program to manage and play my MP3 and AVI libraries

If only it had some sort of photo management I could relegate iTunes to looking after iPod Apps only.

Another wishlist item for me, now that Mediamonkey talks to DLNA renderers, would be BBC iPlayer capability.

Again many thanks to the developers.
Music & Video Management: Mediamonkey Ver 4.0.0.1436Gold Lifetime
Music Server: Logitech Media Server (LMS) 7.7.0-33512
AddOns: MonkeySqueeze Ver 2.0 http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =2&t=59515
On Demand Music: LastFM, Spotify via LMS

dypsis
Posts: 1100
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 9:51 pm

Is MediaMonkey 4 Good Enough Yet?

Post by dypsis » Thu Mar 17, 2011 9:35 pm

Is MediaMonkey 4 good enough to use for every day use now?

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14153
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Re: MM4: Ok, that's it?

Post by rovingcowboy » Fri Mar 18, 2011 8:53 am

not according to me dypsis
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. Proscan tablet Android 4.3 ) 7. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

gege
Posts: 861
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 2:10 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: Is MediaMonkey 4 Good Enough Yet?

Post by gege » Fri Mar 18, 2011 9:11 am

dypsis wrote:Is MediaMonkey 4 good enough to use for every day use now?
I have both MM3 and MM4 installed alongside in my main Win7 machine. Although in later builds MM4 ain't doing anything weird, it is crashing in my face from time to time.
So I think you should wait at least for a RC build to put MM4 into production.

vpsaxman
Posts: 288
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2010 7:39 pm

Re: MM4: Ok, that's it?

Post by vpsaxman » Fri Mar 18, 2011 11:31 am

In theory, at beta stages, performance and bugs are still a problem.
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
AMD Phenom II x4 940 (3GHz)
ASRock A780
4GB DDR2 333
ATI Radeon HD 3200
Library on two disks : Western Digital Caviar 1.5TB - WDC 640GB

dypsis
Posts: 1100
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 9:51 pm

Re: Is MediaMonkey 4 Good Enough Yet?

Post by dypsis » Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:02 am

Thanks for your opinions, guys. :wink:

Post Reply